We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in Sunny CA!”
Review of Ayres Lodge Alpine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Anoka, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Comfortable stay in Sunny CA!”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We had a comfortable and attractive room. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The lobby is unusually attractive with old western style decor. We had our room in the back, where the landscaping was beautiful and inviting. The swimming pool and hot tub looked good, but the weather was not conducive, so we did not use them. The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want a refrigerator and microwave, they may be in the deluxe room, but we did not have them i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybergram457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    251
    66
    27
    25
See reviews for
312
241
41
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We've stayed at the Ayres Inn in Alpine, CA numerous times over the past several years. We also recommend the Ayres Inn in Alpine, CA to our clients and colleagues when they are in town on business or pleasure. The staff is very friendly and very accommodating. The property is kept clean and manicured, and the pool/spa area is relaxing for lounging or for getting work done in the afternoon. They put out a nice continental breakfast in the morning, and all other services (restaurants, pharmacy, etc.) are within walking distance. Plus, there is a complementary frequent shuttle to the Viejas Outlet stores. If you are into cycling or hiking, Alpine is located very close to great roads and trails.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We had not been here for a while but was pleasantly surprised on our return. The staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and clean. There is a small kitchenette, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. A small sitting are, where if someone is sitting no one else can move around the room. There is a 24 hour shuttle to Viejas casino and there are restaurants, bank and convenience store on the property.

Room Tip: Stay overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I attended a group wedding that used this hotel as their chosen lodging. While the town of Alpine may have had a bit of personality, this hotel did not. I had made my reservation a few month's earlier and was given the impression that I was getting the last few of the "premium rooms that were roomier". What I got was the section of the hotel, that had not undergone renovations. The room was dark and outdated, the bathroom was full of ant's and the management was too busy to care much. The motel or apt. style building was centered around a front parking lot to a shopping center and the back yard of a very bustling and noisy courtyard. Will think twice before booking here again!

Room Tip: The main building with a view of the backyard would be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorilovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Lorilovely -

Thank you very much for your candid review of Ayres Lodge Alpine. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than remarkable.

The team at Ayres Lodge Alpine works exceedingly hard to make sure every guest has a comfortable stay which means great attention to decor, accommodations, and amenities. As every Ayres Hotel is designed with a unique European boutique hotel experience in mind and Ayres Lodge Alpine, specifically, has recently undergone a complete renovation, I was concerned to hear of your issues with the accommodations. I sincerely apologize for any difficulty this may have caused. The property is also inspected monthly for any sign of ants, so this is concerning to me as well as the hotel has since been inspected and no evidence of ants found.

I invite you to please contact me to discuss these items as it is truly important to the team here at the hotel that every guest is pleased with our service and quality. Again thank you for your review and I hope you will consider Ayres Lodge Alpine in the future.

Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I would like to thank the staff for their exceptional care during my visit. I mentioned to a few staff members the reason why I had traveled to their lodge~they were more than kind and caring and went above and beyond to assist me in every way.

As others have mentioned...this Ayres is different. It is called Ayres Lodge and has a distinctly personalized feel, much more than the larger hotels in the chain. The staff was exceptional, service impeccable and rooms were clean and well appointed. I was in a room in the back, facing a large boulder with small waterfall, two lounge chairs and a table and chair set up as a sort of "courtyard". Very nice.

The breakfast was yummy-many delicious items to choose from.

Thank you to all of the staff....Nicole, James, Jerry (I believe that was his name), Summer, Robin and Tyler (yes, I had interaction with them all at one point or another in my two day stay).

THANK YOU for everything.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the back-quieter than the front and pretty courtyard~alongside the freeway but minima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I highly reccomend this wonderful lodge. I feel so at home here. The ambiance, the amazing continental + breakfast with biscuits and gravy (oh my goodness! sooo good), the afternoon warm cookies and milk, and the always A+ service makes this my happily anticipated destination lodge for my monthly overnight trip to Viejas casino to enjoy a show by my favorite entertainer, James Kruk, Elvis Tribute artist extraordinare!

Thank you Ayres Lodge Alpine!
Lynda Allen

Room Tip: I like having my room on the parking lot for convenience to my car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ysidro, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The hotel is very easy to find, good restaurants near by, very clean nice ang good breakfest, I definitlely going back...

Room Tip: corner suites are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
155 reviews
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
155 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#116 of 278 in San Diego
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Lodge Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Lodge Alpine

Property: Ayres Lodge Alpine
Address: 1251 Tavern Rd, Alpine, CA 91901-3819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ayres Lodge Alpine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Alpine, California, just east of San Diego, lies a unique, rustic getaway destination that combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Lodge Alpine are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, coffeemakers,well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods,and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary extended continental breakfast. The outdoor lover’s paradise awaits at Ayres Lodge Alpine. Only minutes from the Cleveland National Forest the Ayres Lodge Alpine is where you can enjoy close by outdoor adventures such as boating, fishing, hiking, or horseback riding. For quaint hometown culture, explore nearby Julian, CA for wine tasting, antique shopping, and apple picking. If the outdoors do not appeal to you, spend your time indoors at the famous Viejas Casino and Outlet Mall. Not too far from San Diego, the Ayres Lodge Alpine offers an alternative lodging solution for those visiting the busy tourist attractions of the city. San Diego attractions include Seaworld, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland, the Gaslamp entertainment district, Mission Bay, Historic Old Town San Diego, and the San Diego Wild Animal Park. For a location that is convenient to outdoor and indoor entertainment, be sure to stay at the Ayres Lodge in the beautiful mountain community of Alpine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Lodge Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Lodge Alpine Hotel Alpine
Ayres Hotel Alpine
Ayres Inn Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing