We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a small town hotel the rates are very high.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayres Lodge Alpine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“For a small town hotel the rates are very high.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed in this particular hotel in the past and arrive fairly late in the evening and have never received a warm welcome.

The day staff always has a smile on their face and are always willing to accommodate , however, the evening staff are demeaning and are just absolutely grumpy. Who wants to drive for hours to be greeted so horribly.


The rates are the same or higher than the city rates, which don't seem fair, but because they are the only ones in that area I guess they feel they can gouge the public.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasYlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    240
    59
    24
    24
See reviews for
286
233
37
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was the fifth Annual Charity Ride where 70 or 80 of us stay at the Ayres Lodge in Alpine. Each stay had been great and the latest one was no exception. If the Lord is willing, I hope to continue posting excellent reviews about the Ayres Family for years to come.

Room Tip: I like the rooms overlooking the courtyard/BBQ area where friends and family can sit and chat about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Ron B.,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your stay for the Fifth Annual Charity Ride was pleasant and appreciate you for always choosing our hotel upon your travels to Alpine.Thank you again for your review and we cannot wait to welcome you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Heather Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Every one from the front desk to housekeeping gets the highest 5 star rating.
Your service warmth and everything else involved has made us repeat customers for awhile now
the personal touch from the front desk on keeps us coming back.
When we travel from coast to coast we think your place is the best value you personnel is top drawer and the personal touch is unmatched.
Sincerely,
Wayne Lafferty & Robert Anos.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our second stay. We love the friendly staff, the atmosphere, the convenience. The rooms are not large, but they are attractive and have everything we needed. We will stay there as often as we can when we visit the San Diego area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Kathie F.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know you found your room accommodations to be attractive and sufficient for all of your hotel needs. Thank you again for your review and we can’t wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Alpine!

Sincerely,

Heather Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We really enjoyed our overnight stay here. The grounds are well-groomed with pretty flowers and a pond. Rooms were clean and the staff extremely nice. We took the shuttle to the casino which saved having to drive. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynstar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Cynstar17,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review about your experience at our hotel!

In regards to your recent stay, we thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our elegant landscape, cleanliness and comfort of our guest rooms, and convenience of our hotel shuttle.

I am also very pleased to hear about the friendly service you received from staff members. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with the most sincere hospitality and service, so we are delighted to hear that you received just that.

Once again, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Heather Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room was rather small but the owners did an excellent job in furnishing it for the traveler. My sole reason for the less than acceptable rating is the traffic noise. I am a fairly light sleeper so clearly this would have a major impact on how I would view this venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bmatt3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Bmatt3rd,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is vitally important to us as we always want to meet all of our guest’s expectations.

In regards to your recent stay, we would like to offer our most sincere apology for the issue you experienced with the traffic noise. I can understand how an inconvenience such as this could spoil anyone’s stay. In the future, I would like to encourage you to please request for a room facing away from the highway in order to ensure a quiet stay. We try our very best to accommodate our guest’s special requests.

Nevertheless, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our European inspired furnishings and only hope that we can be of service again in the future. Thank you again for you candid review!

Sincerely,

Heather Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had all of our wedding guests stay here and it was great, unique and the staff was really helpful. Everyone enjoyed the courtyard and the pool. Very fun weekend and reasonable rate! Heather was excellent. THanks! Claire & Josh

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
7.2 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 14 in El Cajon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#5 of 14 in El Cajon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
4.2 mi away
Viejas Casino & Resort
11.5 mi away
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Riviera Oaks Resorts
#2 of 3 in Ramona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Lodge Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Lodge Alpine

Property: Ayres Lodge Alpine
Address: 1251 Tavern Rd, Alpine, CA 91901-3819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ayres Lodge Alpine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Alpine, California, just east of San Diego, lies a unique, rustic getaway destination that combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Lodge Alpine are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, coffeemakers,well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods,and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary extended continental breakfast. The outdoor lover’s paradise awaits at Ayres Lodge Alpine. Only minutes from the Cleveland National Forest the Ayres Lodge Alpine is where you can enjoy close by outdoor adventures such as boating, fishing, hiking, or horseback riding. For quaint hometown culture, explore nearby Julian, CA for wine tasting, antique shopping, and apple picking. If the outdoors do not appeal to you, spend your time indoors at the famous Viejas Casino and Outlet Mall. Not too far from San Diego, the Ayres Lodge Alpine offers an alternative lodging solution for those visiting the busy tourist attractions of the city. San Diego attractions include Seaworld, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland, the Gaslamp entertainment district, Mission Bay, Historic Old Town San Diego, and the San Diego Wild Animal Park. For a location that is convenient to outdoor and indoor entertainment, be sure to stay at the Ayres Lodge in the beautiful mountain community of Alpine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ayres Lodge Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Lodge Alpine Hotel Alpine
Ayres Hotel Alpine
Ayres Inn Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing