We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion”
Review of Ayres Lodge Alpine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a family reunion nearby and this hotel fit our entire family needs perfectly. Rooms were clean and pool was great for the kids. Easy access to the freeway and key roads/restaurants in Alpine, CA. Nice breakfast options that could be enjoyed inside or outside. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank willisus64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Rooms were clean & attractive. Good fwy access. Great continental breakfast with burritos, hot sandwiches, biscuit and gravy, yogurt, cereal pastries, fresh fruit. Pretty pool area, clean and nice. I would definitely stay here again. Real pretty grounds; very green and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Stephanie B.,

Thank you kindly for writing a review on TripAdvisor about your experience at our hotel. Your comments are very flattering and we appreciate them tremendously. Our signature breakfast is always a favorite with our guests and it is wonderful to hear you loved it as well. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our outdoor pool area and clean and comfortable rooms. Presentation is important to us because it is important to our guests. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Heather Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Pleasantly surprised by the beautiful setting of this lodge. Everyone is very helpful and friendly. Comfy beds and pillows. The little courtyard with a water feature, lounge, tables and chairs even has a bbq. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a block of rooms 30 they were fresh warm and inviting plenty of towels and pillows after our ride into Julian which was about 100 miles from our starting point we were ready to relax ,in the garden area we did a BBQ,strolled over to the Poi-Pond, some of us took a dip in the pool,and some the hot tub,after that we dressed and the limo arrived to take us to a nearby casino,others stayed behind for home made chocolate chip cookies that were in the lounge at the
Ayers we truly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiesometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed in this particular hotel in the past and arrive fairly late in the evening and have never received a warm welcome.

The day staff always has a smile on their face and are always willing to accommodate , however, the evening staff are demeaning and are just absolutely grumpy. Who wants to drive for hours to be greeted so horribly.


The rates are the same or higher than the city rates, which don't seem fair, but because they are the only ones in that area I guess they feel they can gouge the public.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VegasYlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was the fifth Annual Charity Ride where 70 or 80 of us stay at the Ayres Lodge in Alpine. Each stay had been great and the latest one was no exception. If the Lord is willing, I hope to continue posting excellent reviews about the Ayres Family for years to come.

Room Tip: I like the rooms overlooking the courtyard/BBQ area where friends and family can sit and chat about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Ron B.,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your stay for the Fifth Annual Charity Ride was pleasant and appreciate you for always choosing our hotel upon your travels to Alpine.Thank you again for your review and we cannot wait to welcome you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Heather Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Every one from the front desk to housekeeping gets the highest 5 star rating.
Your service warmth and everything else involved has made us repeat customers for awhile now
the personal touch from the front desk on keeps us coming back.
When we travel from coast to coast we think your place is the best value you personnel is top drawer and the personal touch is unmatched.
Sincerely,
Wayne Lafferty & Robert Anos.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
19.4 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 3 in Julian
138 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
180 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
11 mi away
Best Western Santee Lodge
4.2 mi away
Viejas Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Lodge Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Lodge Alpine

Address: 1251 Tavern Rd, Alpine, CA 91901-3819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: £78 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ayres Lodge Alpine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Alpine, California, just east of San Diego, lies a unique, rustic getaway destination that combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Lodge Alpine are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, coffeemakers,well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods,and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary extended continental breakfast. The outdoor lover’s paradise awaits at Ayres Lodge Alpine. Only minutes from the Cleveland National Forest the Ayres Lodge Alpine is where you can enjoy close by outdoor adventures such as boating, fishing, hiking, or horseback riding. For quaint hometown culture, explore nearby Julian, CA for wine tasting, antique shopping, and apple picking. If the outdoors do not appeal to you, spend your time indoors at the famous Viejas Casino and Outlet Mall. Not too far from San Diego, the Ayres Lodge Alpine offers an alternative lodging solution for those visiting the busy tourist attractions of the city. San Diego attractions include Seaworld, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland, the Gaslamp entertainment district, Mission Bay, Historic Old Town San Diego, and the San Diego Wild Animal Park. For a location that is convenient to outdoor and indoor entertainment, be sure to stay at the Ayres Lodge in the beautiful mountain community of Alpine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ayres Lodge Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Lodge Alpine Hotel Alpine
Ayres Hotel Alpine
Ayres Inn Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing