We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice, will come again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Trailside Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Alturas
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Nice king bed, clean rooms, friendly helpful staff. Kind of lame continental breakfast. We had a "stomper" in the room above us but leaving the air conditioner on helped muffle the noise. Next time we'll ask for an upstairs room.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Trailside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

If travel takes you to Alturas for the night, you will find that there is really no other place to compare with the Trailside Inn. Clean,comfortable rooms and a helpful staff. The breakfast selections are limited and there really isn't any space to sit, but, minor points in the big picture. Rooms are tough to come by in the summer and reservations are a must!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Terrance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We frequently stay at BW Trailside on our way to- or from- Reno or Lake Tahoe. While it is an older motel, it is immaculately maintained, beds new and comfortable, great exterior and pool. Staff friendly and professional. Good breakfast, fluffy towels, free wireless. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our group was traveling with a car and two motorcycles. When one of the motorcycle riders became ill with heatstroke, we decided to stop for the day at the Best Western Trailside Inn. It was a very pleasant surprise that the small town of Alturas, CA had such a clean, well-maintained, and reasonably-priced hotel. What a relief! The front desk staff was caring, efficient, and understood our need to get a room quickly for our ill friend. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent one night here on our way north. It is an older property with a dated, but clean interior. In this struggling community, it is a safe bet for a good night's sleep. Beds were comfortable. We took an upstairs room (without refrigerator). The staff were A+. They gave us good recommendations for dinner and lunch. Not much going on in town. We missed the movie theater by a day (it's open for one show each on Friday & Saturday staffed by volunteers). The hotel was full but quiet - we slept with the windows open (June 1). Yeah, it seemed a bit pricey, but you have to remember that CA camp sites are now $35 per night - so you would expect a hotel to be at least 3x that. Times change. Local paper in the room is an eye-opener for city-folks like us.

Room Tip: You get refrigerators in the downstairs room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CalifCoupleSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody D, General Manager at Best Western Trailside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thanks for staying at our property. Glad you enjoyed our small town, we hope that you will come back and stay with us again.
Our rooms upstairs that have king beds and two queen beds have fridge and microwaves in them. It is just our rooms upstairs that have two double beds that don't have them and a room that has a single queen, becuase of there room size we aren't able to fit them in those room types.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A bit pricey, but it was Alturas CA. Beside the bug on the pillow; an easy kill. The room was clean. Noisy AC. The best place in town to stay. Tiny town, no real place for dinner. A couple gas station cafes, a Mexican food place almost Taco Bell quality, cheap margaritas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Upon arrival you are taken back by the healthy beautiful petunias decorating the hotel. The gardener was very friendly and enjoyed keeping these plants healthy. We had 2 rooms on the first floor that were very clean and smelled fresh. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The pool was crystal clear, perfect temperature, and no chlorine smell. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar had a huge variety of fresh food and was restock continuously. I HIGHLY recommend this Inn & will return again!!! Thank you for a pleasant relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody D, General Manager at Best Western Trailside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Our petunias do tend to stand out, all of our staff takes great pride in the property from flowers to the linens on the beds.
I hope you will be back again to enjoy all that we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alturas
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Alturas
Super 8 Alturas
#3 of 6 in Alturas
146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rim Rock Motel
Rim Rock Motel
#1 of 6 in Alturas
179 reviews
19.4 mi away
JnR Hotel
JnR Hotel
#4 of 4 in Cedarville
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Niles Hotel
Niles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alturas
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Motel
Hacienda Motel
#4 of 6 in Alturas
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Essex Motel
#6 of 6 in Alturas
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Trailside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Trailside Inn

Address: 343 N Main St, Alturas, CA 96101-4065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Alturas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Alturas
Price Range: £85 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Trailside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this great Alutras hotel- 100% non-smoking near the beautiful Warner Mountain Range. The Best Western Trailside Inn is a clean, quality hotel located in Alturas, California. This hotel is close to many outdoor activities including hunting, hiking, golf, fishing and bird watching. Guests will also find convenient access to key area attractions and restaurants. The hotel is in close proximity to local events such as Fandango Days, the Modoc District Fair, the Hot Air Balloon Festival and the Migratory Bird Festival. A seasonal outdoor heated pool is on the property, business center and continental breakfast. Dogs are welcome to the hotel for a small fee. For superior customer service make a reservation at the Best Western Trailside Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Trailside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Trailside Hotel Alturas
Best Western Alturas
Alturas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing