We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Amador City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salinas, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Friends and I make an annual trek to the Imperial Hotel and I've always enjoyed my stay. Just the right mix of upscale niceties and historic quirkiness. Maryann is a good resource for info on local wineries and restaurants. The service is always friendly at the hotel, bar and restaurant. The food at the restaurant is good and reasonably priced--one of the best in the area. A charming experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalinasDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    21
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
52
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you are looking for a quite Romantic Getaway, this is the place! The hospitality is the best. Upon making the reservations to the arrival & settling in, we were treated with 1st class service. The private rooms & bath are very quaint with a country flair. Two of the rooms (upstairs) have a spectacular view of the old western town. The town buildings are charmingly old; one may picture dirt roads & stagecoaches that once strolled through. The inside bar is in tact with authentic crafted woodwork and the food is the best!. The evening dinners are graced with elegance & the breakfasts are prepared uniquely, especially if you have dietary needs. All you have do is ask. The lush green /rock courtyard is a optional area for dining and/or simply relaxing to enjoy a glass of wine. Worth the trip & worth the cost! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We reserved 1 bdrm with a king sized bed for 2 nights in the main hotel. A day before our arrival we receive an email stating that the amount due at check-in would be $543. We email back and tell the manager that is incorrect. (Actually, we had stopped by the hotel on our way through to Plymouth but no one was in attendance that knew about reservations.) A staff member emailed back that the amount was incorrect and we did indeed have a reservation for 1 room for 2 nights. Apparently the computer generated email had us booked for 2 rooms. When we check in we find that we do not even have 1 room for 2 nights in the hotel but are given directions to their cottage up the road! We had made a reservation to stay at the hotel but that was not what we got. Suggestion - Do a half day tour of Amador City but keep driving 3 or 4 miles to Plymouth and stay at the Shenandoah Inn. Each room is huge and has totally been updated with new furniture, mattresses, carpetting, paint etc. And it's so much closer to the wineries!

Room Tip: If you want to stay in the hotel, verify that is where your room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foto-op
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuttersEnd, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
We do regret that we were not able to book this guest into their preferred room. Unfortunately, bookings made through a website other than our own are sometimes at the mercy of the limitations of the other online travel site. In this case, the guest requested a king room for two nights and was told that booking was available, despite the fact that we had a king room available for only the first night requested. So in an effort to give the guest a two night booking, rather than simply rejecting the reservation, we offered the option of staying in a king room in the historic hotel for one night and moving to another room the second night, or staying both nights in a queen suite with jacuzzi tub in our Garden Cottage (which is part of and within walking distance of the hotel) for both nights. They chose the latter and we discounted the rate on the room so that they would not incur any additional cost.

Our recommendation would be that if guests have their hearts set on a specific room in our hotel, or in any bed and breakfast or small inn like ours, rather than rely on a travel website which may not list all of our rooms or may not have the most current availability reflected, it is best to book with us directly, either by phone or through our website, which updates in real time each time a reservation is requested or cancelled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

The Imperial Hotel is a must if you are traveling to the Foothills. The historic hotel is charming and you can choose your rooms from their website before you go. Sitting on the balcony overlooking Amador City was a highlight of the trip. Make sure that if you want to stay in the hotel that you get one of the six rooms there since they also have rooms in another location. The restaurant on the first floor is great and the bar is perfect for an after dinner drink. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAP613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

A stay in the Imperial Hotel will provide you with a glance back in history. Located in the heart of California Gold Rush country this rustic old hotel has maintained much of the charm that was so prevalent in the mid 1800's during the gold rush days. I suspect that at least some if not all of the furniture in the rooms date back to those historic days. If you are looking for up-scale accommodations this is not your place, but if you truly want a flavor of bygone days you certainly might consider staying here. They have a dining room which serves very good food and meals are available for both breakfast and dinner. The warm breakfasts are particularly good and are included in your room rate. There is also an old wooden bar that looks very authentic of the era and may be the original. A number of the locals assemble here later in the day to partake in some refreshment. The town of Amador contains four or five shops, several which are worthy of some browsing. While in the area you definitely want to visit some of the surrounding towns and visits to the wineries of the California Shenandoah Valley will provide you with many enjoyable tastings, most of which will be free, as compared to the tasting fees charged in the more popular Napa, Sanoma region. I would say this is certainly a hotel worthy of your consideration when visiting this region.

Room Tip: I would certainly recommend rooms #1 or #2. The are located in the front of the hotel and have balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooper233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a review of the restaurant; we did not stay in the hotel.

There are not too many noteworthy restaurants in the Amador foothills but this is one of them. For those readers who do not wish to read my full review,, the primary reasons I enjoy this restaurant are:

• It’s location in quiet and charming Amador City.

• A bright and airy dining room decorated in a way that appeals to both young and old.

• An exceptionally nice terrace for warm-weather dining.

• A menu that includes both traditional staples and more unusual fare.

• Good value.

One enters the building into a combined reception / bar area. An old wooden bar with perhaps eight stools to the left, two or three tables, stairs leading up to the rooms and the dining room to the right. It’s simple and rustic. The dining room, which is separated from the bar/reception area, is perhaps 15 feet wide and about three or four times that in length. High ceilings, soft colors and windows make for a bright and airy feel.

Tables are spaced generously and set handsomely with white linen. The room is on the sparse (modern-ish) side but, at the same time, warm and comfortable; it appeals to both young and older clientele. Noise levels are perfect for my tastes (i.e. not hushed and not deafening).

The menu (including specials) contains perhaps a dozen appetizers and a dozen main courses. Choices run from the traditional (e.g. chops and pastas) to the more unusual and include several vegetarian selections. This, for me, is one of this restaurant’s highlights; I appreciate the opportunity to enjoy dishes that I don’t see everywhere.

Service
Impeccable. We were greeted and seated by the manager who is both efficient and affable. Service was provided by two ladies who were equally efficient and affable. Food arrived as ordered. No glitches; unobtrusive service that overlooked nothing.

Food and wine
I ordered a beet salad. It was served over various fresh, crisp greens with walnuts, a blue cheese and a honey-mustard dressing. I was disappointed by the dearth of beets; I received perhaps two slices of beets (which were very tasty) cut into quarters. The walnuts were some of the tastiest I have had in a long time. The blue cheese was far too mild for my tastes; totally overwhelmed by the beets and honey-mustard dressing. I would have preferred vinaigrette.

My guest ordered a Caesar salad. It was perfect except that an anchovy filet had been placed atop the salad. I believe that it would have been more proper to grind it into the dressing.

We followed our appetizer with split pea soup that was served piping hot. It was thick and savory, reminiscent of a German “eintopf” (just the way I like it) and really hit the spot on a cold night.

I ordered ossobuco with risotto, one of the evening’s specials. The other special that evening was halibut. I ordered it because ossobuco is something I seldom see on a menu and risotto challenges a chef’s skill. Presentation was not good, a slab of veal shank that had fallen apart served with a glop of risotto. The veal was good and on the moist side but no additional sauce was on the plate. I would have preferred to have at least a spoonful sauce to soak up. The risotto was abysmal, an almost-tasteless pinkish glob of mush. It was so overdone that I couldn’t even discern if it had been made with Arborio rice.

My guest was very pleased with an excellent chicken Marsala.

We washed dinner down with an excellent 2007 Cooper Barbera and a good Il Gioiello Cabernet Sauvignon. Almost all of the wines on the list are local and all are very fairly priced.

Stars
My ratings consider the restaurant’s profile (e.g. location, price and staff size). Hence, a five-star rating does NOT mean that a restaurant has achieved the stratospheric levels of the finest French restaurants that are staffed by an army and cost a king’s ransom.

• 5 stars for service because it was impeccable.

• 5 stars for ambience because I believe it achieves a perfect balance of formality and casualness; modernity and comfort.

• 5 stars for value. Many of the appetizers were priced at under $9 and the most expensive main dishes were under $30. Wines were favorably priced, many under $30.

• 3 1/2 stars for food. I would have given it 4 to 4 ½ but the chef should never have permitted that risotto, with both the taste and consistency of wallpaper paste, to be served. Instead, polenta (another menu item that evening) should have been substituted.

This was not my first visit to this restaurant and it shall not be my last. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
322 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Imperial Hotel in the tiny Gold Country town of Amador City in the Sierra Nevada foothills is more than 100 years old. That means the floors creak, the stairs are somewhat steep, and a giant ceiling fan cools the room in summer. That's all part of its charm. Add to that, it's perched on the edge of the town with interesting shops...and the best bakery in the county. The dining room is surprisingly good for the area, and worth eating there for your dinner. Breakfast is included in a very moderate price. You'll transport yourself back to the 19th century in this classic hotel.

Room Tip: Go on the website and choose your favorite decor. Balcony rooms are more expensive, but maybe not us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmarKhayyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amador City
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Rest Hotel Plymouth
Rest Hotel Plymouth
#1 of 7 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Foxes Inn
The Foxes Inn
#1 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hanford House Inn
The Hanford House Inn
#3 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 14202 Old Hwy. 49, Amador City, CA 95601
Region: United States > California > Amador County > Amador City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Amador City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic California Gold Country hotel in the heart of Amador County wine country. This small-town bed and breakfast inn offers six handsome guest rooms and three luxurious suites, each with private bath and modern amenities. On-site gourmet restaurant and full bar featuring award-winning local wines. Close to golf courses, antique stores, fishing, skiing and more than 45 wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing