We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Attitude and Service but room is quite nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Bad Attitude and Service but room is quite nice”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Checkin 的服务人员态度非常的不耐烦和不友善,厕所有点问题,请服务人员来的态度也特别不好,问问题很不耐烦 每家double tree应该都有热的小饼干服务,这家连问都没问更别说给了. 不过硬体设施还是不错的.但是离NAPA还是有点距离,200美金的收费,我下次会选择住在NAPA里面. The people in the checkin counter has bad attitude and service. Next time if I have same budget I won't stay here anymore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    334
    184
    66
    29
See reviews for
193
364
39
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights with a wedding party group. Large rooms, small patios, free WI-fi and coffee. Located a few miles from Napa and wine country. Starbucks and fast food choices nearby. We did not try the onsite restaurant, but it looked nice. Overall a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Planned visit to Napa & Sonoma: We and another couple booked two separate rooms about a month prior to our visit to the Hilton DoubleTree Hotel & Spa in American Canyon, California, because of it's proximity to the Napa / Sonoma area. At the time we book our rooms there were no specials advertised that included a "breakfast". The minimum rate per night seemed very high. However, we went ahead anyway and booked our rooms with no additional amenities because most of the B&Bs in the area required a minimum two-night stay, whereas this property accepted a one night reservation .

About a week prior to our scheduled visit, I checked the reservation web site for this hotel and there it was, an advertisement for a bed & breakfast special. So I called hotel reservations directly to see if we could have the special breakfast included. They said that the special was already sold out and were sorry but the hotel restaurant was available. We were very disappointed as we really wanted to be able to include the breakfast as a package and use it the morning of our check-out.

The hotel itself was what I would consider "average". Our room was clean but very simple. Our room had the body wash, shampoo & conditioner dispensers versus separate mini-bottles. My wife didn't like the dispensers because they were "unsealed" and anybody could access the contents. Separate bottles were available if you go to the front desk and ask for them, which is inconvenient. Had the feeling that the dispensers were an attempt to reduce expenses & waste but it created a "cheap" impression.

The front desk staff were polite but a little cool in their demeanor at check-in, e.g., few smiles and no upbeat tone of voice. For the $269.00 per night rate (plus tax) we expected much more, including at the very least a continental breakfast. I've visited many, many Hilton properties world-wide. In my opinion this one did not measure up for the rate charged.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTurbodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were in for a wedding, the money we paid for the hotel stay with the discount was not worth it. The Service was horrible. The food at the resturant was good, but the hotel not so much. We had to keep asking for supplies such as towels, coffee, clean glasses etc. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable. Poor choice for us to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great staff and the lagoon was beautiful. Was one of the high points on our vacation. Can't wait to visit again when we are back in the Napa area. The restaurant and bar at the hotel was excellent. We also had breakfast at the hotel restaurant every morning and it couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 104steve1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great place to lay your head. Clean, sterile, comfortable, good value. One time is enough. One time is enough. I won't be back. Just wanted to experience this hotel. Very convenient to Napa and Sonoma wine tasting areas. Plain!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaptownCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you're looking for somewhere to stay when San Francisco is fully booked or too pricey, or as a gateway to the vineyards, this is a good location. You do need a car to go anywhere though (free parking). There is a spa onsite, although I didn't use it. The pool is very small and there is a hot tub. The outside areas have seating around a pond, which is very relaxing. Ground floor rooms have patios with furniture, which is a nice touch. The breakfast buffet had a very good variety of food, including made-to-order omelettes. The restaurant had good quality food in the evening too, along with an extensive wine list. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and modern. Some of the staff were excellent, while others were not very attentive. I will stay again if I'm in the area. This is certified as a Gold Leed building, so you do notice some differences from other hotels.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have patios.
See more room tips
Green Features: I had to keep turning the water hotter when in the shower because it was getting cooler the longer I was in it. The bathroom supplies are in bulk and didn't seem to be as good a quality as the small bottles. Even though I hung my towels on the rack, the staff still changed them every day.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplepuppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American Canyon
11.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
8.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
10.9 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Address: 3600 Broadway St, American Canyon, CA 94503-1259 (Formerly Gaia Napa Valley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > American Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon hotel in northern California is the World's First LEED-Certified Hotel, located near hundreds of wineries in the Sonoma Valley - on Highway 29 at the gateway to Napa Valley (9 minutes from Napa). Relax at our on-site spa - Spa Gaia - or enjoy organic, locally-gathered meals at the Table 29 Bistro & Bar (also on-site). Our eco-friendly hotel includes a sparkling lagoon (suites with water views available), fitness room, outdoor pool, lounge/bar area, room service, multi-lingual staff and free parking (evening security provided). Host your wedding on our outdoor event deck with views of our sparkling Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Hotel Gaia Napa Valley
Gaia Napa Valley American Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing