We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A pleasant experience other than the close proximity to not-so-nice/criminal-type areas. We even saw police Taser a violent suspect. The hotel, though, was an oasis in the heart of near nothingness. The water feature between the buildings, complete with water birds, was a nice touch. However, we found it a bit odd that guests have to go outside to get to the office/lobby and restaurant. Overall, though, the stay was a good one. And, the air-conditioning unit worked nicely and was actually controlled by the thermostat located in the room. Not so in many hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the landscape and serene lagoon that houses our Swans, Waterfowl and Egret. The layout of the property is such because of our focus on Green and Environmentally Sustainable efforts. When first building the hotel, our owner and designers both agreed that keeping the natural flow of the land was best for the environment and the property design as well. The buildings are on land that has never been leveled or soil that has not been replaced. This is why we have the separate buildings, lagoon in the center quart yard, as well as the choice of landscaping. This has also contributed to our Gold LEED Certification.
Thank you again for your kind review and we hope you consider us once again for your next trip to the Napa Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

This Hotel is inexpensive considering that it is centrally located between Napa and Sonoma Valley. The rooms are clean but have no vault for your valuables, and it is a "Green" Hotel. The restaurant has a good selection in their menu with a good prime rib on Friday nights and the brunch is great for around $14 per person. Would stay there again if I went back to Wine Country.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley. Your feedback is very important to ME! I am overwhelmed by your review and sincerely appreciate your warm comments. Please make a point to ask for me the next time you check in as I would enjoy the opportunity to meet you in person. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We ended up here because Hilton Honors messed up our reservations in napa and this seemed like a good fallback option. The approach is not fantastic. It's basically on a main road with all that implies, including easy access to napa, but picturesque it is not. I was therefore quite wary as we went in. The lobby was promising, although a quick look outside revealed a very modestly-proportioned lagoon and a bijou swimming pool. All very nicely done but still next to a main road. Front desk service was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not fancy but very large, spotless and the beds are heavenly. Not sure if I stayed at the same place as Barry (below) but I was on the Doubletree website when we left to find out about the beds and bedding. I'm not a fan of the soap dispensers and agree with a previous reviewer who said they suggest cheap, but the individual bottles were readily provided. In short, you wouldn't hang around, resort-style during the day, but as an affordable option, within easy reach of Napa, I rate it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We loved the location and staff was very attentive and helpful. We especially liked that they took care of shipping the wine we purchased and we didn't have to find a UPS store ourselves. The food at the restaurant was good and reasonably priced and the breakfast buffet was a great way to start our day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Checkin 的服务人员态度非常的不耐烦和不友善,厕所有点问题,请服务人员来的态度也特别不好,问问题很不耐烦 每家double tree应该都有热的小饼干服务,这家连问都没问更别说给了. 不过硬体设施还是不错的.但是离NAPA还是有点距离,200美金的收费,我下次会选择住在NAPA里面. The people in the checkin counter has bad attitude and service. Next time if I have same budget I won't stay here anymore.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights with a wedding party group. Large rooms, small patios, free WI-fi and coffee. Located a few miles from Napa and wine country. Starbucks and fast food choices nearby. We did not try the onsite restaurant, but it looked nice. Overall a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Planned visit to Napa & Sonoma: We and another couple booked two separate rooms about a month prior to our visit to the Hilton DoubleTree Hotel & Spa in American Canyon, California, because of it's proximity to the Napa / Sonoma area. At the time we book our rooms there were no specials advertised that included a "breakfast". The minimum rate per night seemed very high. However, we went ahead anyway and booked our rooms with no additional amenities because most of the B&Bs in the area required a minimum two-night stay, whereas this property accepted a one night reservation .

About a week prior to our scheduled visit, I checked the reservation web site for this hotel and there it was, an advertisement for a bed & breakfast special. So I called hotel reservations directly to see if we could have the special breakfast included. They said that the special was already sold out and were sorry but the hotel restaurant was available. We were very disappointed as we really wanted to be able to include the breakfast as a package and use it the morning of our check-out.

The hotel itself was what I would consider "average". Our room was clean but very simple. Our room had the body wash, shampoo & conditioner dispensers versus separate mini-bottles. My wife didn't like the dispensers because they were "unsealed" and anybody could access the contents. Separate bottles were available if you go to the front desk and ask for them, which is inconvenient. Had the feeling that the dispensers were an attempt to reduce expenses & waste but it created a "cheap" impression.

The front desk staff were polite but a little cool in their demeanor at check-in, e.g., few smiles and no upbeat tone of voice. For the $269.00 per night rate (plus tax) we expected much more, including at the very least a continental breakfast. I've visited many, many Hilton properties world-wide. In my opinion this one did not measure up for the rate charged.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTurbodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American Canyon
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
9.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
8.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon

Address: 3600 Broadway St, American Canyon, CA 94503-1259 (Formerly Gaia Napa Valley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > American Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
Price Range: £74 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon hotel in northern California is the World's First LEED-Certified Hotel, located near hundreds of wineries in the Sonoma Valley - on Highway 29 at the gateway to Napa Valley (9 minutes from Napa). Relax at our on-site spa - Spa Gaia - or enjoy organic, locally-gathered meals at the Table 29 Bistro & Bar (also on-site). Our eco-friendly hotel includes a sparkling lagoon (suites with water views available), fitness room, outdoor pool, lounge/bar area, room service, multi-lingual staff and free parking (evening security provided). Host your wedding on our outdoor event deck with views of our sparkling Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Hotel Gaia Napa Valley
Gaia Napa Valley American Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing