We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel great spa Not accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
american canyon, United States
1 review
“hotel great spa Not accommodating”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Hotel was great. The front desk people were great and the restaurant staff was great and food was good. The spa well they have one but good luck getting an appointment. Tried to treat my wife and I to a massage. Sunday we asked about an appointment on Wednesday in the morning. No one called us back until we called tuesday afternoon to verify our time. They had nothing and they may have never called us to tell us this. I would say great place to stay but try another spa these people were not very accommodating at all

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
First, thank you for your review. We take each guest opinion and comment very seriously and use this information to improve our hotel, level of service and to make your future visits more enjoyable. We are pleased to hear our front desk staff was able to serve you well. I do offer my sincere apologies for the lack of communication from the Spa. We will certainly fix the problem that resulted in not only the lack of follow up with your request for spa treatments as well as the lack of availability. Thank you again for your review and please consider us again should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    347
    192
    70
    32
See reviews for
203
378
41
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We chose this hotel as a lower priced alternative to the hotels in Napa when visiting wine country. Plenty of free car parking, good pool, room was very large, clean and comfortable. It was an excellent choice for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redmirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard to offer a competitive rate from our neighbor hotels here in the Napa Valley. We hope that you chose the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley during your next stay to the valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Hotel was very dated. When entering room, the inner door handle had jam/jelly over it. Was not pleased when I grabbed the handle. Disgusting! Took three requests and over a day to have it cleaned. In addition, the hotel is dated. Rugs in the hall ways can be updated. Inner court yard can be cleaned up as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank petersF6421RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Our apologies for the unfortunate event you experienced when entering your room. Thank you kindly for bringing this to our attention. Our hotel is only six years old and every year we make upgrades not only to the décor but also to the various services we offer. This year we are pleased to inform you we will be upgrading the carpet as well as updating some décor pieces in our guest rooms. We hope that your next trip to the Napa Valley, you will stay with us once again and take a look at the changes and improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The rooms are a bit dated and not that clean. The hotel is not close to Napa where all the restaurants and night life is. We rented a driver to take us to the vineyards/shopping we wanted to go to. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We are glad that our staff was able to assist you so well and that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast. We are not too far from downtown Napa, a short ten to fifteen minute drive from restaurants, nightlife, art galleries and more. Renting a private car service is a great way to see all the valley has to offer without the worry or hassle of driving yourself. Our concierge and guest service staff is all well informed on several methods of transportation available to all our guests. Thank you for your review and we invite you to stay with us should you be in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A pleasant experience other than the close proximity to not-so-nice/criminal-type areas. We even saw police Taser a violent suspect. The hotel, though, was an oasis in the heart of near nothingness. The water feature between the buildings, complete with water birds, was a nice touch. However, we found it a bit odd that guests have to go outside to get to the office/lobby and restaurant. Overall, though, the stay was a good one. And, the air-conditioning unit worked nicely and was actually controlled by the thermostat located in the room. Not so in many hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the landscape and serene lagoon that houses our Swans, Waterfowl and Egret. The layout of the property is such because of our focus on Green and Environmentally Sustainable efforts. When first building the hotel, our owner and designers both agreed that keeping the natural flow of the land was best for the environment and the property design as well. The buildings are on land that has never been leveled or soil that has not been replaced. This is why we have the separate buildings, lagoon in the center quart yard, as well as the choice of landscaping. This has also contributed to our Gold LEED Certification.
Thank you again for your kind review and we hope you consider us once again for your next trip to the Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, USA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This Hotel is inexpensive considering that it is centrally located between Napa and Sonoma Valley. The rooms are clean but have no vault for your valuables, and it is a "Green" Hotel. The restaurant has a good selection in their menu with a good prime rib on Friday nights and the brunch is great for around $14 per person. Would stay there again if I went back to Wine Country.

Green Features: The chain is considered the first "Green" hotel chain.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlc1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley. Your feedback is very important to ME! I am overwhelmed by your review and sincerely appreciate your warm comments. Please make a point to ask for me the next time you check in as I would enjoy the opportunity to meet you in person. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We ended up here because Hilton Honors messed up our reservations in napa and this seemed like a good fallback option. The approach is not fantastic. It's basically on a main road with all that implies, including easy access to napa, but picturesque it is not. I was therefore quite wary as we went in. The lobby was promising, although a quick look outside revealed a very modestly-proportioned lagoon and a bijou swimming pool. All very nicely done but still next to a main road. Front desk service was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not fancy but very large, spotless and the beds are heavenly. Not sure if I stayed at the same place as Barry (below) but I was on the Doubletree website when we left to find out about the beds and bedding. I'm not a fan of the soap dispensers and agree with a previous reviewer who said they suggest cheap, but the individual bottles were readily provided. In short, you wouldn't hang around, resort-style during the day, but as an affordable option, within easy reach of Napa, I rate it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American Canyon
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
11.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Napa American Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Address: 3600 Broadway St, American Canyon, CA 94503-1259 (Formerly Gaia Napa Valley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > American Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon hotel in northern California is the World's First LEED-Certified Hotel, located near hundreds of wineries in the Sonoma Valley - on Highway 29 at the gateway to Napa Valley (9 minutes from Napa). Relax at our on-site spa - Spa Gaia - or enjoy organic, locally-gathered meals at the Table 29 Bistro & Bar (also on-site). Our eco-friendly hotel includes a sparkling lagoon (suites with water views available), fitness room, outdoor pool, lounge/bar area, room service, multi-lingual staff and free parking (evening security provided). Host your wedding on our outdoor event deck with views of our sparkling Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Hotel Gaia Napa Valley
Gaia Napa Valley American Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing