We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #40 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We were here for 4 nights and our room was in the older section, where the front desk is. We were situated on the 3rd floor in room 1304 and our daughter was in 1302 with her family. We found the Portofino much in need of a face lift. The interior hallway carpets were very rough and showing signs of needing replacement being worn away in front of room doors. The rooms showed signs of needing painting and cleaning. Our bedspreads were stained.

Our major complaint is that the air conditioning never worked! We checked in in Monday, 3-12-2012, and found the A/C was blowing warm air. Our daughter, in a Kid Suite next to us, had the same complaint. The next morning I informed the front desk of the A/C problem and watched the clerk write down the info and say it would be look into. As I write this review. on our 4th night, the A/C issue has not been resolved. We have to open the patio door to let in cooling air. Lucky for us we spend most of our time at Disneyland and are not in the room. would we say here again? Not a chance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear retiredTPD,

We apologize for the air conditioning inconvenience you experienced. The delay in resolving your issue is completely unacceptable. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and all of your comments and suggestions. Thank you for staying with us and completing the review.

Sincerely,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,322 - 1,328 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here recently and have recommended it to family and friends as an adequate, decently priced suite for families such as ours, too large for a traditional hotel room. It was great having a kid Suite with room for the little ones to hang out. The walk to Disney was quick, and we enjoyed the convenience of the little shop just downstairs. They had inexpensive ice cold water for $1 that was a lifesaver when visiting the park and trying to economize. We have also stayed at the Disney resorts, and of course they are nicer, but they are also much more expensive. This works out to be a clean, friendly place to lay your head when visiting Disneyland that doesn't break the bank.
Really check their website for different rates, because they had quite a variety that it took us a while to find, but ended up being the least expensive for a suite.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thehiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear thehiggi,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for recommending our Anaheim hotel to family, friends and other travelers. We're so glad to hear that you not only enjoyed staying in one of our Kids Suites, but that you found our gift shop and property location convenient for your family's visit. Thanks for your great review!

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Wow. Where to begin. This situation was so NOT cool. Don't let the photos fool you, this place has rooms that are very run down.

We were hoping to get a good deal with close access to Disneyland. We did get a lower price than you might expect from a mid-grade hotel, but this is no mid-grade hotel. I don't see how this property could even get a two-star rating. Rooms are run-down, wallpaper peeling, not clean, not in good repair, old bedding, icky-dirty feeling to the tops of everything and NOISY. Our room was on the main floor next to the laundry room/arcade and we couldn't sleep all night without the sound of rocket-like gearing up every few minutes. The front desk said it is the laundry room going on "stand by" during the light. LOUD! The front desk staff is very friendly, however, there was only so much they could do.

No breakfast, not enough parking (but free), not stable internet (but free) so a bit all over the map. It is close to the Disney main gate (2 blocks), but truly realize what you are getting into.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeautifulWorld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear BeautifulWorld08,

Thank you for your feedback and bringing the details of your stay to our attention. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences that occurred during your visit. It is very disappointing to learn that we failed to exceed your expectations. Again, thank you for completing the review. We hope you will decide to reconsider giving us another opportunity to deliver an enjoyable stay with us.

Best Regards,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 small children (3 and 20 months) in the kid suite. The room was perfect for families - the kids room (separated by French doors with sheets) was very large and had its own tv and a fridge and microwave. We were able to put the kids to bed at night and still watch our own tv or do whatever.

Every day the housekeeping staff replenished the toiletries and left the room in pristine condition. The hotel is a short walk from Disneyland - about 5-10 minutes from the gates to the park.

For the price this is an extremely great value! And the front desk staff were beyond kind and helpful from the time we booked the room to checkout. Parking is free and there are 2 convenience stores next door. We will DEFINITELY be returning to this hotel for our future Disneyland trips!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeFam2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear LeeFam2005,

We are very pleased our Kids Suite was perfect for you and your family! All of your wonderful compliments on our excellent customer service, housekeeping, affordable rates and great value. We are excited to hear that you will definitely be returning to our hotel for your future Disneyland trips! We can't wait to have you back!

Best,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

10 min walk from Disney entrance. Family room convenient for family of 4. Rooms need renovation, everything is old. Just suitable for a sleep. Internet connection very slow. Interrupts freq. Value good for 4. Get what u pay for..

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HatOrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Dear HatOrth,

We appreciate your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our family suite, convenient location and good value. Your suggestions are very important to us and will always be taken very seriously. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you and your family will visit again soon.

Best Regards,
Beckley Van Cleave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We looked every where for your families first vacation. We are a family of 6. We chose this hotel and everyone was very happy! When I checked us in I requested a crib be brought to the room for our youngest 5 months at the time. We went to the room and before I could put my bags down there was a knock at the door, it was an employee with the crib. We had a great time and just booked again for our family vacation this year. The kids are so excited to go back. A lot of places say that they are family friendly but when you arrive that is really not the case. Portofino says they are family friendly and they really deliver. Thank you so much for being there for families like ours.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BusyM0mAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear BusyM0mAZ,

It is our pleasure to provide family friendly accommodations and the exceptional customer service that you deserve! Thank you for all of your wonderful compliments on our Anaheim hotel. We are ecstatic to hear that you and your family have chosen to book your family vacation with us again this year! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

the room was clean, sizeable but tired and worn out. we were there to see disneyland with the kids anyway, so werent expecting to see much of the room. the location is perfect - ony 10mins walk from the park with a decent ihop across the street. good free wifi service. nice comfortable beds and chirpy staff. decent value if youre looking for a no frills option.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alamo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear alamo36,

Our entire staff is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our cheerful customer service! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback by completing the review. We are also happy that you were nice and comfortable in our accommodations and that our convenient location was perfect for you and your family. We hope you will be back to see us again on your next visit to the U.S.

Best Regards,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 119 in Anaheim
1,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.2 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
0.3 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#33 of 119 in Anaheim
2,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#29 of 119 in Anaheim
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Address: 1831 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#38 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £94 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing