We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Part Of Family Disney Trip! 4/26/12”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing Part Of Family Disney Trip! 4/26/12”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Few quick details about the this hotel to consider before booking for the convenience of the location.....
POSITIVE ASPECTS OF THE HOTEL:
- Extremely polite and friendly staff.
- Across the street from Disney park. Within walking distance but the transit is well worth the cost when the family and little ones are tired from walking all day in the parks.
- Conveniently located across from IHOP and several other restaraunts
- Fireworks (on weekends) can be viewed from hotel rooms facing Disney park. Very nice for little ones.
NEGATIVE ASPECTS OF THE HOTEL:
- Very limited parking: uncovered parking minimal and garage parking little to non. Approximately 15 spaces at most and they are always taken.
- Urine smell in hallways and bedrooms (on more than one level). This is one of the most disappointing parts of the whole entire trip. I switched rooms 3 times and was still not happy but was scheduled to go to the park the next day and unable to get any additional accomodations. I was extremely "bummed" about how the smell brought everything and everyone down.
- Room was outdated, comforters on beds look "blah" and just don't look clean. Did not want to sleep in them (at all).
- Shower has good amount shampoo and several towels (with hair on most) but not enough hand soap (1 teeny-tiny bar soap). Hot in the bathroom when taking a shower because there is no fan but the water is nice and hot.
- A/C is only in kids bedroom and does not extend to adult room as needed. Who wants the kids to be the only ones cool (or sick?). So, as usual the parents have to sacrifice comfort for kids health and comfort (just doesn't make sense)....and don't close the french doors...non of the adults will get air when a/c on.

Utlimately, I would not stay here again. When you leave Disneyland you can't wait to relax at the end of a super long day of walking around.... and staying here is just not relaxing or comfortable. It's convenient, for sure, but this whole street is loaded with hotel options. A vacation is expensive and the memory is what you pay for (for children AND adults alike). Why spend HARD EARNED money on just the park experience and not the "ENTIRE" experience???? No thank you! Again, great staff, not a great hotel. Pretty disappointed and sad that my family's vacation was not as amazing as it could have been.

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the ice machine or you will not sleep! Choose a room on the top level faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fam_Vacation_Disney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Fam_Vacation_Disney,

We apologize for disappointing you and your family. Thank you for expressing your concerns of your recent visit. We're sorry for any odor in the room, not having enough hand soap available, the unacceptable condition of your towels and the other inconveniences you experienced. After receiving your review, immediate action was taken to identify the cause of these occurrences. Be assured, this will not be overlooked. Please know the entrance parking between our towers continues through to the end of the first tower where you will find an entire lot of guest parking. Again, we are very sorry for failing to deliver an amazing stay for you and your family. Thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    648
    309
    132
    83
See reviews for
1,128
89
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hooper, UT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were excited to stay at this hotel during our recent trip to Disneyland. The Kids Suites looked great and the location was close to Disney. The photos made the hotel look relatively modern and nice. It was rated with three stars and had very favorable reviews.

We were disappointed by the aging rooms. The attraction to the Kids Suites is the bunk beds and foldout couch in a separate room from the king sized bed. But the doors that separated the areas had flimsy curtains (no privacy) and blocked the air conditioner when closed. The carpet, bedding, walls, bathroom, etc., was all rather aged. The televisions were older. I guess I just expected better based on the other reviews and the photos.

Also, it's not as close to the entrance to Disney as you might think. Do yourself a favor and buy an Anaheim Resort Transport pass. It's well worth the money.

On the plus side, it had decent sound control and was nicely located. The price wasn't too bad, either (at least booked through Orbitz). The pool shared with the Jolly Roger was very nice.

Room Tip: Choose the Kids Suite if you have children under 12 or more than two kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nana1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear nana1999,

We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and hope that you will accept our sincere apology. We regret failing to impress you and appreciate you bringing these details to our attention. Listening to our guests' feedback and taking action in any way possible to make necessary improvements is very important to all of us here. Our hope is that all that you enjoyed while staying with us: quiet rooms, affordable rates, location and amenities, will bring you back to stay with us again. We would appreciate the opportunity to exceed the expectations you might have on your return visit.

Sincerely,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

For the price we paid this hotel should have been listed cheaper. Shower drain was broken and even though we notified management the only time they came was while our little ones were sleeping. I requested that they return in an hour and they never came back. The kid's room on line was completely different from the way it was set up. I am so totally disappointed in this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear YankeeBB,

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, as well as failing to visit your room again after your kids were done napping. Please know that this error has been addressed with our staff. Also, the general set up of our Kids Suites is standard; however, there are a few rooms where the furniture and/or decor are located in different spots than shown in our pictures due to the location in building or shape of the room. Again, we are very sorry that we failed to impress you on your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback by completing the review on our property.

Sincerely,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denare Beach, Sask
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel was beautiful, lobby and hallways were really nice but the rooms were a little dissappointing as they were somewhat dated and just never felt like it was that clean. The kids loved having their own bunkbeds and tv which was nice. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. We enjoyed the pool and hottub. It was nice having the ABC to pick up food and drinks at a reasonable price. It was nice to have a small laundrymat in the hotel (I packed purex three-in-one washer/dryer sheets that were compact and no worrying about liquid). We found it to be a fairly short walk to Disneyland. Price was very good and we would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend people booking to have their room, if possible in the same building as the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieAnn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear LaurieAnn70,

Thank you for sharing that your family enjoyed their recent stay with us. The bunk beds in our Kids Suites are always a big hit with our younger guests, as is our pool and hot tub area. We appreciate you mentioning your washer/dryer sheet tip with other travelers so that they may also take advantage of our convenient laundry mat. It was our pleasure to provide you with friendly and accommodating service. We hope to greet you again soon and exceed what you might expect on your next visit with us.

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very nice room. Very very comfortable beds. Short walk to Disneyland. My only complaint would be parking. Very rough lot and small spots.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TodLis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear TodLis5,

We are very happy that you had such a great stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful feedback. Our comfortable accommodations along with our prime location is second to none! We appreciate your ratings on our Anaheim hotel, as well as your comments on our parking area. We hope to welcome you back to enjoy another great experience with us soon.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

First let me summarize that this is a great place to stay while visiting Disneyland. Having said that, I am at a complete loss to explain the negative reviews posted for this property. Our group of three children and three adults stayed in a Kids Suite and double queen room for three nights starting March 19, 2012. Both accommodations were, crisp, fresh, clean, in good working order and as quiet as a place that caters to families with young children can be. The Kids Suite is just fine for one or two adults and up to three young to medium aged children. It would be pretty cramped for teenagers. It was clean and well laid out. There were plenty of towels and face cloths. Our double queen room was also very clean and fresh with plenty of linens and towels. We were very near an elevator and did hear some noise from the hallway in short bursts as parents returned to the hotel from Disneyland with exuberant children. The noise episodes lasted less than a minute while they got to their room. At a property like this, some noise must be expected. We had no problems with noise coming in through the wall from adjoining rooms.

The lobby, parking area and halls are all fresh and up to date. Parking is free, although they do levy a resort fee per night which is meant to cover parking, pool use and the WiFi. The location is excellent. A safe ten minute walk gets you inside Disneyland. A five minute walk gets you to several restaurants and convenience stores. We like it when we can park and not have to use the car again until we leave. You can certainly do that at Portofino. We highly recommend this hotel to people with younger children who are visiting Disneyland. It exceeded all our expectations. It is obviously well managed and the price is right.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank maranasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear maranasam,

Thank you very much for your outstanding review and ratings on our Anaheim hotel. We are thrilled to hear of your comfort and enjoyment in our Kids Suite and deluxe room. We appreciate all of your wonderful compliments on our accommodations, amenities, location and all that we have to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share some of the wonderful things about our hotel that make us stand out above the rest. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to California!

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Portofino Inn earlier this month. We are a family of 5, so the Kid's Suite was perfect for us. Plenty of towels in the bathroom, which was great, but one bar of soap between a tub and two sinks? That didn't make sense to me. The bathroom had no fan, so it would get very humid during a shower, which probably also contributed to the paint peeling on the the ceilings and wall.
The A/C was very noisy, so we ran it during the day. But by morning, the room was stuffy. We did open the window, but that just cooled off the kid's area.
Our first night there, an alarm clock went off at midnight somewhere in a room near us. We could hear every single word of the songs through our walls. We called the Front Desk twice, it took them 45 minutes to figure out which room it was. Calling the Front desk was an adventure in itself - there was no guide on the phone to tell us which button would connect us to the front desk. We were actually charged for making local calls on our bill when we checked out, and calling the Front Desk was the ONLY time we used the hotel's phone! Neither was there any guide in the hotel room to give us any info about the hotel or surrounding areas.
However, it was an OK stay, for what it is. You don't stay there to sit in your hotel room and enjoy the amenities. You stay there because you're spending time at Disneyland or at a convention. It was an easy walk to Disneyland, the convenience store was handy, and the pool was nice, always plenty of towels there.
The hotel certainly needs a facelift.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs - walls are terribly thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtch03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear rtch03,

We take your feedback very seriously and appreciate you bringing the details of your stay to our attention. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you mentioned in your review. Thank you for choosing to spend your 5 night Anaheim visit with us.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt House at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Property: Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Address: 1831 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#41 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing