We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews for this property. All I can say is I had a great experience and fealt I received more than my money's worth.

Room: clean and well maintained.
Service: spot on. Helpful and sourtiouse.
Location: you won't find much better without being on Disney property. Short walk to the gate.

Yes, the room was on the small side but it had a nice balcony. Suites are available for a small amount more. Two adult and two kids with two queen beds was not a problem.

I'm not sure what to make from some of the negative reviews. Make no mistake, this is an inn not a resort. If you want a wet bar, room service, buffet breakfast and a gym this is not the place. I would say the room quality was comparable to the Disneyland Hotel for less than 1/3 of the price. The walk to the main gates is comparable albeit your walking along Harbor Blvd and not downtown Disney. With two kids who want to be on a ride 10 minutes after the parks open and off the last ride 10 minutes after they close this was a perfect hotel.

Excellent value and a great experience. I will bring the family back.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend much time inthe room, pay a little more for a suite. Two TVs and doors to separ...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lce99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Lce99,

We are thrilled to receive your detailed review on your recent stay! Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed an excellent value and great experience with us. We are certain that all of your comments and tips will be appreciated by other travelers.. We want you as our loyal guest and look forward to delivering another memorable experience to you and your family on your next visit to Anaheim.

See you soon!
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,686)
There are newer reviews for Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in one of thier split rooms. There was a sleeping space and a sitting area (with fold out sofa bed) that are seperated with french doors. The room was clean and very nice. The only thing I would change would be to put some sort of room darkening curtains on the french doors. There was only a sheer curtian which defeated the purpose of having the seperate rooms. There was a little privacy when the doors were closed but not much. You can tell there was new carpeting and wallpaper and it all looked very nice. You can park here and walk to everything! No need to worry about parking at Disney. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: 5th floor was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Neil S,

You are 100% correct; while staying with us you certainly can walk to everything! Our Anaheim hotel is conveniently located to all of the local attractions, as well as restaurants and shops. We are very pleased to hear of your family's comfort and enjoyment. Thank you for your wonderful compliments on our accommodations, location, brand new carpeting and wallpaper. We have undergone many new improvements and appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and great suggestions. Come back to visit soon!

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The hotel was stinky like old chinese food. The spa was broken (if you could call it a spa) the wifi did not work either. I will not be staying in this hotel again. YUCK! My kids were super excited to go swimming and the pool was only as big as my bathtub, and took all the color out of the swimsuits it had so much clorine. I was excited to stay there because the pictures looked really nice. The smell was the worst thing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Carrie W,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay. We apologize that your experience with us was less than impressive. Please know that our brand new upgraded wifi system was installed a few weeks back and our guests have been extremely pleased with its speedy and efficient connectivity. Also, all of our guests are more than welcome to use the very large pool located next door at our sister property, Anaheim Jolly Roger Hotel. It is our hope that you and your family will return to enjoy an improved experience in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We returned from Anaheim today and had an excellent stay at the Portofino Inn & Suites. We stayed in a family suite, which was perfect for our two young children, my mother and my husband and me. We discovered on day 1 that it was crazy to park our rental car at the Disney parking lots because we could leave the car at the hotel and make the 10 minute walk to the main gates without any problem.

With 5 of us in the room, we really appreciated the fridge, as well as the double sinks. It made getting ready much easier in the morning.

Our room was clean - we did request top floor because of noise concerns, and it was just right for us.The staff was friendly and helpful and even worked out a special rate for us for an additional night's stay. No charge for parking and so close to the park.

Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Julianne R,

Thank you for making us a part of your visit to California! We are very excited to hear that you had an excellent experience at our Anaheim hotel and appreciate you sharing how much you and your family enjoyed our accommodations and location. Thank you for also mentioning the easy 10 minute walk from our property to Disney's main gates, complimentary parking for up to two vehicles and our friendly and helpful service. We hope to accommodate you and your family again on your next visit out from Washington.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at the Portofino Inn and Suites for several of our visits to Disneyland. We loved that the kid suite accomodated our larger (six people) family size and was within walking distance to the park. The king size beds were surprisingly comfortable, and the children were all well rested as well. The pool was well maintained as were the laundry facilities. The convenience of being able to grab Subway (across the street) on our way to the park was fantastic and kept our food costs low. We never had any issues with our reservations and always enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Disney6California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Dear Disney6California,

We truly are thrilled to be your Disneyland hotel preference! It's very exciting for our entire staff to receive your 5 star ratings and review on our Anaheim hotel. Thank you for sharing how comfortable your larger size family of 6 was in our Kids Suite. Our beds certainly are comfortable and it's great to hear the kids rested well too. We appreciate you mentioning that you always enjoy your stay with us and thank you for your continued patronage. We can't wait to see you again!

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Just got back from a stay at the Portofino Inn & Suites, Anaheim while attending the NAMM show. We stayed there 2 years ago, and we were not impressed, but this year we tried again, booking a 2 bedroom suite for our party of 5. The close proximity to the Convention Centre is great, but that's about all that is great. This property is run down, needs a total overhaul. The wallpaper is stained and splattered with who knows what, there are electrial outlets hanging out of the walls, and worst of all, absolutely NO INTERNET! It wasn't even available to purchase.
I find this totally unacceptable in this day and age. I gave up two king suites at the Holiday Inn Express, which was undergoing extensive renovations, but in hind sight, I wish I would have gone with my gut and stayed there. The extra $200 it would have cost for the 4 nights would have been well worth it, with free breakfast and internet.
This will be my last time staying at the Portofino. No more chances. I could go on and on about what ticked me off about this place, but I think my point is stated well enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjopba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Dear cjopba,

We appreciate you returning to stay with us and taking the time share your experience. Please accept our apologies for the sudden slow internet speed that occurred. We do, indeed, offer complimentary wifi in all of our rooms and common area. During your stay, we did experience a slow internet connection and immediately contacted our third party service provider. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions are taken seriously. If there is anything you would like to discuss further, please contact me directly at the hotel at your earliest convenience. I would appreciate the opportunity to personally apologize and express how much we appreciate your patronage. It would be our great pleasure to impress you and exceed all of your expectations during a future stay with us. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
MItch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in their two room suite. It had one room with a bathroom and king sized bed, a living area with a couch bed and then another room with two queen sized beds and an additional full bathroom. It was perfect for the 6 adults and 1 child that we had in the room. The couch bed was uncomfortable according to the adult that slept on it but I think that is with any couch bed. It was a little bit of a walk to the park. If you have little ones I would suggest purchasing ART bus tickets through the front desk for only a few dollars a day. Some of the areas in the hotel are a bit worn but overall it was a good fit for us since we wanted to all stay in one hotel room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherm222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear heatherm222,

We are happy that we had the perfect accommodations for the 6 adults and 1 child traveling in your group. Our suites are certainly the ideal choice for any size family seeking extra space and amenities for the whole family to enjoy. Thank you for mentioning the Anaheim Resort Transit (ART) shuttle that provides transportation for a nominal daily fee. Although, we are located so close to Disneyland, we do understand how it might be a great option when traveling with little ones. Thank you for your review. We hope that you and your family plan to stay with us on your next visit to Anaheim.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Address: 1831 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#41 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £95 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing