We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was in poor working order”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
1 review
“The room was in poor working order”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The room was clean but outlets did not work, hair dryer did not work. Parking was very difficult to get in and out with a family van. There should be a free shuttle service. Not the best value for the price

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidtraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Kidtraveler2014-

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our clean and spacious guest room. We will continue to monitor the outlet gfci reset button by the blow dryer to ensure it is in the "on" position.

We look forward to having you stay with us again, so that we can have another chance to provide you superior service.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    651
    310
    132
    83
See reviews for
1,130
89
23
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This place is not bad. I booked the room on hotwire.com and the total came out to 93 dollars , plus a $40 deposit . The room was not bad and even had a balcony. Was visiting disneyland so it worked out great as far as location. And compared to other hotels in the area and the quality of this hotel; the price is not bad. P.S. The old school game room in the first floor can keep you or your kids busy for a little bit. Nothing fancy just a few old arcade type games

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Anthony M-

Thank you so very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is great hearing that you enjoyed our Deluxe Guest room with the balcony and that our game room kept the kids entertained in between the Disneyland park visits.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you and your family visit the Disneyland Resort.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Not to bad overall good place to sleep and go nothing to fancy. Needs some upgrades and cleaning a little better of bathroom we stayed for 8 days and would of liked to be able to have tub scrubbed up. Overall staff was nice and good location we would go back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsjammm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Dsjammm6-

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us in regards to your stay at the Portofino Inn & Suites. And Thank you for allowing us to be your host hotel during your week long visit to Anaheim.
At Portofino Inn, We are constantly adding updated items to our hotel to provide our guests a nice relaxing experience. We have recently installed new TV’s, New Bedding , and carpets. Also, we just remodeled our pool area in May 2014.

Our Front Desk is staffed 24 hours a day. We have a large Gift shop/Market open from
8am-10pm Daily. We have a Pool/Spa open daily from 7am-10pm. We have a fitness room on-site that is open daily from 6am-10pm. We have a Business Center Kiosk that is available to all guests 24 hours a day. Lastly, We have a Video Game Room/Guest Laundry room available to our guests from 6am-11pm daily.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to
provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Marriott is building a new hotel right next door. The HUGE metal plates in the street made a LOUD noise all night long! I would have given an overall higher rating if there would not have been the construction. According to the sign it will be done in Fall 2014. Also if your room faces the street there is a lot of traffic noise.

Room Tip: walls needed some TLC
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear M B-

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us about your stay at the Anaheim Portofino Inn & Suites Hotel. We thank you for all of your kind rating in regards to our Staff Guest service and our affordability. As you mentioned, the Marriott being built on the corner will be completing construction in the very near future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you superior service.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. Would repeat. Simply one block away from Disneyland/California Adventure entrance. Great staff. Buy Disney park tickets at hotel lobby and get old entrance fee price while supplies last. Kid suites rooms are roomy and cool with bunkbeds and there own tv. But suggest to stay on top floor to avoid upstair walking noise and avoid staying in tower on the right due to constuction next door. You get one car free parking at hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Ruth A M-

Thank you so very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We love hearing that you had a fun stay and that our spacious Family Suite with the bunk beds worked great for the family.
It is nice to hear you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the Disney Resorts Main gate entrance and that you were able to skip the lines at the Disney Ticket booths and purchase your tickets directly from our hotel staff.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Anaheim Area.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at the Portofino Inn and I was impressed. The room was clean and comfortable. I would have liked to have had a mini-fridge, but that was the only inconvenience. The front desk staff was especially helpful, even getting us a driver to take us to Angels Stadium. It is one of the more reasonable hotels in the area and I will come here again when I'm back in town. Thank you!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dkraucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear dkraucher-

We are thrilled to hear from another guest who had a great stay at the lovely Anaheim Portofino Inn & Suites Hotel. We thank you for all of your kind comments about our staff and the great service that they provided you. We are glad to hear that our close proximity to Angels Stadium and that we were able to get you to the park for the opening pitch.

All of our Suites have Microwaves and mini-fridges and we do have some additil. fridges that can be delivered to your guest room. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are back in town.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in the kids suite and the room was perfect for families. The main room has a king bed and still had enough space to easily park our stroller in without having to break it down. The bed was very comfortable, and the bedding was all white which I like because you can easily tell if it's not clean. The kids room had bunk beds plus a pull out sofa. Perfect for our three kids to all have their own space. The bathroom was in the main room, and the cleaning staff was great at leaving plenty of towels for our family of five. There were two separate sinks for added convenience. One inside the bathroom and one just outside. This was helpful for everyone to be able to get ready. The only bad part was that you couldn't open the bathroom door if someone was standing in front of the outside sink.

Attached to the secondary tower where our room was was a gift shop where you can get souvenirs for much cheaper than at Disney. And just a few yards away and across the street is a 7-11 where you can either grab some water/drinks on your way to Disney, or grab a snack on your way back. We also noticed that they are building a CVS on the bottom floor of the Marriott they are building next to the Portofino. Eventually they will both be on the way of the approximately 15 minute walk to Disney.

There were just a few small negatives/complaints to staying at the Portofino. The first is that I believe they should have had another trash can. They had one in the main bedroom, one in the kids room, and one under the sink outside the bathroom, but not one inside the bathroom. Which every woman knows is a must! This wasn't that big of a deal though since we just took the trash from the main room and put it in the bathroom. I also wish they served breakfast, but their pricing is low enough to compensate. We just brought our own breakfast foods and fixed it ourselves. Also, there was very little covered parking available. So that led to people continually parking illegally in the red zones. We were lucky enough to arrive at a time that we were able to get a great covered parking spot, but the illegally parked vehicles were a concern in the event of an emergency.

All in all, the Portofino was a great place to stay for families visiting Disney who want a nice room at a decent price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Linda B-

We are thrilled to hear from another guest who enjoyed their stay at the lovely Anaheim Portofino Inn & Suites Hotel. We thank you for all of your kind comments about our Housekeeping staff and the great service that they provided you. We are glad to hear that our close proximity to restaurants, 7-11, and Main gate Disneyland matched your needs. Thank you for your suggestion about the additional wastebasket. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt House at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Property: Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Address: 1831 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#41 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing