We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable but wouldn't stay again”
Review of Anaheim Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anaheim Marriott
Ranked #30 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Here is how I rate my reviews:
1 or 2 means something really bad happened.
3 means nothing terrible happened, but there were a number of things not up to par and I wouldn't stay there again.
4 implies I would be willing to stay there again because the experience was overall positive.
5 suggests an amazing location with essentially no flaws.

These rooms were small. The furniture was adequate. The pool was adequate, but not at all special. The service was adequate. I had to stay here because I was part of a convention, and I expected it to be crowded. The Starbucks line was actually handled quite well, considering the crowds. The pool was too small for the number of people here, though, and located with very little sun. The hotel everywhere felt average, not at all luxurious.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRLMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,582 - 1,588 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Me and my daughter stayed at the Marriot for just three nights for a business trip. We were hardly at the hotel but whole we were there we had a good expirence. All of the staff were very helpful and nice and cleaned our room every night, my daughter left stuffed animals on the bed and the housekeeping staff arranged them in a very cute way, which she loved! It would be very convinent if you were planning on going to Disney. The area and pool were both nice and we would love to come back! The only downside is breakfast if you have a large family it can get quite expensive! We ate a Starbucks two mornings and had the buffet breakfast once(which was quite xpensive for what you get).

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
Thank Beachlover2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I brought my daughter and a friend to a conference at the Anaheim convention Center. I have been looking forward to quiet days spent lounging at the pool, which I had done when the conference was held at a different hotel.

Was I surprised to see the pandemonium in the hotel lobby when I arrived. Not only was the Marriott hosting the Vidcon convention, there was the National American Miss beauty pageant and a huge dance competition being held here at the hotel. The entire main floor was flooded with people congregating for their various events.

I went to our room and changed to go to the pool. When I got there I realized there were no available chairs, and the small pool was full of splashing kids. I asked an employee if there was any outdoor quiet space to read and he replied that there was not.

The lobby was full and the line at Starbucks was unbelievable. I ended up buying a drink in the bar just to find some relative quiet. I then spent many hours in my room, as there was nowhere inviting to go. I spent the next day escaping the hotel, as there is plenty of nearby dining and shopping.

I know that the Marriott must be quieter during the week. However, if I were to stay at a quieter time, I still would be disappointed with the lack of access to the outdoors. Many rooms have balconies. Mine did not, so I felt like a shut-in for much of the weekend.
Though I have been a loyal customer with Marriott, I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaelsne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I "won" a 2 night stay at this hotel in an auction at my daughter's school. We usually stay at another hotel in Anaheim, but I thought the Marriott would be a nice change of pace, maybe a different level of hotel since we usually stay in a more discounted hotel. When I called to set up the reservation, the woman, I was directed to, Ann , was VERY kind and helpful. She asked me how many people would be staying. I expected that I would be told that 5 would be too many for one room. Instead, said, "Well, why don't I just give you 2 connecting rooms for those nights?!" I was so surprised. Not only was the Marriott so kind in donating those 2 nights to my daugther's school, but she was actually upgrading me to 2 rooms!!
When we arrived, the lobby was very large and inviting. It seems to be a business/convention type hotel, especially since it is located so close to the Anaheim Convention Center, but there were plenty of families around as well. We got to our connecting rooms, and as I requested, we were in handicapped accessible rooms. My parent's room had a king bed and lots of room. There was a microwave and fridge in the room, flat screen television, a sitting area, and a large bathroom. In addition to a seat in the shower, it was a walk in, where you did not have to step in for the shower, making it very easy to get in. My parents LOVED their room.

Our connecting room was very nice as well....2 double beds, fridge, and though the bathroom was smaller, it had everything necessary. There were balconies that overlooked the pool area, which was a nice feature.

We were not at the hotel much because we were at Disneyland, but my parents were, and they really enjoyed the room, the hotel. My kids and I went down to the hotel pool and hot tub one of our 2 nights, and though the pool was cool (It was late), my kids found it very easy to get used to the water. I stayed in the hot tub, which was kept at a good temperature.

The business room was available for internet use, but there was a charge for internet time and for printing. This was different from the Marriott we stayed at in Coronado, where the business center allowed free internet usage and free printing. The Anaheim Marriott would allow boarding pass printing at the front desk, but anything beyond that, there was a charge.

This hotel was very nice, spacious, had a great location and very kind staff. No complaints about this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twcsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a convention - my second time in four years. It has been a wonderfully pleasant experience each time. The staff members are very friendly and helpful, the bellman are wonderful, the food is pretty good, and the housekeeping staff is great. The property has an on-site Starbucks and Marketplace with a variety of offerings and an equal pleasant crew.

This hotel is adjacent/connected to the Anaheim Convention Center and across the street from a Hilton property, which makes it ideal for large scale business meetings. The AV staff is top notch and the meetings rooms are optimal for several hundred people to feel comfortable. The property is very well lit and I felt safe as a single female business traveler in the hotel.

But, because this hotel is so close to Disneyland, there will be scores of children/families running around - particularly in the summer months. This means a wait for elevators and restaurants seating, so you'll have to budget your time accordingly.

There are only a few setbacks to this property. Its distance from all other eating establishments makes it challenging to grab a bite to eat between meetings so pack snacks if you have a long business day. Their Marriott Elite members' lounge is not open on the weekends.

Also the housekeeping staff came to my room rather early (before 9am in some instants). I felt the housekeeping schedule didn't give me enough time to get breakfast, workout, shower, and dressed for my full day of meetings. And although I made a joke about it with the front desk staff (who left messages requesting a time when the room could be serviced), I was rather surprised that the housekeeping schedule was so early. The flip side to this is that the room cleaning is very detailed - among the best I have experienced at a Marriott property.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as it is my "go to" location when visiting Anaheim.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lexielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

During our recent trip to Disneyland, we stayed on the concierge level both at the Marriott in Anaheim and at Disney's Paradise Pier, and it was interesting to compare the two.

Staff - All the Marriott staff were far and away more friendly, professional, and helpful than the Disney staff. In particular, the concierge at the Marriott was extremely helpful at locating an alternate route for us back up to the Bay Area so we could avoid areas of I-5 that are tied up in traffic snarls due to construction.

Room Comfort -- The beds in both hotels were very comfortable, but the Disney bed was the most comfortable, the bathroom was more spacious and the furnishings seemed more updated.

Internet Service/Parking -- Internet service was included at Disney, and parking was $15 a day compared to $24 a day at the Marriott. However, the overall daily rate of Paradise Pier was much higher than that of the Marriott.

Accessibility to Disneyland -- From Paradise Pier you can walk across the street and cut through the Disney Grand Californian to get to get private Disney resort guest entrance into California Adventure. However, around park opening, which is when we always went, that entrance gets so backed up with other resort guests using this entrance that it's better to walk all the way around through Downtown Disney to get into the park. It's only about a 10 minute walk, though.

From the Marriott, you can just catch the ART shuttle outside the Marriott. If you miss the Marriott Shuttle, there's also a Hilton Shuttle that was picking up close or at the Marriott shuttle stop due to construction currently underway. We always go to the parks early, before they open, and then come back during the afternoon to swim and rest before heading out again. We got 3 day shuttle passes for $10.00 a person. For us, the shuttle system was dependable and convenient, and the only time we weren't able to get a seat was one night when we stayed until park closing. Actually, it reminded me of using the Disney bus system from the resorts to the parks at DisneyWorld in Florida.

Pools - Well, of course my daughter preferred the Paradise Pier pool facilities. There is a long roller coaster waterslide alongside the pool. The Paradise Pier pool itself is not so special, but it does have a deep end -- the pool at the Marriott does not get any deeper than four feet all the way around. However, parents with children that are not strong swimmers might see this as a good thing. The Marriott pool area did look pleasant with both indoor and outside areas.

Concierge Lounge -- The Paradise Pier lounge is open from 6:30 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. The Marriott lounge is open from 6:30 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. for breakfast, and then again from 5:00 p.m. until 10:00 p.m. However, this lounge is only open from Sunday - Thursday. The Marriott offers a full hot breakfast, with eggs, potatos, bacon or sausage, as well as the usual continental breakfast offerings -- bagels, pastries, toast, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. Paradise Pier only offered continental breakfast, but the overall quality of everything they offered was quite fresh and good. For people like us who get to the park prior to the 7:00 a.m. early entry hours, it was a time saver, enabling us to get a quick cup of coffee and a muffin and fruit before getting on our way.

During the day, the Paradise Pier lounge offers a fruit bowl and some junk food -- cookies, snack mix, potato chips, as well as sodas and juices. During the evening, the Marriott has one hot appetizer (salmon and spinach on the one evening we went), a small plate of cheese cubes, a plate of water crackers, and a vegetable tray and possibly some tortilla chips. Sodas and juices are complimentary and alcohol is available for purchase. Paradise Pier offered one hot appetizer (spring rolls) an elaborate assortment of good cheese, an assortment of crackers and sliced French bread, vegetables and dip, chocolate dipped strawberries and ornate little tarts. They also offered complimentary beer and wine. The Marriott spread appeared meager by comparison, but then, access to the concierge lounge is free if you're a Marriott elite member. The Paradise Pier concierge lounge carries a $125 daily surcharge, and although it's nice you could save a lot of money by stocking up on your own cookies and muffins and sodas.

We enjoyed our stay at both hotels, and would return to both of them again. It was actually a nice mix, because although we enjoyed the facilities and comforts of the Paradise Pier hotel slightly more, it was a great relief to not have to depend on the Paradise Pier staff for the type of extra assistance we were able to get at the Marriott. Really, the concierge at the Marriott saved us hours of just sitting in traffic on I-5 -- not only did she look up the latest traffic updates, but she printed out directions. for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from which you can view the fireworks at Disneyland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank labeckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

located with in walking distance if Disney Land. The hotel itself was clean and modern. I was here for a business trip but was able to book a rate that included a $50 Disney gift card for each night of stay. Ate at the hotel bar and ordered room service with no complaints. Would recommend this hotel for business and vacation goers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimber_jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#6 of 119 in Anaheim
1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anaheim Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Marriott

Address: 700 W Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802-3483
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £114 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anaheim Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 1033
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anaheim Marriott combines highly-appointed accommodations and superior service to rank among the best hotels in Anaheim. An ideal choice for a family trip, discover dream vacations made easy from one of the top hotels near Downtown Disney. Anaheim guest rooms and suites feature contemporary decor and upscale amenities. Unique among Anaheim hotels, experience nFuse, a stylish bar and restaurant offering fresh California cuisine, handcrafted cocktails, and an impressive wine list. For a quick lunch or snack, visit our on-site Marketplace or Starbucks. After a day of sightseeing or meetings, enjoy a workout in our state-of-the-art fitness center, soak up the sun at our resort-style pool, enjoy a snack on our dining deck or cozy up by the fire pit. Plan seamless business trips to our hotel near the Anaheim Convention Center. With over 100,000 square feet of event space, our hotel in Anaheim is perfect for conferences, weddings and banquets. Enjoy an unforgettable Southern California stay at Anaheim Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Anaheim Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Anaheim Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Marriott California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing