We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Convenient at a Cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfort and Convenient at a Cost”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed at the Paradise Pier Hotel in mid-June for two nights with my wife and our little girl. I did my reservation through Disney Travel co. directly and reserved a "Park View Room". The room rate was not cheap, but the location was quite worth the extra $$.

Once we stepped into the lobby, we can definitely tell the design is an older hotel. The lobby decor is less magical than the Disneyland Hotel but it is very clean and refreshing.

Since we arrived early, our room was not ready when we checked in. No problem! We were going to spend the day in the parks anyway. The receptionist gave us our room key told us we will receive a text msg when our room is ready. What a nice feature!

When we returned from the parks and entered into our room, what a nice surprise. The staff actually assigned us a corner room which is more spacious than other standard room. There was so much space that our little girl crawling around non-stop. We also found we received three Mickey Mouse shaped rice crispy. What a nice touch.

The bed and pillows in Paradise Pier was as comfy as the ones in Disneyland Hotel (we stayed there in Feb 2011). The room was very clean and the bathroom was spacious. However, be warned that the shower flow is relatively weak.

Even though Paradise Pier hotel is not directly connected to the California Adventure Park, it only takes 5 - 10 mins to cross a major road and then cut through the Grand Californian Hotel to access the park. You can also do the same to access the Downtown Disney.

The hotel restaurant PCH Grill serves decent food at reasonable price. We ate there once for the character breakfast and once for dinner. The character breakfast was more expensive than other Disney restaurants but I think this is the only place you can meet Mickey Mouse outside the Disney Park. If you don't care much about meeting Mickey, it's better off to enjoy the character brekkie at the Storytellers Cafe in Grand Californian. Their brekkie is cheaper and the food is better as well.

Couple of deficiencies at the Paradise Pier Hotel:
1) If you are going to self-park, unload all your luggage before you park as their five-level garage does not have elevator.
2) During check-out time in the morning, it is really hard to get into the hotel elevators. If you are staying at lower level, good luck!

Finally, is it worth the extra for the "Park View Room"? I would say yes. Our room was on the 11th floor and the park view was spectacular. Was it a great place watching the "World of Color"? Not really, you better to watch the show in the show.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    885
    383
    126
    73
See reviews for
1,484
257
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

WOW.....my family and I just got back from our Disneyland vacation and I must say, it was wonderful!! We purchased our vacation package through Costco Travel.....saved us 25% off the vacation price. Well worth it!! We LOVED staying on property. The Paradise Pier hotel was great.....roomy and clean. The map can be a bit confusing though. We thought we would have direct access to the park, but we didn't. We had to walk to the Disney Grand hotel to get to the parks. If you have a little extra money, I would HIGHLY recommend staying there instead.....5 minutes closer. I know it's not much, but when you're already exhausted from the day at the park, you want to get home as soon as you can. Staying at the property came with many perks....the MOST important one.....we were able to walk back to the hotel during the hottest time of the day to just relax at the pool. My boys LOVED the pool and the water slide. Afterwards, we were able to eat dinner, shower up, and head back to the park for the night time stuff. The weather was MUCH cooler, but it was still VERY crowded. I would HIGHLY recommend the fireworks show. At first, we weren't going to stick around for it, but it was something I will never forget......AMAZING!! Even my husband was speechless!!! Overall, we LOVED the hotel. Please let me know if I can be of any more help!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on part of our honeymoon trip and were extremely happy with the service provided and location of the hotel. It was only a short walk over the road and through downtown disney to get the parks which made things extremely convenient.

The room was clean and the staff made a nice fuss over it being our honeymoon with a room upgrade and disney items given to us.

Room Tip: Room was clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthSmarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a west coast tour. It is all you would expect from a Disney outlet; well organised, tidy room and slightly pricey. The hotel is not too big and has a roof top swimming pool which is quite cool along with a 100ft+ tube/slide - the kids loved this. Parking is at the hotel at $15 per day. From the hotel it is a 3-5 minute walk to the park gates and as a hotel guest you get to sneak in a little earlier that other visitors which makes for 4-5 hassle-free rides. Tip - if it is your first time make sure you tell them as you great a pile of goodies! Whilst you pay a premium for the Disney name it is a well located hotel that served us well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RooActon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We've stayed at all three hotels and still prefer Paradise Pier because:
- The rooms are bright and spacious.
- The location is great (special entrance for California Adventure and not too far from Disneyland).
- The price. We got a concierge level, theme park room and it was still much cheaper than Grand Californian standard rooms. And the view was so amazing compared to the ugly monorail views you might get at Grand Californian.

Here are some tips:
> If you have a family of 4 or more, the concierge is totally worth it. Think about how much you would end up spending for just breakfast and all the water bottles at the park.
> If you do get a concierge room, you can also borrow two DVDs every day and they have a huge collection of DVDs. It's great for late at night before the kids go to bed.
> They told us the early entrance for California Adventure opens half an hour early but it actually opens an hour early (at least till 9/5). However, for the first 30 minutes, the Little Mermaid ride and Soaring are the only ones open.
> Right now, there's the promotion that gives you two fast passes that you can use at anytime. We used one of ours for Soaring which was a mistake because you can go to Soaring during early entrance anyway. So save your special fast pass for other rides like Star Tours.
> For the early entrance for California Adventure, try to get there 20 minutes earlier to get in the line because shortly before they open the entrance, they go through the line and hand out a limited number of fast passes for World of Color.
> When we stayed there, the slide at the pool was close which was a disappointment. You might want to call them in advance to make sure it's open if that's important to you in choosing a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mona100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We booked a last-minute trip to Disneyland with our family, and unfortunately the Paradise Pier was the only option left of the 3 Disney properties. It's not that the hotel is bad, it was just worn and tired. It was cool for our 5 year old that they had a pool and water slide onsite, but the place was packed and the space available seemed inadequate the number people allowed in and near the pool. It felt like we were at a public pool as opposed to a "resort." It was like rubbing salt in the wound to walk through the brand-new and beautiful Grand Californian on the way to the park each day (it was recommended to us by the staff that we cut through the GC from the PP). To be fair, the GC is a step up in price, but were we to go again, I would spring for the upgrade - for a newer, more spacious, nicer place and to be right next door to the park.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWCRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was our second stay at the Paradise Pier, and I have enjoyed our stay both times. We usually stay in a good neighbor hotel walking distance to the park, but sometimes the bonuses that come with staying at a Disney resort are too tempting. This was certainly the case with our recent trip that coincided with the July 4th holiday. The special deal that included bonus fastpasses and early entry made it well worth a little extra cost over staying in a standard motel. And while it is the least "luxurious" of the 3 Disneyland resorts, it is also the least expensive, and still offers plenty of Disney magic.
We had excellent service at the check-in desk, and were upgraded to a park view room. We got to our room just as the first "World of Color" was beginning, and since there is a special channel on the TV with the sound track to WOC and the fireworks, it was fun to watch from above. (Still nothing like seeing it in person- same with the fireworks!) We also learned that the 3rd floor deck where the pool is located is a popular spot to watch the fireworks (many folks did that on the 4th of July) and the music is piped there, too.
The rooms were nicely furnished and decorated in a seaside, beach vacation theme. There are nice touches that you expect in a Disney hotel: a small movie viewing room for the kids, an arcade room, a gift shop and a restaurant. The pool was a nice size, with a water slide, kiddie pool, jacuzzi and a small bar/cafe, including poolside service. It certainly isn't the kind of large themed pool you get at the Disneyland Hotel, but it was a lovely place to relax in the afternoon.
It's a bit of a walk to the park, but the fastest route is through the Grand Californian, which is a joy to walk through. That is also where you get to have your special entry to the California Adventure park.
I would certainly stay there again. It is not what I would call a "destination hotel" like the Grand Californian, but it is a lovely place to stay, with excellent service and comfortable surroundings.

Room Tip: Be sure to check if you can upgrade to a park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
2,817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Property: Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2308
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing