We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap"er" Disney Hotel, needs an reno.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Ranked #39 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheap"er" Disney Hotel, needs an reno.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We Stayed at this hotel in November of 2013. We arrived at the Paradise Pier Hotel at 3:00pm. We have Stayed at this Hotel a couple of times before, but we have mostly stayed at the Disneyland Hotel or Disney's Grand California Hotel. When We arrived you could tell that nothing new has been done since the lobby is the same from the last time we were here (2007/2008)
We got our room right away and went straight to our room after out flight and all the traffic coming from LAX. We did not immediately look to make sure that everything was good. When we came back from the Parks late at night, I opened up my covers to find Black hairs all over the sheets along with marks of something?
With it being now about 12:30am I slept in it any ways.
One of the people that I travelled with went down to the Front desk in the morning and asked for the manager. I was not there when this happened. When he returned he came back with a coupon for a Fastpass for a ride of our choice and A new room when we came back that night from the parks.
Upon returning from the Parks we got our new keys and got a new room with "Park View"
That was really nice.
Overall I would stay here again, the value is average but is the Best out of all the Disney properties. Disney should maybe invest in Renovating this Hotel.

Room Tip: If you've got the extra cash, when booking pay the extra for the Park view. California Adventure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenden E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    863
    370
    122
    71
See reviews for
1,438
250
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed here Thanksgiving weekend with my husband and son. Our room was recently upgraded, very clean and everything in good working order. Our room was considered a "city view" but we had a nice view of Paradise Pier at California Adventure. We watched the World of Color from our room one evening. It's a short walk to Downtown Disney to catch the Monorail or to Grand Californian Hotel to enter California Adventure. Staff is very nice. The lobby was decorated for Christmas with a beautiful tree and Santa Claus was there in the mornings too. The character breakfast was cure with a beach theme. We have stayed at both the Disneyland Hotel and the Grand Californian before and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice our stay was at the Paradise Pier considering the difference in price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of World of Color and/or the Fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StephM724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a short Disneyland stay the weekend before Thanksgiving -- we knew the parks would be packed (touring plans crowd calculator gave it 9 out of 10 for crowds) so we wanted to stay on site to have the extra magic hour.

This hotel is the cheapest of the 3 Disney properties. It is well located across the street from Downtown Disney and the Grand Californian. You have to walk through the Grand California to get to the park. We did not find this to be a big problem!

Overall it was a nice hotel. We paid extra for the premium view. We could see fireworks and the World of Color. The room was nice and rather large in comparison to the Value resorts we had stayed at at Disney World. Everything was well maintained -- and clean.

The pool was heated (which was essential since the high temperature was 72 and the kiddos wanted to swim.) There was a hot tub and a waterslide.

Overall this was a fine hotel. It is not as nice as Grand California -- but we paid quite a bit less!

Room Tip: Pay for the premium room on a high floor so you can see into the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNelson486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
208 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

If you want to stay near the Disney parks and have the special "early morning" access to the parks, you are going to have to stay in a Disney owned hotel. The Paradise Pier is a nice enough place to sleep, but nothing special. All the staff is "Disney friendly" which is a plus. The good news is that you are close and get the park benefits. The bad is that you are across a street and have to walk through the much nicer Grand Californian to get to the park so are constantly reminded that you are "second class".

Room Tip: Even number on a higher floor and you can watch the fire works from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at Paradise Pier over Veteran's Day weekend 2013. The hotel is Disney clean, you can tell it has been updated. Ask the hotel for a view facing California Adventure - it is amazing to see, especially at night. You can watch the World of Color and listen to the audio on TV. The pool in November was not especially warm, the hot tub was nice except when crowded with kids (try not to be a germaphobe and you'll enjoy). My 5 and 7 year olds loved the waterslide. The attendant at the top of the slide was so amicable - chatted the kids up while they waited in line. The vending machines at the hotel are ridiculously overpriced... there's mini-fridges in each room so bring your own drinks. Now, the real reason why you want to stay here is that it is within walking distance to Downtown Disney and the parks and if you stay at a Disney hotel, you get to enter the parks an hour earlier than the public opening time (Extra Magic Hour!) Of course, not all of Disney is open at that time but we had little or no wait on the rides we went on for a whole hour! So while there are less expensive hotels close to Disney, the Extra Magic Hour and not having to drive and park make it worth the stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thejoyciecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here in November and were happy with the stay. We enjoyed the extra hour of park time, the short walk to both parks, and the view. We had a perfect view of California adventure from our room which looked spectacular at night. We also enjoyed watching the disneyland fireworks from the balcony at the end of our hallway. The rooms are clean, beach themed and could sleep five comfortably. There is also a small fridge in the room. It's by no means a 'luxury' property, but a good choice if what you're looking for is convenience at a lower price than the other two disney properties. My only complaints are small- they did not have any bottled water in the room - free or for sale, and it would be nice to have a starbucks or coffee stand in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubadoob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I love Disneyland Resorts and the Paradise Pier is the last one on my list to try out. We stayed for one night November 23rd and loved it. I arrived early to the hotel and they were happy to give me my room right away. With the self parking fee of only $15/night, I went ahead and parked myself. I handed them my credit card and ID, then we proceeded to the room on the 10th floor.

I don't go to Disneyland for the view unless I'm staying more than three nights. We were given a city view room, which meant it overlooked the roof pool area and Simba parking. The room was spacious and was a 2 double bed with a sofa bed, TV, desk, fridge, safe, and of course, closet and restroom. For 4 to 6 people, it would be crowded, but everyone could sleep comfortably in one room. For my husband and I, it was great.

The pro's of the room:
-Clean
-Roomy
-Safe and fridge
-Coffee and shower items provided
-comfy beds

Cons:
-wallpaper peeling issues
-We didn't realize that the window was open when we came in
-Thin walls

We loved the stay overall, though. As we walked down the hall to the elevators, we could hear everything anyone was doing as we passed their door. Still, it was a great stay for Disneyland and a short walk through the Grand Californian to get the parks. Downtown Disney was just a walk away, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level floor if you prefer views. Make sure you request the park view if you want i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karidaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Property: Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2308
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing