We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Ranked #40 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

I went with a friend and her two teenaged children for one night on February 12th. The pool is heated and nice. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. They are basic hotel rooms, nothing special, but perfectly good with a few cute Disney touches. We paid the pass holder discount rate of $139/night. The hotel itself is not worth more than that, but the location is.

It's a quick walk (cut through the Grand Californian) to Disneyland. This hotel seems to be closer to the parks than the Disneyland Hotel, but I didn't test that out.

We ate dinner one night in the hotel restaurant and the food was good. I got coffee and cereal in the morning at the coffee bar.

One negative was that the room was warm the entire time. I could not set the air low enough. I forgot to tell the desk when we checked out.

The only other drawback was that we had requested adjoining rooms and they couldn't accommodate us. I was surprised, but didn't push the issue. They put us on the same floor, but at opposite ends of the floor. Had we been staying for longer, I would have pressed the issue. It makes a big difference to be near your party.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Close to Disneyland
  • Disliked — Warm, stuffy room
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EthelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    862
    370
    122
    71
See reviews for
1,437
250
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer Alberta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

We booked our trip to Disneyland staying at Paradise Pier hotel, from January 31 - February 8th 2009, directly through Disneyland.com.

There is no doubt that there is not a lot of "value" associated with staying at ANY Disney resort. You are paying for one thing only - and that's being close to the park. The paradise pier is a short walk to the monorail, downtown disney, and california adventure. You could stay at a much nicer spot, off property, for much less money. That said, there is something special about being so close the park and having the Disney service around you. Contrary to some reviews, I found the service to be quite good at the hotel. I was always greeted, smiled at, and everyone seemed quite nice. Because we were celebrating our engagement and I had let them know before hand (I highly recommend calling the hotel directly to request a king bed if you are travelling as a couple without kids), they had upgraded our room to a concierge room, and had left rose petals on the bed. Our housekeeper kept putting a fresh rose in the vase on our counter each day - which was a really nice touch. Shortly after check in, someone came up with some Disney Mickey themed rice krispie treats, which was also really nice.

This was my second stay at Paradise Pier, and I did see a lot of improvement from the service side of things. I would compare the rooms and common areas to a standard 3 star chain hotel, like a Holiday Inn. Nothing special, but very clean, with a bit of Disney Theme to it. I felt that the rooms could be updated a bit, as I noticed a bit of wallpaper peeling away and the pipes drained slowly in the sink. I'm not the type of person to make a big deal of this, and notified them on check out so that they could take care of it for the next guest.

The park itself is in disarray. I think Walt really would turn over in his grave... it's just not as clean and well kept as it used to be. Gum all over the place stuck to the ceilings of rides, all over the ground, spit on the mirrors in some of the rides (space mountain, Alice in Wonderland)... but I guess you can't always clean up after the ingrates! But... we had an amazing time, everyone was friendly, staying at the hotel was great - and I would definitely recommend it if you want to be close to the park, just keep in mind that you are paying to be close, and that's it.

Just a tip as well... we travelled with some family staying offsite, and they were paying to park at the Disney Parkade each day (12 bucks a day) - but if you go to the front desk at Paradise Pier and tell them you are renting a second vehicle, they'll give you another parking pass free of charge which saved my family some cash, and saved them from having to ride the people mover to the park.

Also, if you want to save money on eats, avoid the hotel restaurants. Rainforest Cafe is good (coconut shrimp are fantastic) and reasonably priced. If you want good Sushi, avoid the place in the hotel (it's good, but expensive) and head over to "the Block @ Orange" it's a big outdoor mall with a great sushi place that's quite reasonable. Front desk will have directions. Enjoy your trip, it's a great place to be!

  • Liked — The proximity to the park, the service.
  • Disliked — It's dated, and could use a little more
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tehsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara county
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

We stayed at the paradise pier for a weekend away with the kids. The rooms are very clean. The hotel offers a lot for kids of all ages to do. Great hotel!!!

  • Liked — The pool, arcade and movie area for the kids
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank el2926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2009

We spent 5 nights in this hotel. We arrived a bit jet lagged after 30 hours of travel to get there for four of us, and twenty hours for one of us, so were pleased to get in and freshen up. Check-in was straightforward and friendly.
The pool area was great, and the bar served fantastic cocktails.
Downtown Disney was so easily accessible, when we go back to Disneyland we will definitely stay on the grounds again.
We had four adults and a child sharing one room. It was a little cramped, but very liveable in the short term, and it made staying here a very affordable option.
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here and I'm VERY happy to recommend it. Oh, and the glass elevator is fabulous!

  • Liked — Location, location, location!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissarosenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

Wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel - but can't not speak highly enough about the service, cleanliness and location to everything.

Room was immaculate - breakfast buffet was great. Great chance to get pictures with the Minnie, Lilo and Stich etc without the lines at Disneyland.

This trip was worth every cent and the Paradise Pier certainly a hotel I would recommend to anyone travelling to do the Disneyland experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lotsofquestions01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

We stayed here twice and received a free upgrade both times. The hotel is very nice and the views are beautiful. We had a pool view once, and a park view. both were nice, but prefer park view. It's the farthest hotel on property to walk to, but at least its still on property.

  • Liked — on Disney property and close to Disneyland
  • Disliked — a little expensive
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crystal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

Booked a Disneyland package-Paradise Pier Hotel with Concierge Service plus package extras. Just the wife and I.
Of the 3 on the grounds hotels, this was the least visibly populated (Great!). Convenient to get to Disneyland and California Adventures and easy to get back to hotel for rest and then back out.
Accomodations were above average. Wife loved the mouse eared toiletries.
Concierge service is well worth the extra money. Someone always there, contiental breakfast, snacks throughout the day, wine/beer with hors d'ovres after 5:00 pm. Also, had an internet PC. Concierge helped get us a dinner reservation when phone service said no reservations available.
Had room service breakfast our last day and was about the same cost as the character viewing buffet breakfast.
I would strongly recommend to all a package deal with a stay on the grounds.

  • Liked — Convenience to Disneyland
  • Disliked — Small hot tub
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cactuspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Property: Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2308
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing