We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Ranked #43 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed here for two of our 5 nights at Disneyland. We booked via a special we recieved online and we upgraded to the concierge level and resort view. All in all, we loved this hotel. We have stayed on site at the Grand Californian twice before but this was our first stay at Paradise Pier. The rooms were really clean and comfy. I loved the shampoo and conditioner bottles with the little Mickey shaped lids...very nice touch. The service for us was outstanding and such a nice change from our first three nights at the Sheraton (I also reviewed that hotel as well). The concierge level provided a good breakfast and light dinner...my husband was surprised that there was not an option for oatmeal but the cereals, fruit, bagels, juice, sweet rolls were quite nice.
There is a $15/night parking charge if you self park and I believe it was $22 for valet parking.
The only down side is the walk to the park and it really isn't bad but if you have little ones they may find it too long. I think Disney should think about offering a designated shuttle to the park...I can't imagine why they don't and I think it would draw in even more people if they knew they had that option. Otherwise I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjjpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,767 - 1,773 of 2,332 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed here prior to Christmas in lieu of the Villas at Grand Californian as t hey were all booked. Excellent service from the front desk and bell staff, housekeeping and room service also. Even the maintenance crew I encountered was very friendly and pleasant.

The room was nice and had a pool view. Very well outfitted with amenities. The thermostat and HVAC system worked very well, always toasty when we needed those cold, rainy days. The beds are incredible, slept like a happy baby.

We ordered breakfast in the room as is our habit when traveling, and DL dining didn't disappoint however, we noticed that the bananas Foster was served in plastic cups where DL hotel serves it in stainless steel. Obviously not a big deal, just a small detail.

Parking was very convenient in the structure adjacent to the hotel, but the structure does need an elevator. Tip: ask the bell service to fetch your bags at check-in/out and save yourself the trouble. Alternatively, park just inside the first floor of the structure near the walkway to the hotel, and handle the bags there.

Overall we enjoyed the stay and will be back, especially whenever we just need a hotel room and want to save points on our Disney Vacation Club timeshare.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Great stay at the Paradise Pier. Ive been to Disneyland many, many times since the 60's but have never stayed on property before. I will return to this place. We stayed on the concierge level in a cabana room which had a patio that faced the pool very nice. Went around Dec 13/2010 very warm temps so we did use the pool and slide. The slide does not exit into the pool which was kind of a bummer. The room was great and I talked to some other folks who were locals that regularly stay here during the holidays. They told me the rooms here were actually larger than the Grand Californian at one quarter of the price for concierge level. The food and snacks in the private concierge level were plentiful and great. The staff here did a great job and even encouraged us to grab six packs of water to take into the park. They never said no to bringing food back to the room or drinks (including wine and beer). Yoshi the beverage and food manager does a great job here as well as Timothy and the rest of the concierge staff who added a lot of Disney magic to our stay. We had 5 first time visitors with us and the staff at the desk gave them first timer badges and they were recognized all around the Paradise Pier and given little keepsake gifts by staff. Sorry to say the badges must have disappeared once we entered the parks where staff never (not once) recognized them once. That was the only down side about our trip. Don't miss the character breakfast here as well. It is interactive with a great Disney cast member who will get you up dancing with Mickey and the gang. Lots of fun and the food was fantastic. All for a very reasonable price.
Lots of stuff going on here during Christmas including some carolers who sang in the lobby (incredible voices).
I cant say enough about the staff here. Stay at the Paradise Pier-Disneylands best kept secret.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GotDrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The are good things about Paradise Pier - location and the kid friendly swimming pool.

Almost everything else is past its prime - the hotel's decor resembled the furnishing in the basement of my parents: not touched since the 1980s.

The restaurants in the hotel are sub-par with mostly food prepared via microwave or fryer - after a long flight to get to Anaheim, I was looking for a good dining experience: the restaurant staff were friendly but the food was such a disappointment (kraft dinners would be a comparison).

The rooms are small - we chose to pay extra to get on the concierge floor with better rooms. The food provided by the concierge lounge is really sub-standard (worse than Kraft dinner - there is free beer which many parents drink and probably allow them to forget the decor).

A selling point the Disney hotels use is that there are princess stories piped on cable - these are reasonably okay but there is only one story per 24 hour (repeated every 20 mins or so) - big disappointment for our daughter.

Perhaps Disney has had to cut corners - and this really shows in the Paradise Pier hotel, the amusement ground and quality of staff. It is really quite sad as I had grown up with Disney and had previously associated the name with quality.

Another drawback we had at Paradise Pier was the reception - the staff could not find our paid booking (this may be due to miscommunication from Alaska Airlines); but it would appear that the staff member was making us to feel guilty and was at fault for this. Maybe she was having a bad day but it did leave a negative impression - having said that, she did call Alaska Airlines and resolved what ever it was (she did not offer explanation was was very cold to enquiries on why it happened). Again this sub-standard service would have been expected at the average 3 start hotel - I would not have thought I would experience it with Disney.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

I have stayed in many of the good neighbor hotel and have never minded the commute to the park but travelling with a 1 1/2 year old this time we decided to stay in one of the resort hotels to make nap time easier. I don't think I can ever go back to another hotel. The staff was incredible, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable (although after a long day in Disney anything would be comfortable haha), and I can't say it enough the staff was incredible. The walk to the park through Downtown Disney was quick and the private entrance through the Grand Californian was fantastic! We chose it because it was the cheapest of the Disney hotels so we weren't expecting much and we were blown away. I recommend it to everyone now! Oh and the rooms were very large. I stay in hotels regularly for work and was pleasantly surprised by the size of these rooms. Many say the decor is dated but I think they were going for that old fashioned boardwalk theme. I thought it was charming.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

The pp was awesome. We found the accessibiity to both parks close, easy (through the Grand) and could not fault this place at all. The beds were big, comfy and the pillows amazing. The room was immaculate, well decked out and spacious enough to spread out your stuff. We spent most of our waking time in the parks or in the hotel pool. We loved this hotel and would stay there again if we are ever fortunate enough to return to Disneyland.

We loved the fact that If you stay at the resort you get special passes into attractions such as Aladin(VIP seating), toontown and early morning entry into the park.... Well worth it. The. Free pin and lanyard was great as the kids got into pin collecting.

Make sure you find out all the short cuts into the parks too!!!!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank HamiltonButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

This was our first stay at Paradise Pier, you cant beat the location, yes its a little further walk than Disneyland Hotel and The Grand Californian, but its nothing to winge about.
We had a very spacious room overlooking California Adventure Park, we looked straight over to Paradise pier with a clear view of WORLD OF COLOR every night (you can put the music on the tv and get the real atmoshpere) so its very worth it to pay extra for a park view. Just up the street is a Coco's reasturant, this saved us a fortune for breakfast each day rather than paying the big bucks in the hotels/downtown disney, $30 for 3 of us!!! but i do recommend if you have kids doing the Surfs Up breakfast buffet at the PP at least once, dining with the characters is so much fun! Staff are great, pool is amazing and a nice way to chill out away from disney madness. Great stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newlifenotinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2308
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £257 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing