We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can't be beat. The rest is pretty average.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #31 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 1 August 2012

When you stay at this hotel, you're doing it because it is unbelievably conveniently located to the parks. Thanks to the private entrance into DCA, we were the first people on Radiator Springs in the morning. Going back for a nap in the afternoon is so convenient and easy.

This is probably our fourth time staying at GCH, so we know what to expect by now. The rooms aren't really lavish, but are clean and spacious. Unfortunately, this time, we were put in a 2nd floor 'pool view' room that was immediately above the piano in the lobby. We could hear every kid scream in the lobby and every piano solo. The noise was intense until about an hour after park closing (1am or so) and started up again around 6am as guests lined up.

My #1 tip for staying at this hotel: bring earplugs.

That said, the service here is really great. Check in was fast, we stored bags quickly, our car came quickly, room service took 15 minutes max and the food was very good. We had one instance as we were leaving where the valet guy would not go away without a tip that was completely classless, but other than that, the service at the hotel is great. Oh, and free wifi!

We've stayed in many other hotels around Disney and this really is the best option out there.

Room Tip: Try to avoid 2nd floor rooms around the lobby. Very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mackenzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,028 - 3,034 of 4,539 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

A lifelong a student of the Arts and Crafts period, I marvel at the public spaces in this hotel. Meticulous attention to detail have created a special experience. The lobby alone is worth a quiet half hour of rest and reflection.

You can't beat the location and getting into the park from inside the hotel is fantastic. However the rooms are beginning to show their age and the price is crazy high. That being said, I love the rooms overlooking Downtown Disney and the convenience of walking just a few steps back to my room each night.

With the recent renovations to the Disneyland hotel, it's going to be a tough decision next trip!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are extremely noisy. Rooms facing Downtown Disney are noisy until the park cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. Was initially told the bunk bed room was sold out upon reservation. Called a week before arrival to again mention my request. Upon check-in room requested was granted! Definitely a good start for my 2 kids (ages10& 8) who pestered me for the room just like the one on the website! Location of the hotel is worth the premium - in my opinion. Highly suggest you avail of the early entrance priviledge for Disney hotel guests. You can enter the parks an hour earlier than those not staying in Disney hotels. This hotel has its own entrance to Grand California and is a 4 minute walk to Disneyland entrance. The convenience of going back up to your room mid day to take a nap to re-charge kids makes it worth while.
Rooms are clean and daily housekeeping is up to par.
Kids enjoyed the entertainment at Storytellers Cafe for breakfast - but .... they didnt like the food!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMVManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

In general, other reviewers have summed up this hotel quite well. What guests do need to know is something my daughter and I learned the hard way on July 9, 2012. We opted to take the stairs down from the 5th floor rather than wait for the elevators. Big Mistake! We got to the first floor and the only available door out was the imposing Emergency Exit (an alarm would sound if the door opened). We walked up to the 2nd floor but that door was LOCKED. We went to the 3rd floor . . . LOCKED. We tried the 4th and 5th floors with the same results. For 35 hot and claustrophobic minutes we were locked inside the stairway, banging on the door and calling for help. We even had cell phones with us, but no one was answering. Finally, a guest passed by the door and let us out. We were irate: imagine the panic if that had happened to a child! We reported the incident to the front desk and were told that security measures had recently been made that might have contributed to the problem. We were also told the situation would be resolved. Ironically, a week later my daughter learned that her friend's husband had the exact same thing happen to him at this hotel! Obviously, the problem had not been taken seriously. Be forewarned of this danger -- because there is no signage by the doors that indicates you will not be able to get out. (Maybe management will fix the doors if everyone starts using the only escape -- the Emergency Exit with alarms.)

Room Tip: Ask for one where you can watch the nightly fireworks from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Viajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have stayed at Disney World in Florida before and this was our first visit to Disneyland in California. This hotel was a huge disappointment. The only thing that was great about it was the location. After a long day at the park, it was great to just walk to the hotel and go to your room. The lobby was lovely as well. But that's where it ended. The room was small and very outdated and the bathroom needs a major renovation as well as it wasn't clean. There were hairs on the floor when we arrived. The Disney rep at check in must have been having a bad day as she was miserable. We have never experienced a really unhappy Disney employee so this was quite surprising. The "premium" view room did not have a great view at all, definitely not worth paying for. Also, if you are hungry late at night there are no options. We stayed for 4 nights - All in all this was a very over-priced disappointing hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Pros: Location - book this hotel if you want to be able to get back to your hotel room straight from the park. That's the best it has going for it.
Cons: Hotel rooms are dated and have seen better days. Service lacked attention to detail. We had previously arranged to have a late checkout and when we got to our rooms, the key didn't work and we had to go back again to front desk (a hike from our rooms).. For the prices charged, this shouldn't happen.

Room Tip: Tip - Be sure to ask what room you are booking and compare it to the hotel map first before acccepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NOIDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We flew into Long Beach via Jet Blue. Flying Jet Blue was a great idea because it was not crowded at all, especially into Long Beach. It is probably not as pretty as LAX, but definitely less crowded. We took the ShuttleVan (the blue van) from the airport to the hotel and that was not a good idea at all because we had to wait for the driver. On our way home, we took the Shuttle Van to the airport and we had to pick up other passengers at other hotels. They weren't ready so we had to wait for them as well. Next time, I would opt for a taxi. It would be much cheaper and much faster. And, we won't have to wait for others. Once we got to the resort, the concierge staff came downstairs to greet us and we went up to the 6th floor to check in. There were no lines. This was awesome. And, my husband and kids were able to relax in the concierge lounge while I checked in. We arrived at 12noon and our room wasn't ready, but we only waited about 15 minutes for our room. And, we waited in the concierge lounge. If you have kids, you should definintely spend the extra money for the concierge lounge as it provided fresh fruit, veggies, water, soda, snacks, coffee, alcoholic beverages (for adults) throughout the day. We stayed for 5 days and did not have to buy any drinks at all. I packed sandwich bages and took a bunch of snacks with us to the park. This saved us tons of money. We loved all of the staff as they were very nice, especially those who worked in the concierge lounge. We were able to go into the park early every day and that saved us lots of time in line. We did all of our rides from 8am to 11am then went back to the hotel to relax in the pool. This was a great hotel to stay at. Definitely would do it again next year except for the Shuttle Van.

Room Tip: I wanted the best room and chose the premium concierge level. Our room was 6416 and it faced the Dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#33 of 119 in Anaheim
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £346 - £694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing