We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Enter the lobby; hold your breath and exhale very slowly… you’ll be blown away!

First impressions really do count –- soaring ceilings, dark wood beams, tiffany-style lamps, cosy fireplaces and scattered lounges, made this very grand entrance feel intimate and welcoming as well.

On arrival, the check-in guy was fantastic and took us personally to view the room our travel agent had booked (overlooking Grizzly Park) and also to another vacant room overlooking the World of Color at California Adventure Park (obviously we chose this one!)

Our room wasn’t large but high quality throughout with free Wi-Fi and fantastic theme park views. Customer service was excellent -- from check-in, room service and housekeeping, dining and shopping, to check-out.

Private access into California Adventure Park made it so easy to pop back to our room for a break, visit Downtown Disney shops, and then swing right back into the action at Disney Park.

We were totally immersed in our own World of Disney for 3 nights – and that’s more than anyone can ask for. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxHelenaxxx B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,941
    1,301
    627
    247
    132
See reviews for
2,808
524
28
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice. Service is pretentious. For this money I expected more. Spent the day poolside and was highly disappointed in pool attendant's sour attitude. Room is average, which is fine. Free wifi is a very nice perk. Overall a great location if you are headed to Disneyland or California Adventure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onesweetlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We are DVC members and used our points to book our stay. I booked 7 months in advance to guarantee getting a room. There is just the 2 of us and so we had a studio for our 4 night stay.

We arrived about 9 am as we had stayed at another hotel locally. We knew that we wouldn't be able to get a room so early and so we dropped our bags off and checked in to save time later. As DVC members self parking is free so we chose to do this - the parking lot is across the street but we weren't planning on using the car for a few days anyway.

We asked at check-in if there were any theme park views available (DVC bookings are by room type only) and the cast member said they would take a look. They said they would text us when our room was ready...but we have a UK cell phone and find that this doesn't always work.

We checked back just after 4 and our room was ready....we got a great view :) We could watch World of Color from our balcony!

No issues with the room at all. It was clean, tidy and the furniture was in good condition.

We had a great stay and the only minor issue we experienced was that the wireless internet connection was not great. We could not maintain a connection for any length of time...and only in certain areas of the room.

If we return to Disneyland we will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veneta, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Three years ago my husband and I fell in love with Disneyland and then started going 3 to 4 times per year. We usually stay at Good Neighbor Hotels, but after doing the Disney Vacation Club tour decided this would be a good investment for us.

We stayed at th Disney's Grand Californian in the Villa's for the first time as DVC memebers. We had a very late check in, so our room was ready. The check in was quick and easy. Our room was room 2516, on the second floor. The room was spacious and clean. The view however was not very exciting for us. We had a wooded view of the back side of the Redwood Creek Challenge. It was vey quiet, but we had hoped for a view that was a little more magical.

The rooms are well appointed and the bed and couch were very comfortable. The private entry into Disney Grand Californian was also a very great bonus.

Room Tip: When you make your booking ask for the view you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heathfamily2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We have stayed at the hotel 2x now. First time it was amazing. This time just ok. The room we where put in was so far from everything. We paid extra for a park view. What a disappointment. We had a view of the back of one of the rides. The floor was so filthy dirty that when we took our shoes off our feet/sock turned black in minutes. Sheets had stains. Service was pretty good. Though we had a waitress at the lounge that acted as though we were wasting her time. I'm hoping this was all just a fluke because our first experience was wonderful that's why we chose to go back.

Room Tip: Don't spend more for a "park view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Minis3minis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Not the cheapest in the area but the staff are so happy and the rooms are great. We stayed 3 nights and had a view of the Disneyland fireworks from our room.

It is very convenient for if you want to head in and out of the parks to get a break. You also get early entry to the park and it has its own entry to Disney California.

Has a variety of places to eat and downtown Disney is next door with more eating places and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking downtown Disney so you can see the fireworks from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Recently stayed here with family, and had a fabulous time. Our main goal for the trip was to spend time in both Disney parks and this hotel was absolutely perfect for that.

A special entrance for hotel guests into California Adventure made it very easy to get to the new Cars Land on our early morning visits. The front desk were very accommodating, we had a fabulous park view room.

As always with Disney, the food was expensive as was the room, but you are paying for top service and location. Highly recommend staying here if you are going to the Disney parks.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are quite nice, but the park view rooms (while a little noisier) offer a good view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bendingmirrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing