We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Good, Not Much Else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I am not sure why this hotel is a 4-star. Rooms very small and so dark it is difficult to function. Soap for our party of five was a round "bar" not much larger than a quarter, to last 6 days! Fortunately, I had bars of soap in my overnight bag. Also one towel per person for the week, while maybe "saving the earth" does not make for a comfortable stay. For this kind of money, I would like a clean towel. Obviously, the location is what you are paying for as all 1,000+ rooms were sold out when we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Corky022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,740 - 2,746 of 4,465 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

The major plus for this hotel is the proximity to the California Adventure Park, it has it's own entrance to the park. The room was a good size although we were a bit cramped with 5 people in one room (2 adults, 3 kids). We had the combo of a queen bed and a bunk bed with a trundle that pulled out from the bottom to make a third bed. The third bed is definitely for a smaller child, couldn't get my 14 year old in that bed comfortably. There is a refrigerator and a coffee maker in the room. The coffee and supplies were really sub-par as were the other items provided (shampoos, conditioners, etc.). These bottles were very small and they were not replenished sufficiently by housekeeping. Another plus was the small balcony, good to get some fresh air and sit outside with a cup of coffee in the morning. The room wasn't the greatest value for the price but was comfortable.

The service was good, not great. Housekeeping had a hard time keeping up cleaning rooms and one day they didn't finish cleaning our before they left - wet towels in the bathroom with no new towels provided. We ordered room service one evening since the restaurants were packed, food wasn't that great and not very warm when it arrived.

The pool area is very nice with three separate pools and a number of hot tubs. Although this was a nice area we prefer the pools at the Disneyland Hotel for the kids. The water slides are much better and you also have Tangaroa Terrace adjacent to the pool area.

The decorations in the main lobby were fabulous, very impressed. The kids loved the little rocking chairs with TV to watch cartoons and there's a fireplace nook with comfortable chairs to relax in. Very impressive lobby area.

Overall a very good stay although not sure I'd fork over the money to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This hotel is absolutely fabulous and worth the extra few bucks! When you walk in, you get the impression that you walked into a luxurious, art deco-themed hotel rather than a Disneyland resort. There is a huge attention to detail in every corner of this hotel and, unlike the other Disney resort hotels, you have to look closely to find any kitschy Disney references. Although this hotel is the most expensive of the Disneyland resorts, the quality of the hotel, level of service and convenient location make it the best choice if you're going to do a Disney vacation package. There is a fitness center, 2 dining options, espresso and spa on site. In the evenings there are story times by the giant fireplace for the kiddos and a live piano player near the bar for the adults. The best part was the direct access to the Downtown Disney shopping area and California Adventure theme park, which allows you access to walk around before the crowds arrive. If you're looking to avoid the Disney crowds, you can easily escape to the rooftop terrace to take in a drink and sweeping views of the theme parks or the nightly fireworks displays. Although all of the Disney hotels are very family friendly, I would recommend this particular resort for families with older kids or couples as it is not as "cartoony" as the other Disney resorts and is a little bit quieter.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linnea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

We stay at the grand once a year for a work event. My family loves it however the rooms are way over priced, it's a hit or miss on room location & view. It would be great (especially with our struggling economy) to lower the room rate & parking cost.
The customer service isnt what the "Disney" way use to be. This too is a hit or miss and for the price we pay for the high pricey rooms, guests deserve and expect the "above and beyond" treatment.
Overall truly enjoy the resort and hope the Mouse will encourage the cast members to return to the Magical Disney way.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCook333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Great trip back to one of my favorite Disney Hotels. We had a large family gathering and the staff did a great job with all the details. Christmas time is a great time to visit and the hotel is all decked out. Great location for getting to both parks.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of Dec while taking our grandkids, ages 4 and 5, to Disneyland for 4 days. We had two adjoining rooms. Fortunately, I had read reviews and was not shocked at the size of the rooms, which are very small. Having a refrigerator in the room was helpful (in fact, we've gotten to the point that we we won't stay anywhere without one) and lighting in the bathroom was adequate, with magnifying mirror available for putting on make-up. We had requested a pool view room but we ended up overlooking Downtown Disney (near the World of Disney store). Although fun to see all the people coming and going, be advised that music plays most of the day at DD. Loud music. Music with lots of bass. Even with our patio doors shut tight, the thump of bass was insistent and interfered with sleeping both for adults and children. Ultimately, we had to ask to be moved, but we had 2 days and nights of noise before we were able to be relocated to a quieter position--and that involved checking out before 11, storing our bags, and then re-checking in later in the day, a real hassle. We had breakfast one morning at Storytellers, which is a very nice venue without the level of noise and chaos that other character breakfasts have. However, there were fewer characters and the recognizability of the characters was much less than at the Plaza Inn, for example, which is noisy and chaotic but also full of well-known characters--much to the delight of the little ones. The prices at the Grand Californian are just crazy, especially given the size of the rooms, but what you are buying is location and early access to the parks--especially DCA. We entered DCA one morning exactly one hour before the park was opened to the general public (after waiting in line for 30 minutes for the hotel gate to open at 8), and we STILL had to stand in line 35 minutes for Radiator Springs Racers--which was a short wait in comparison to what others have experienced! So, is the GC a good value? Not even close. Would we stay there again? Maybe--but not without first carefully checking on the location of our room.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank ChileAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This was our fourth visit in six years. Staying at the DVC villa will full condo style amenities this 5-star hotel has been an incredible choice each time. This time it paid dividents in LOCATION. The location of this resort hotel allowing early and immediate access to California Adventure allowed us to be the first people on the Radiator Racers ride at Carsland, which typically has 3-4 hour waits. The benefits of this resort hotel is endless and well described at prasadandassociates.com but I must admit one of the most memorable joys was the late night hot tub after a long day at the park with the kids.

Room Tip: Its a long walk from some of the rooms - stay close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrasadandAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#22 of 118 in Anaheim
2,924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 118 in Anaheim
4,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £404 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing