We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a fantastic Property”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We just got back from an awesome stay. From check in to check out there is not one thing I would complain about other than we had to leave and come home. Christmas time at the Grand Californian is like no other place. In the lobby the tree was beautiful, the decorations classy and the live music wonderful (both piano and carolers). Our room was fantastic, maybe a little bit smaller than our last visit, but cozy, clean and very comfortable. The location of this hotel is by far the best of all the properties of DLR. And the cast members are all outstanding everyone from reservations to bell service to security guards, everywhere you went it was smiles and hellos. I cannot wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,001
    1,328
    636
    253
    139
See reviews for
2,893
535
28
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our family of 5's (3 boys ages 18, 15, and 12) second stay at a Disneyland property during the Thanksgiving Holiday. Our first stay was at the Paradise Pier back in 2004 I think it was. We had walked through the Grand Californian to go to California Adventure, and ate at one of the restaurants and thought it was beautiful. This trip we wanted to stay in the Grand Californian to be closer to the parks and just see what Disney's "top of the line" hotel was like to stay at.

We checked in at about 1:30 p.m. on Saturday. Timing was good, because there was nobody in line when we walked up, and then suddenly a large line formed right behind us. The person helping us check in was efficient and helpful. I knew from when I had made the reservations that the hotel did not have a large number of rooms that could actually accommodate 5 people with actual beds - there are some rooms with bunk beds and a day bed but apparently not many (I was told when I made the reservations that there was no guarantee that there would be a room that would have 5 places to sleep, which I find odd that they can't accommodate this with roll away beds - I'm still unclear what you do if you have 5 people in your family and they don't have a 5 person room available - do they have sleeping bags for rent????); anyway, the receptionist said they had a room with two queens, but that he could get us into a room with the bunk beds and day bed, but it was not ready yet, which was not a big deal to us, as we were just heading over to California Adventure. We left our bags with the bellman, and went to California Adventure via the direct park entrance that is at the hotel.

I won't go into the decor (you can look it up on the internet), other than to say the lobby/atrium is indeed on a "Grand" scale. It is not really Disneyfied all that much. It was tastefully decorated for the holiday season, with a massive tree in the lobby area, and piano music playing. There is a TV with chairs in the lobby playing Disney cartoons and movies, with chairs for the kids. The lobby was very busy most times during the day and evening. Finding a place to sit on a couch or chair would be a challenge. We didn't try. (I will say it was completely empty at 4:15 a.m., which is when we checked out to leave - the cartoons on the TV were still playing though).

After returning from the park, we went directly to our room. The room we booked was a "Courtyard/Woods View." I had read somewhere in my research that the only rooms that were 5 person daybed type rooms overlooked the front parking lot, so I was not hopeful about our view. However, the room (4th floor) was indeed a Courtyard/Woods View, looking over a heavily-treed courtyard, looking across to the other side of the hotel, and one cool thing about this courtyard is that the Monorail track actually goes right through the courtyard, so when we were in the room, the Monorail trains would pass by every 10 minutes or so, which is not something you see every day at our house. The weather was beautiful, so we had the sliding glass door open to the patio that had two chairs and a small table and would sit in the sun in the afternoon. One thing a little odd about our patio was that you could see the next patio over. I think I scared the neighbor when she looked over and I was there sitting and said hello. I can't imagine that there is much crime here, but he sliding doors do lock.

The rooms are not Disneyfied either. The only way I would have known this was Disney (other than the Monorail) was by seeing Bambi on the shower curtain. That as far as I could tell was the only Disney feature in the room.

The room we had was an average size room. Nothing spectacular so beware if you are looking for a room that is big, this room was not. There was a desk and chair. No sitting area or coffee table. I have no idea if any rooms other than suites are larger that this one. The room had a bunk bed with a daybed underneath. The bunk beds are not huge, so beware if you have a taller family. We do not, so the 15 and 18 year old were fine in the bunks. The daybed pulled out from under the bunks and it was SMALL. Fortunately, our youngest is on the small side, so we were all fine with sleeping. The room had a small fridge which was handy and a 40+ inch flat screen TV on a nice dresser. When we arrived we could not find the remote for the TV. We called and a remote was promptly brought up. (We also called and our bags were brought up within 15 minutes). The bathroom area had two sinks and was separate from the toilet and tub/shower area. The toilet/shower room was just that. Toilet and shower, and just enough room to turn around. There was a closet and some space for bags.

Overall, this was simply an average size room, with average features. The decor was in line with the rest of the hotel, though it maybe time to start updating this hotel. For the outrageous price paid for our 4 night stay at this hotel, I would have liked to have had a bigger, nicer room, and even a view of the parks. I suppose we could have shelled out even more money for a suite or a view, but we really didn't stay at this hotel so we could sit in our room and look outside. We stayed at this Hotel for its location next to the parks. And that did not disappoint.

The Hotel's entrance to California Adventure is a great convenient feature, whether leaving the hotel or coming back to it.

The Hotel's side entrance to the middle of Downtown Disney, with a very short walk to the front entrances to Disneyland and California Adventure was a huge bonus to staying at this hotel, again whether leaving the hotel or coming back. Very convenient.

The hotel is large, and as some reports state, there is a lot of walking from the elevators to some of the rooms (like ours). It would have been a long walk for us from our room to walk to the elevator, then to the hotel entrance to California Adventure. We were lucky however, because we used the stairwell that was right next to our room that conveniently led directly to the courtyard below and to the entrance to Downtown Disney, where we would would just walk down to the parks' main entrances. When we came back to the hotel though, we would have to go to back to the elevator near the lobby, with the long walk to the room. If you have mobility issues, you need to make sure you have a plan for getting a room close to the elevators and have a plan for getting around the hotel and the Disney properties.

We ate at the Storyteller's Cafe in the hotel for breakfast one day and had the buffet. It was a pretty good buffet with an extremely high price tag, so be prepared ($160 for the five of us). There were Disney characters wandering around the place, which was great for all the little kids, and they even messed around with our older boys, who took it in . The other days we went to the Starbucks just inside the entrance to California Adventure, which again was a short convenient walk as we exited the Hotel.

Checkout was a breeze at 4:15 am. We did not charge anything to the room, so there was no bill.

We did not use the pool facilities. They looked nice. Had we had a longer stay, we would have probably used them. This trip was about going to Disneyland and California Adventure.

The service from all the employee "cast members" was good. Friendly and prompt. Housekeeping was great. There was a nightly turn-down service. They left chocolates. I like chocolate. So that was nice.

Am I glad we stayed at this hotel? Yes. It's a nice, grand hotel, with many great features found at nice hotels. The convenience factor was the best reason to stay here.

Was it worth the cost? Hard to say. I don't feel like we got ripped-off, but I also don't think the room was quite worth the money spent. Maybe we are stupid for traveling at one of the most expensive times of the year so we have no choice but to spend that kind of money to stay at the "nicest" hotel at Disney.Would I stay here again? Yes, but not at the price paid.

Overall, good job Grand Californian. We had a great family vacation.

For future visitors, read the reviews to understand this property, as I think it is probably a unique property and your expectations need to be tailored to what this property really is and why you should stay here. In other words, if you think your room will be a Four Seasons room (or even a Westin room) because you are paying a princely sum for a non-suite, non-view room at Disney's top hotel, reality may be disappointing. Maybe you can get a room here like you can at a top-tier hotel, but I think you would have to pay a lot more than you would expect in order to get it at the Grand Californian (or perhaps you can go during low, low, low season, if there is such a thing). And just remember, you are going to Disneyland!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ColoTravelingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We had a double queen room although small nicely and subtly furnished in craftsmen style, the location is key if your near meltdown in the park stop by take a quick swim or soak in the hot tub and recharge! The staff are very accommodating to each and every guest I recommend getting the club concierge snacks all day long wine and beer well worth the cost for this family. I can't wait to stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JON N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Overall, this hotel is great for location. It is by far the closest hotel to the entrance of Disneyland and has its own entrance for California Adventure. This is our second time staying at the hotel. The hotel is indeed expensive and your room is not one you find in the The Four Seasons...it is rather average. It has a fridge, coffee maker, and hair dryer, but no microwave. We had a standard room. The cheapest we could get (2 queen beds). However, we did not pay to be in our room but rather to spend as much time as we could in the parks, so the room itself did not bother us.

Since you are staying on property, you have the benefit of entering the park earlier than the general public. Hands down a great perk! We could leave our room and quickly walk to the entrance of Disneyland...no buses, trolleys, shuttles, etc. Then, we hit the parks hard. We would be in by 7 a.m. and then we could return to the hotel for a brief rest in the afternoon. We also ordered food in and had it delivered from restaurants off site to avoid paying the costly Disney food prices. Then, we would head back out to the parks for more adventures.

This was a great benefit for us when we went last time and our kids were 3 & 5. With our kids being 6 & 8 now, I would still recommend. The kids get tired and cranky, so you need to get to the room and have them rest and reset and try to get a micro-sleep in yourself.

The only real problem we had with our room was the phone did not work, but they did manage to get one of the phones fixed. Also, like some others have mentioned, our tv volume acted strange. Honestly though, we weren't watching much tv at all.

We booked our vacation via AAA. It was a breeze. Have them do all the work for you and you often you get great discounts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDG2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Great location, enormous expectations and very disappointing rooms. I had such high hopes for Disneyland's luxury offering and was prepared to pay for something special on my honeymoon. Unfortunately the room was more like a Travelodge than a Hyatt with not a trace of Disney in the rooms. The early entry to the park was great and of course the convenience of staying right on site was wonderful but I won't be staying here next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jethostess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We used this hotel as our Los Angeles base for twelve days. The location is superb just a few minutes from both parks and easy eating and service options at Downtown Disney. We chose a standard view room because of the bedding configuration, the park view rooms do not have day beds. The room also came with a balcony which could not be guaranteed until we checked in. The hotel was expensive but worth every penny for the convenience and quality. We purchased annual passes as this was a much cheaper option that other multi day passes, the added benefit was a discount on the accommodation which was a huge saving.

Alamo car rentals made day trips into LA or San Diego very easy.

We would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblezz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

They will not deliver your luggage unless you are IN THE ROOM, the TV remote did not work and the TV volume went out all the time. Why am I watching TV anyway, you ask? Two exhausted kids from being in California whatever since 7 a.m. Thank God for the cold beers in the mini fridge. ALL the employees are awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms are SUPER small, but I guess you do not come here to hang out in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
2,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#27 of 118 in Anaheim
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing