We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa (DVC Member) and it was great! We had a great 5th floor view overlooking California Adventure (and watched World of Color from our chairs in the balcony!). With the doors open it was noisy, but if they were closed, you couldn't hear anything!!! The room itself was large, spacious and clean. The hotel was in a great location, and castmembers there were great-especially Ernie from bell services! You can't beat staying on property at any Disney resort and this is no exception. We did lose TV staions the last day (apparently changing providers) but otherwise it was a great stay! The proximity to the parks as well as Downtown can't be beat!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disneyadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,431)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,140 - 2,146 of 4,431 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We chose this hotel for its convenient location. We are here with a two and seven year old. Although not really in our price range, we made an exception for the convenience of literally being in the park for quick trips back to the room for naps, etc. That part is is great! And as promised at Disneyland, the staff is amazing. However, after paying the high end price, we are bummed about a few things... the internet connection sucks! You get kicked off every few minutes. Also, apparently they are in the process of changing satellite companies and we only get 5 channels- 3 Disney channels, a sport channel and a weather channel! No news! Also major construction going on. We understand that improvements have to happen sometime, but it is very noisy during the day for kiddo naps (back to reason we picked this hotel)! All in all, great place if you are looking for customer service and convenience and we are suppose to be unplugged on vacation with our kids, right? But no news? Come on!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sierrajimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The location is fantastic! Downtown disney with its shops/restaurants etc at your doorstep and a 10 minutes walk to the park. Love, love the location especially when you have kids that need a break from the park in the middle of the day. The staff are friendly and helpful! Excellent Napa Rose restaurant on site (dined there twice). Excellent character breakfast! Great pools but does not appear clean. The room is probably the worst part of the hotel - old furnishing and bathroom and does not appear clean even though housekeeping does a reasonable job. Would stay again because of the location and service but not a fan of the rooms - Disney needs to refurnish the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sydneyveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My rating incorporates the value that this property provides in relationship to the cost.

The best thing about this hotel is that is so close to the parks. The hotel still requires a brisk walk to get into either park in the morning. Yes, it has its own entrance to Disney California, but this is useless when the park opens as the line is so long (this is a big hotel) and there are only 4 turnstiles. We resorted to going in through the main gates each morning unless you want to get up 1 hour to 45 minutes earlier to hold a spot. So, the entrance to Disney California is convenient, but only later in the day.

The other great thing is the extra magic hour for everyday of your ticket. However, this has drawbacks as you want to stay up late at the park and then have very little sleep to get up for the next magic hour. If you manage the FASTPASS situation correctly, you can do just fine even through the busiest day.

For the Cars Ride or Radiator Springs Racers, send someone to get the FASTPASSes for that ride while you wait in line for your 1st ride. You can have FASTPASSes to Radiator Springs Racers as well as another ride. This frees up the rest of your day and you don't get stuck in the 3 hour line for this ride.

Now, the rooms are small but fun if you get the bunk bed. Appointments are standard which includes the bedding and towels. It felt more like an upscale motel than a true hotel. Yes, the entrance and pools are magnificient, but the amenities fall short of other hotels that I have stayed in (Sheraton and Red Lion in Anaheim). We had a room with 2 doubles, which was tight for 4 of us. Also, the balcony was nice, but never used. Our room overlooked the Grizzly River Run and it was quiet when we shut the door. We almost had a angled view of the fireworks.

Truly, the price you pay is for the experience of being in the Disney resort. Once you are in, the world is shut out. However, this hotel is huge and comes with lines to drop off luggage, lines to check in, and lines even to get in the park. Again, this is the Disney experience. Another drawback to a huge hotel is the distance to everything is just that much longer.

The cast and staff are very warm and professional.

If you can afford it, this is a worthwhile experience to be cocooned in the Disney World.

Room Tip: Ask the reservation line about availability of rooms to see the fireworks. They overlook Downtown Di...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j_otter_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel seems like an extension of the park due to the location and seamless operation of Disney and Royal Caribbean. If you stay here, your memories will not be limited experiences inside the park; your entire stay will contain the charm found in California Adventure Land.

Adults and parents are more likely to appreciate the detail in the lobby and rooms. Only a few woodland related Disney characters (Bambi, Snow White, etc) can be found in the decor. The hotel theme is a blend of craftsman style and Disney playfulness that is reminiscent of original lodges in National Parks. Rooms are clean and top-notch. The standard room features granite counter tops, craftsman furniture, and a balcony. Service is exceptional and exponentially magnified on the concierge level (6th floor). In addition to the mid-day cleaning, there is an afternoon turn down service.

The location is peerless with a backdoor entrance to California Adventure Land. If you are entering the park during the early morning "magic hour", it makes life much easier. It is also adjacent to Disneyland and Downtown Disney.

While expensive, this hotel is worth staying here at least once. We visited after Christmas, and like the park, the entire hotel was impressively decorated. I would rank this in my top 10 hotels because it is guaranteed to leave a lasting memory.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the park are not worth the extra cost as the view may be partially obstructed...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel with rich, dark wood décor. The rooms are average in size and very accommodating for families, with pull out couches, bunk beds or portable cribs. Rooms have a balcony with table and chairs for relaxing. Although it can be very expensive for a family, it is a hotel that should be experienced at least once for a trip to the Disney Parks. It even has a private entrance into California Adventure. The cast are all very nice and attentive. Ask about rooftop viewing of shows at CA.

Room Tip: If you are assigned a room on the outside and farther from the lobby there is an back elevator that...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My friend and I had the opportunity to stay at the Disney Grand Californian for the second time and I can't say enough about the place. From the front desk, to bell service, to housekeeping, to about just everyone worker we encounter at the hotel treated us so well. What we liked was the easy access to the California Adventure park and quick access to Downtown Disney. We have read reviews where people complained about the staff, but either they were super critical or at best expected everything to be perfect and without fault.

Again this being our second visit to the hotel could not find anyone to be anything less than helpful. But as the title implies you pay for the what if's. On the second night of our trip I had an accident right outside our hotel room door. We don't know if I dragged my foot, but anyway I fell and in the process blacked out for the moment. When I came too I was on the ground. Well, being embarrassed, I got back up and returned to the room. My friend called the front desk to explain what had happened. In a short while the Valet Manager Karin what knocking at our door to see what had happened. She apparently remember helping us about 30 minutes earlier and was concerned as to what had happened. Soon to follow was the on duty nurse Brenda. But the time she arrived my foot had swollen, and they wanted to make sure I didn't need an ambulance or any urgent care. While it seemed (to me) nothing was broken, Brenda made some recommendations for the evening and Karin helped my friend with getting some ice to be applied to the foot to keep the swelling down. Being that we were in the middle of our vacation they made some recommendations for the remaining days, as I was unable to walk, and still wanted to enjoy the park. The next morning there was a big envelope under our door with all of the necessary information for a wheelchair and so forth, but who could pass up the 8x10 signed picture of Winnie the Pooh and gang wishing me well. My friend was worried, but realized that in the end if we were at some other hotel, we may not have gotten the care that we had received while on vacation. So for that, we've decided that if we should return in the future, we will be here again, but the next time I promised not to get hurt.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Kolohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
2,895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 118 in Anaheim
4,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £384 - £888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing