We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Califonia is not a 4 star hotel.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand Califonia is not a 4 star hotel.....”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Don't be fooled, what once was a great family experience(we have stayed there six different years) is not a money extracting machine, from the lack of real coffee in the room, to staff with their palms out at every turn, to poor customer service at coffee bar and character's café.

great location but the management has changed and don't expect much extra "resort" courtesy from anyone, it is a money machine and for 700 a nite you could be in any 4 or 5 star hotel just about anywhere in the world, think twice and pack wisely.

Room Tip: stay in upper rooms that face park. Don't plan on sleeping past 6 or 7 am, walls are thin. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,001
    1,328
    636
    253
    139
See reviews for
2,893
535
28
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I reviewed this hotel three years ago when we stayed here for my birthday and I raved about. We enjoyed it so much that we didn't even think to stay anywhere else when we planned our current trip. Helpful hint: if you stay here between January and April the room rates are not outrageous and worth every penny.
This hotel is still excellent in our book! From the moment you walk in the door to the turn down service at night...it's perfection. The staff is courteous, friendly and very attentive. The grounds are spotless. The lobby is gorgeous with a roaring fire (it is gas, which is a bummer) where we enjoyed a glass of wine serenaded by live piano (Disney) music. If I could critique I would say that the rooms could use some sound buffering.
Other than that we still don't have any complaints. We love this hotel, the ease it brings to enjoying the parks and the excellent staff.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kidsnt0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was expecting to be a bit disappointed in the room after reading some reviews but I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was big, had a sofa, desk, two sinks, good water pressure/heat and a comfortable bed. We booked a standard room, the view was nice (5th floor entrance facing) but a bit hard to get too as the halls are quite extensive. Staff was pleasant and easy to work with, parking was convenient quick and inexpensive. Sun-Thursday rates are quite reasonable for the location and room, the experience was well worth $275.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollister, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel is beautiful and conveniently located. I loved that they had lifeguards in their year-round heated pools. Their rooms have mini fridges, which their web site didn't mention (I would have packed more food to keep costs down) Some rooms have beautiful bunk beds with chocolates on the pillows every night (my kids found that exciting) The first night we had a Downtown Disney view room. They play ambient music until after midnight! The jazz music had bass so loud it kept us awake. This wasn't live music either- it was the music they play through the speakers in front of the stores. They moved us to a quiet, poolside room the next day. I can't believe anyone paying that kind of money would find the music to be acceptable. I'm happy they moved us. I would absolutely stay here again- once you've stayed at the prettiest, closest hotel, everything else would seem inferior.

Room Tip: Downtown Disney view is noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Grand service, ideal location for teens, adults and Grandparents. We loved getting into the California Adventure early and able to take in the sights. Central location easy for cooling off in the pool in the afternoon and the wait staff at pool were wonderful, attentive, and joyful. We spent four days there and enjoyed our trip. We have stayed here before and the hotel gave us the same room again for ease and quiet peaceful rest.

Cars Land was our new favorite and we always find new places to visit that makes our trips feel new to Disneyland - Ariel's Grotto the cove bar is a perfect spot to order drinks and appetizers to watch world of color... As is the roof of the Grand Californian. Big Thunder BBQ is tucked away behind the rail road and is a cool place to take the men in our troop to eat, they bring you buckets of ribs, chicken and sausage plus corn on the cob, beans, coleslaw, lemonade or water or ice tea... The music show is country music and you sit under canopy in the shade and very relaxing. It was $25 per person and worth every bit! We went around 5pm and everyone said it was best meal they had there!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank joenkristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I ran the Tinkerbell Half Marathon in January. The location and convenience of this hotel CANNOT BE BEAT. You are paying a huge premium for the location of this hotel, but it is worth it. I have a 20 month old son and the ability to go to the park and then come back for nap time in about 5 minutes really made it easy.

In typical Disney fashion they made everything seamless from check in, check out, and the ability to buy something in the park and have it sent back to your room.

The hotel is overpriced for the "hotel services", but it was clean and spacious enough to get the job done.

The lobby is fantastic for just relaxing and the kinds rocking chairs are adorable and the children actually stay seated for more than 5 minutes.

Finally, the location cannot be beat for the running events. I have run at Disney World numerous times and the sheer size of the resort makes for very very long days. Here, I could walk to the corrals and I could walk back from the finish. Will definitely be doing the Disneyland half in August.

The only negative for run time is that if you are in the valet side of the hotel, you will hear the announcements and the corrals starting at 5am.

Overall great experience.

Room Tip: If you don't want the noise ask for a room away from Downtown Disney normally. Or during maratho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineFriedauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Best Disney hotel in Anaheim. Its the newest one. The lobby it's amazing, u can sit there after u come back from Disneyland and relax with drinks and appetizers, there is a tv with Disney movies for kids with kids rocking chairs. Best location ever, in downtown disney and California adventure. Love this hotel. Pricey, but it's totally worth it

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jolieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
2,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#27 of 118 in Anaheim
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing