We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Lobby, location and restaurants are all this has going. You can stay at other nicer hotels and still get the benefits for a lot less money and a lot nicer room. Our room was small, old and worst of all - we checked in late after a long day driving and flying to find out there was no water! They were doing some maintainance and had the water shut off from 11 pm - 5:30 am. They offered no apologies and left us with only 4, 12 oz bottles of water to wash our hands with and drink. We couldn't have a shower after a long day, had no hot water to wash with after being in airports etc., and couldn't even flush the toilette. On top of this, the room is small, there is just a sliding pocket door to get to the toilette and shower (and there was a bad smell in the little bathroom), the drain cover in the tub was loose, one hinge on the cabinet door to get to the fridge was loose so the door wouldn't close without help, and only the shower curtain showed any sign of Disneyland (it had Bambi on it). Finally, it was noisy. There was a door to an adjoining room and we could hear the people in the adjoining room talk in normal voices. We stayed our last night in Disneyland at the Disneyland Hotel - much much better and a lower price too. Don't waste your time or your money. We had selected this hotel to ensure we had a good experience. What a way to start a vacation. Not the happiest place on Earth.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shauna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,203 - 2,209 of 4,574 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Don't get me wrong this is a very nice hotel but it lacks that Disney feel you get when you are at a deluxe resort in Disney World. The rooms were on the small side and did not provide much to them. The location of this hotel is great for access to the parks and Downtown Disney but other than access the hotel doesn't offer much for the price it charges.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelformechicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed at the Paradise Pier and the Disneyland hotel in the past, this was the first time we had stayed at the Grand Californian Hotel. Valet was quick and easy. Bag storage until check in was great (in fact, we had to get back into our luggage at one point and the bellman was quick and friendly in helping us). Check in was a breeze, the gentleman helping us couldn't have been nicer.

We arrived around 10am and used the texting service for our room. We received a text around 2pm that our room was ready. We already had our keys and we simply went to our room and called the bell desk to have our luggage delivered, which maybe took 10 minutes but I think it was less.

The rooms were nice, but not large. Rather small but not bad...we didn't spend much time there anyway. Honestly, I wouldn't stay there again for the rooms, but for the convenience of getting to the parks quickly and easily. I prefer the rooms at the Disneyland Hotel but the walk there is longer. You are suppose to get turn down service during your stay, but we only received this once while there, not a big deal really.

We traveled with our teen son and his friend. The bunk bed rooms were made for kids, our son barely fit, length wise, on the bunks, so keep that in mind when booking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backsthepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We love Disney in all its variations. We've cruised with them, we've been to Disney World twice in the last two years. We've seen the movies, bought the DVD's and watched the TV channels. But of all the Disney things we've seen and done since our seven year old twins were born, this resort is the most lacking. That doesn't mean it's substandard or not recommended; I just expect more from Disney. At these prices they are expected to deliver a premium product. This hotel comes up a little short. It's a bit dated and the rooms need freshening, especially the carpet. Even the Disney Cruise Line ships have two bathrooms with both a tub and a shower. Why not here? The pool area is a zoo on a hot afternoon, and when one of the three pools was forced to close due to a child's illness it becomes uncomfortable.

You book this hotel for three reasons: location, location, location. Step out the back door and you are right in California Adventure, just steps from Soarin' Over California, the Grizzly Run water ride and the trolley to the Hollywood Tower of Terror. Go out another door and you're in Downtown Disney and a short walk to the entrance to Disneyland. Alamo rental car return is just across the street from the front entrance. And our favorite meal was the character breakfast with Chip 'n Dale at the Storytellers Cafe, which serves as the hotel's main restaurant.

Don't expect frills or five star accommodations. The queen bed was comfortable but had only one night table, so if you're next to the curtain covering the floor-to-ceiling windows leading to your balcony, you have nowhere to put your electronics or other essentials, and have little room to move when getting out of bed. The kids enjoyed their dark wood bunk beds, which matches the all wood arts & crafts style of the resort. But if not for its excellent location situated between Disneyland and California Adventure they couldn't charge the rates they do. This hotel is too expensive based on the level of amenities provided. BUT if you have young children it IS perfect for the early openings followed by a dip in the pool and then a quick nap before heading back to Carsland.

The bottom line: Disney charges premium rates because people pay them. Unlike Disney World with two dozen resorts to choose from, this is the only hotel with direct access to their parks. And unlike WDW, there is no real dining plan. For families with older kids who are past napping age, there are plenty of nice hotels nearby up the street at a lower cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to the pool and elevators as possible. The lobby is COLD!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom_Rich-CP_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

It's the nicest hotel on property and we read the reviews. Disney doesn't cater to the upper so this is the best you can get. We did the club floor and it's average too. Waters, fruit, muffins,etc, but not worth the extra $250 a day. I didn't feel the value for the "cast" member access. We were told our room was ready when we arrived, so we went to check in at the club level. Once we were at the 6th floor, we were informed our room wasn't ready. AJ gave us 2 fast passes to compensate. This is Disney's attempt to make it right. It was a nice gesture. On day 3, the water in our room stopped working. We were trying to shower for the extra magic hour and we missed it. Disney gave us 3 fast passes again to compensate. Our room is much better than the Grand Floridian by stretches( read my earlier review), but it still is not lux. You pay for the proximity to the park and that's about it. I do prefer this over Florida, but be prepared to wait for everything, food, service, elevators, checking out in any store, etc. Bring your patience.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the 6th floor and it was quiet. Also, we rented cabanas for two days and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have stayed in a few hotels using the concierge level. This hotel disappoints in that area. Hotel staff mostly outstanding. It was nice not to have to wait in another disney line for check in and check out but not worth the money. Lounge on the sixth floor was fine but food not special. Wine and beer available as well as sodas and fruit punch for the kids. Great staff lunch time, surly food staff at appetizer time. Rooms were just like any other hotel. Great beds and pillows but no other room amenities you would expect from a concierge level. Save money and stay in a regular room and bring your own breakfast. Great location for visiting the parks and they have a wonderfully staffed pool area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trav2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

When you first walk into the lobby you get this feeling that you expect luxury and then you walk in room and they are average. When we arrived there was a food on floor and waste in the trash can. Towels had stains on them. Total waste of money. We paid over $900 for one night. The only thing that is nice is that you can walk right into Downtown Disney or California Adventure but hardly worth the high price. We are annual pass holders and thought would be a nice weekend away and it very disappointing stay. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank highroller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
3,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 118 in Anaheim
4,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#33 of 118 in Anaheim
2,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £418 - £754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing