We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE: BED BUGS AT GRAND CALIFORNIAN!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I wrote a review of GC that was nothing but praise. See "Avid GC Stayer & Disney Enthusiast w/ Little Kids Review"

BUT...my mom and I stayed here in April and she even upgraded our room to a two bedroom suite which costs around 500+ a night. Unfortunately, we weren't the only guests staying in that room...watch out for hitchhiking BED BUGS!!!

My son and mom were both bit. When I contacted the hotel they act as if Disney is above a bed bug infestation. I DID find it interesting a hotel staff member (or cast member I should say) informed me they would be closing the hotel in the next year and "renovating" Hmm...you mean exterminating.

Room Tip: I love the Disney hotels but watch out for the bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,914 - 1,920 of 4,465 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family and I love this hotel. The location to Disneyland and the service the hotel staff provides is great. On this trip housekeeping was very consistent and the service was excellent. The bed's are very comfortable. The only reason why we give it four stars is this hotel uses poor quality toilet paper (literally feels like sandpaper in your hands) and the showerheads are very low pressure. With this hotel being the flagship on the property I expect better. I'm not here for value or to save money. Leave the cost cutting for Disneyland hotel or Paradise Pier..

The room service menu is quite limited however the food is excellent. There is a on site laundry facility with plenty of washers and dryers.

This hotel could easily be the best rated hotel in Anaheim if it weren't for the folks who complain this hotel is overpriced and the rooms are too small. This is not the place to stay if you are on a tight budget and the room sizes are clearly posted on their website. This is the place to stay if you want close access to the parks, beautiful décor, and great service. We have stayed here several times since 2009.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelforfun06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family truly enjoyed staying at the Grande Californian. This was our first time visiting Disneyland (we have been to Disney World many times and usually stay at Disney's Beach Club resort). We like to stay on property at a Disney resort when visiting Disney parks to get the true experience. The Grand Californian was perfect. The close proximity to the two Disneyland parks and Downtown Disney is amazing at this hotel and simply can not be beat (we stayed at the park until closing at midnight and were back in the room, teeth brushed and in bed by 12:15…this is how close the hotel is to the parks). There is a small refrigerator in the room, but no microwave (you can use the micro at White Water Snacks Restaurant on-site). The resort was clean, all staff were encountered were pleasant, the pool area is very nice and all of this added up to a great stay. We stayed in a second floor room close to the lobby with a slight view of the pool, this was a woods/courtyard view room (loved taking the steps instead of waiting for an elevator). I would not hesitate to book a standard room next time and save a little $ because we were not in our room much at all. Having stayed at Disney properties before, I understand how busy and heavily used the hotels are, but I honestly did not feel this hotel was old and run down like other reviews have mentioned. I felt the hotel was well maintained and I am pretty picky when it comes to accommodations. We would stay here again if/when we visit Disneyland for sure. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly5182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After dozens of family trips to DisneyWorld, we decided to make the trip to California. If you are planning a trip to the original House of Mouse,Disneyland, then there is no other place to stay than Disney's Grand Californian Resort. This hotel isn't located adjacent to the parks, but in the parks. Walk out one door and you are right in Downtown Disney, walk about 100 yards to your right and you are at the entrance to both Disneyland and California Adventure theme parks. You also have the choice to use the private entrance from the hotel directly into California Adventure.
Surprisingly, even though you are right there, the resort is quiet and peace full. Unlike Florida where everything requires you to ride there, bus, monorail, boat, etc. in California, everything is just a convenient walk.
Highly recommended

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Ok we know staying at a Disney Hotel is not cheap and to stay at one which is located with such easy access to the park (5min walk) is going to come at a premium but heres a few reasons why this is worth it for a few nights. The service is always going to be amazing, staff are very attentive and are willing to share tips that will make your stay more enjoyable. The hotel is really busy and it can seem overwhelming but the location makes up for that as you are only a few steps away from downtown disney where there are a plethora of shops and restaurant; may fav is House of Blues. A whole day at the theme park can be exhausting so its really nice to be able to come back to your room for a few hours, go to the pool, freshen up and go out again for the evening.
The rooms are okay, not the best I've experienced for Disney but they are clean and well themed. They are sound proofed so you are not disturbed by your neighbors. Parking at this hotel can be expensive but at least you don't need your car while you are there as its all walkable.
If you only have one or two nights planned for Disney think of staying here for the convenience factor alone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in a premium view room on the 6th floor, room 6443. Biggest negative is that I heard the mechanics of the elevator faintly all day and night, not too loud, but still a little annoying. Given a 2 queen bed room. Called to request a King, they said that they didn't make room guarantees regarding type of bed. I remembered this at the time of booking as well. No big deal. View was of the pool. Had to stand out on balcony and look left to see the park. I think premium view means anything but the parking lot.

Room was very clean, a little dated and worn. All in all, you should stay here for location. That is what this hotel is all about. Walk out your door and you are in the park!

Breakfast buffet at Storyteller's Cafe was average.

Recommend as location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorcalTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

At the end of the day with very tired sore feet we all appreciated the short walk to our hotel, worth every cent. The hotel is very big and can be quite a walk in itself. We were close to the California World adventure park and that was great for the magic mornings. So nice to be so close we could take a break during the day come back to the hotel for a snooze then head out again for more without the 15 min walk or more to the outside hotels. The rooms were lovely, beds bigs and comfortable. Service was excellent, staff very helpful and friendly. Appreciated the laundry facilities.

Room Tip: Little shop in hotel offered lots of general items you may have forgotten and more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#22 of 118 in Anaheim
2,923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 118 in Anaheim
4,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £404 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing