We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just the BEST”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location, the service, the best of everything! Highly recommend staying here. We had a room with the view of the pool, which was nice. Love the turn down service with chocolates on our pillows every night. Valet service was great, I had left some shoes in the car, called down to get them and they had them in my room in less than 10 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,974
    1,315
    634
    248
    136
See reviews for
2,859
529
28
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Despite large crowds, a million strollers (my grandson's included), and some hefty prices, Disneyland is great fun, even for my 73-year-old, addled self. In fact, I've loved Disneyland and WDW (and a Disney Christmas cruise) since my first visit to Disneyland in the 1960's. On our latest visit in June 2014, we stayed at the Grand Californian. Really a pleasant experience. We had connecting rooms: one for me and one for my daughter, son-in-law, and my three-year-old grandson. That worked great -- much better, I think, than a suite (I tend to talk too much and get on my son-in-law's nerves). The rooms were comfortable, clean, and expensive. But, the best part: The Grand Californian is very close to Disney's California Adventure. Incredibly convenient. Easy to enter the park, and close enough that we could return to the hotel when we wanted to relax at the swimming pool in between all the attractions. We didn't eat in any of the hotel restaurants so can't comment on those. We had garden-view rooms, and I suspect they were much quieter than those that face Main Street Disney and the park.

Room Tip: We had garden-view rooms that were very quiet. I suspect rooms that face Main Street Disney and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was nervous about staying here because of the mixed reviews...This hotel is pricey for sure, I agree with other reviewers the bathrooms / showers are not quite up to expectation for this type of accomodation, but The Grand Californian has a character and an ambience, and I am not at all sorry we stayed there. Location was great, right next to the resorts. The beds were extremely comfortable. The food on site could have been better. It has laundry facilities throughout the hotel. If they are renovating this will be unbeatable. It does need a bit of a tidy up...but we had an excellent stay ! Would be great with a heated pool..

Room Tip: If you are near California Park the show each night can be noisy and hard for younger kids to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayholidayktma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed here 3 times and this was our worst. The housekeeping has always been slow and done a poor job but that was actually slightly better this time although our carpet came pre-littered with someone else's bobby pins. When we arrived, we were told the room type we had requested (with bunkbeds) was not available because the last one was being given to a family with three children. Our two kids were not enough to warrant a bunkbed. I had called 2 months in advance to request that room and for $500/night, they should be able to accommodate that request. They told us they would move us on our third night and make sure our new room would be available as early as possible. We vacated our room at 10:00 in the morning on the day of the transfer and they did not have our new room available until 4:00 that afternoon. Meanwhile, our kids were crying for a nap and angry and hot and sweaty. This isn't the kind of stuff you pay such a premium price for. After complaining, we were given two fast passes and a breakfast voucher by a manager, but it didn't make up for our miserable day. The rooms were shabby, the carpet was old, the light fixtures hung askance, the fridge was broken and everything needed a new coat of paint. In the real world $300 will get you an amazing hotel room. In Disneyland, $500 gets you a tiny run down room in a hotel staffed by people who don't give a crap that you've saved up for years for this vacation. The location is great. That's why I give it a 3 instead of a 2. Also, that is why next time I may just end up bending over and taking it again to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We are a family that has included DisneyWorld and Disneyland as part of what we do when we want to share with our children and grandchildren, meaning that we have enjoyed their hospitality in California and Orlando. I can say that i speak with a bit of authority on the matter. The world of Disney does posses a certain magic and it is translated not only in the parks but also in their hotels. Saying this i believe that this property does need a bit more of the magic found in the resort of Orlando, Florida! Their swimming pool was cold and the grandkids had no where to swim

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazedhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I wrote a review of GC that was nothing but praise. See "Avid GC Stayer & Disney Enthusiast w/ Little Kids Review"

BUT...my mom and I stayed here in April and she even upgraded our room to a two bedroom suite which costs around 500+ a night. Unfortunately, we weren't the only guests staying in that room...watch out for hitchhiking BED BUGS!!!

My son and mom were both bit. When I contacted the hotel they act as if Disney is above a bed bug infestation. I DID find it interesting a hotel staff member (or cast member I should say) informed me they would be closing the hotel in the next year and "renovating" Hmm...you mean exterminating.

Room Tip: I love the Disney hotels but watch out for the bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family and I love this hotel. The location to Disneyland and the service the hotel staff provides is great. On this trip housekeeping was very consistent and the service was excellent. The bed's are very comfortable. The only reason why we give it four stars is this hotel uses poor quality toilet paper (literally feels like sandpaper in your hands) and the showerheads are very low pressure. With this hotel being the flagship on the property I expect better. I'm not here for value or to save money. Leave the cost cutting for Disneyland hotel or Paradise Pier..

The room service menu is quite limited however the food is excellent. There is a on site laundry facility with plenty of washers and dryers.

This hotel could easily be the best rated hotel in Anaheim if it weren't for the folks who complain this hotel is overpriced and the rooms are too small. This is not the place to stay if you are on a tight budget and the room sizes are clearly posted on their website. This is the place to stay if you want close access to the parks, beautiful décor, and great service. We have stayed here several times since 2009.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelforfun06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing