We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Disneyland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is literally 30 seconds away from Downtown Disney which was the best part! I thought the lobby was amazing but the rooms were basic. We stayed two nights and had no issues at all, everyone was nice, and we had an amazing time! I do wish I would have tried the food there but the food at Downtown Disney was amazing! Oh and you could send your purchases at Downtown Disney back to the hotel so you didnt have to haul it around! Great perks!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,931 - 1,937 of 4,574 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

My family are big Disney-philes. We have been to Walt Disney World over 10 times. We have been to Disneyland twice. The best hotel we have stayed at in Orlando or Anaheim is by far the Grand Californian.

The rooms are designed perfectly for families. We are a family of five. However the Grand Californian had a perfect room for us. The room itself was designed very well with people like us in mind (place for the stroller, good bathroom, etc.).

The service was outstanding. In July we stayed at Meadowood in Napa and the Del Coronado. While the service is never going to reach Meadowood, this hotel trounced the Del in service. Service at Disneyland is not what it is in Orlando. However this hotel from the check in to the maids to the restaurants is top notch.

The craftsman style of the hotel is also outstanding. We had a nice room that was centrally located. The location of a hotel where you are literally steps from the parks is great.

This is our second time at the Grand Californian. We will definitely make a third trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCollura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My partner and I returned yesterday evening from four nights at GCH and it was the worst hotel stay we've ever had in our lives. It was a three-day complimentary stay gifted to us totally by surprise (we never ever asked for it and didn't see it coming) by Disneyland Resort VIP services to make up for our annual passes not working correctly for several months last year, and we were paying for a fourth night out of pocket. We expected it would be an awesome experience as we had never stayed there before and after all it's GCH, and we were very grateful for the offer.

Unfortunately, almost from the moment we got there, our stay began to implode. (In hindsight, we wish we had read more of the negative reviews on here first--some of which were written while were there, too!)

Among the lowlights:

When we arrived, our AC was broken.

The maintenance supervisor sent by the front desk to fix it gave us an earful about how much he didn't like the hotel or his job and how he didn't understand why anyone would stay there--and he lied about fixing the AC, and left AC condenser gunk in our toilet.

When we realized the AC didn't work very late after returning from the parks the first night, we had to stay up two extra hours (past midnight) to wait for maintenance to finally fix the AC, which made my partner miss Extra Magic Hour (EMH) the next morning.

The next night at midnight, a *roach* crawled out from under one of our beds. I covered it with a glass, put the glass with the live roach in a ziploc bag, and then went down in history as the first person to bring a live roach to the GCH front desk. They changed our room, and it took three hours to pack, move (including the eventually freezing cold room service we had ordered), and unpack in the new room. We didn't get to sleep until 3 a.m. and we both missed EMH the next morning.

That next morning after missing EMH again, we realized the refrigerator--which we always use when we visit DLR--was broken. We told the front desk about it and they said they would send someone up, and we asked them to wait because my partner was in the shower. Maintenance came anyway and walked in on my indisposed partner.

That night, feeling like all we wanted to do was check out even though the stay was mostly free and go to the Harbor Boulevard HoJo--where we've always experienced extraordinary customer service, cleanliness, and friendliness--we decided to have a drink at GCH's Hearthstone Lounge to talk it over. After waiting 15 minutes to be served, we decided to leave, which apparently angered one of the wait staff who came over and was very rude to us for daring to leave instead of waiting for him to take our drink order. (I kid you not.) When we complained to the manager, he walked away.

And on our final night, the hotel closed the entire laundry room for maintenance and we had to pack our luggage with dirty clothes (which isn't our practice) to fly home.

More par for the course, in both of our rooms, everything above or below eye level--including all the baseboards and the headboard behind the pillows where we were laying our heads at night--was covered in a long-term layer of dust, the wifi signal never ever stayed long enough to connect to it, and the rooms we stayed in and all the elevators we took were very dingy, with tarnished brass, peeling/scuffed finishes, and tattered upholstery.

On the morning of our last day, we told a VIP services cast member about our experience during the "we're sorry" trip, after we had waited months to be able to afford it fully, and how heartbreaking it was for two long-term Disneyland fans to feel the magic just disappear while staying on property. On hearing our story, the cast member *burst into tears* at how badly things had gone and erased our entire hotel charge and most of our charge-back expenses from our folio. It was the one moment at GCH that did not feel like we were being taken for granted by the staff there.

Because of what VIP services did, we came back home with more money than we left with. That means we were essentially paid to stay at the GCH. Not to be ungrateful, especially since this started off as a free "we're sorry" stay, but the entire experience was so heartbreakingly unmagical (and as a lifelong Disneyland 12-year-old, yes, the magic is utterly important!), we can honestly say you could not even pay us to stay at GCH again.

I can't understand what anyone sees in this place. The mismanagement is stunning and systemic, and Disney can do so much better. You're not supposed to yearn for the Harbor Blvd. HoJo or WDW's Pop Century--both fantastic places, mind you--when you're staying at GCH.
Yet we spent four days missing the HoJo desperately. I think that speaks volumes about the Grand Californian.

If you're reading this, my strong advice to you is not to discount the negative reviews of this hotel. I suspect the positive reviewers either have money to burn or put up with this expensive and troubled hotel because it's easy to come and go to the Disney parks with their kids. But I will tell you, I have never felt so motivated to warn others about a hotel. It absolutely, positively does not live up to its reputation. Not by a long shot.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank MichaelBenamiDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My family of 5 had a great time in Disneyland, so let's start with that. Of course, you want to know about the Grand Californian specifically. As for as location goes, especially if you have younger kids, is worth the price you pay to be there. You can take breaks, get in and out of the park easily, etc. But the rooms badly need updating. If you're accustomed to paying for higher end hotels, you generally know what to expect in terms of decor and furnishing for a hotel that's $400-$500 a night. These rooms would be more at home in a $129 a night Ramada. Just remember, you're there for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank denverchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

On our first family trip to Disneyland I decided to splurge and book the Grand Californian. Difficult to get info and not abler to book through travel agent - only direct. Heard a lot about executive club but couldn't find anything out online about it.
Upon arrival was surprised at the beautiful lobby and after a few minutes wait was directed to a reception staff member. At this stage she gave us the opportunity to upgrade to the executive club at a not insignificant cost but in the end I think it was worthwhile.
We were taken to the executive club and had a cold drink and explained about the facilities available. To get you our room was then a bit of a rabbit warren via hallways, down a couple of floors then more seemingly never ending hallways.
I had booked a suite with an adjoining room to accommodate my wife and I and 2 teenagers. Due to the lowish ceilings and dark wood as well as the architectural design, everything seemed very dark even with all the curtains open.
The adjoining room was fitted out with a queen bed and double bunks. My son found the top bunk claustrophobic as it was too close to the ceiling and the bottom bunk claustrophobic as to close to the bunk above and ended up sleeping on a mattress on the floor.
Thankfully, direct access to the California Adventure park as well as the Disney Downtown area was a godsend and we made great use of the exec club facilities to have a quiet retreat from the parks a couple of times a day.
I can't say the staff were particularly friendly or helpful but the fact of being the closest accommodation to the parks was certainly a big plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PeterDF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed her last October with our kids around Halloween. The rooms are very nice with warm touches. They provided nice amenities in the room and grey services throughout the hotel. The rooms are pricey so you are paying a premium for the comforts of this resort and the closeness to the parks. We had an evening where one of my daughter's want feeling well late into the night. I called down to see if the store was open and they notified that it was closed. They actually contacted a manger and had security open up the store so I could purchase some medicine for my daughter. They went above and beyond and we really appreciated it. Food selection was great on the site at the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rileytravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have stayed at all three of the Disneyland Resort hotels and I would rank it last. Disneyland Hotel is by far superior in room amenities and architecture (love the Mouse hand wall lamps and light up headboards). Paradise Pier is just plan fun and bright. The Grand is medicre and overpriced. Will not be staying here on our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
3,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 118 in Anaheim
4,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#33 of 118 in Anaheim
2,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £418 - £754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing