We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No service at pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #32 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

The hotel is great but there has been no poolside service in our section. Supposedly someone named Christy is working our section. Christy is nowhere in sight. The two other servers just tell us we are not in their section and Christy will be right out. It's been over an hour!! Completely disappointed. (While I am typing this..A child just yelled out "did you order food yet?" And the mom said "no she still has not come by!" Make sure you eat before you go to the pool and bring your own drinks. Service is not good. Very unDisney

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank wahunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,843 - 1,849 of 4,512 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

What a wonderful experience! We traveled by car to the hotel with our tween and teen boys. We showed up early (about 10am) in hopes of leaving our luggage, parking our car and attending the expo for the race. We were greeted at the gate and they had a parking pass with our name ready to go. We temporarily parked in front and left our luggage, checked in and they gave us our pre-printed key cards with our names, and promised to text us when our room is ready. We chose to self-park which is a short drive and walk across the street to a guarded lot.

We attended the expo which is always great fun. Had lunch at Earl of Sandwich (it was ok) at Downtown Disney and got a text around 1:30 that our room was ready. We got room 4445 it had a queen with two bunk beds with a trundle and a balcony that overlooked Downtown Disney. The room was very clean. Nice sized tv, DVD player, desk, big closet, two robes, nice toiletries, separate shower/toilet and double sink vanity. Big room with lots of space. The balcony had a near perfect view of the fireworks, an overhang above us limited the very high. I would bet the rooms above us on 5th & 6th floors are amazing views. The room does overlook Downtown Disney so when you open the sliding glass door it is loud out there. But when you close it it's amazingly quiet, you can hear some music, you can definitely hear fireworks, but we were so tired it didn't bother us. The bunks were not long enough for our teen who is about 5' 10" but he was just happy to not share a bed with his brother. :)

We had an entrance to Disneyland California Adventure only hotel guests could use and it was wonderful as it made our favorite ride Grizzly River Rapids very convenient. Disneyland park was very close as well.

We ate at Storytellers twice, the evening buffet, $30, was good they could add more vegetables to the salad area to make it great. The morning buffet, $27,was heavenly.

We had drinks at the Hearthside (?) Lounge and they made a wonderful mimosa.

The pools were ok, nothing special a nice slide for our 11 year old, a battle for lounge chairs, it took too long to get a drink. But that's not why we were there.

What made our two night stay absolutely magical was the service! From the front desk to the cleaning staff everyone was happy, helpful and lovely. The turn down service was a pleasant surprise with always lovely chocolates. The hotel itself is gorgeous. We are big fans of arts & crafts so it was beautiful to us, Stickley style lamps and chairs, huge fireplace burning even though it was in the 90s outside.

For those running the races the location couldn't have been better. Easy access, 4am coffee and loads of restaurants for fuel before and after the race.

It was a perfect Disney experience.

Room Tip: 4445 has a view of the fireworks but comes with some (not bad for us) Downtown Disney noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We recently completed a 3 night stay at this beautiful hotel. Everything was fantastic, very clean rooms, attentive staff and great restaurants. The only thing keeping this from getting 5's was the fire alarm test at 8am the last morning of our stay. I realize the hotel only has so mush control over this but really? 8am? Otherwise the hotel was fabulous and the entrance to California Adventure is an excellent perk. If you go, be sure to check out White Water Snacks, great friendly staff and excellent for grabbing morning coffee and bagels before you hit the park.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

2nd stay here and used DVC points for in their 3 bedroom villa #4513. With 4 baths, 4 balconies, full kitchen (stocked with essentials) loft with a pool table plus a 2nd entrance to 5th floor, everything was perfect, clean and spacious. The kitchen has everything you need and the dining room seats 8, plus a large living room area for more people. The living room had a large TV with built-in speakers and a huge floor to ceiling window that overlooked the entire pool area. The master bedroom was great with a separate tub and shower and the other bedrooms had their own attached full bathrooms. Perfect large groups (we had 4 adults & 4 young adults). There's a sleeper sofa in the loft & 2 more in the living room area so enough for 16 people. Lots of closet space to store everything. You can check out the room (http://youtu.be/sPmHElJp8p0) on YouTube. The beds are super comfy and hanging out by the balcony at night and the morning was relaxing. Some of the fireworks are visible at night from there as well. The loft has a pool table which we loved playing after the pools closed. There is a nice sized gym on site, they have an activities room for young kids and 2 larger pools with 1 slide, a kiddie pool plus a few Jacuzzis. The slide is a lot of fun and there a small one for tots. We all got solid Wifi signals throughout the entire hotel. There are good restaurants on site and even more just a few minutes away at Downtown Disney or you can go off-site, about a block from the hotel for more options. We had brunch at Storyteller's Café, it's pricey but very good. If you Yelp, you can save $$ at burger, pizza and donut joints offsite but close by. I've been to Apollo's for burgers, and drove to Flappy Jacks for breakfast and Chi Mac for "kfc"-Korean Fried Chicken. The hotel has a it's own entrance to California Adventure by the Grizzly ride and Soarin which is perfect for Magic hours and heading back after closing the park. They have valet parking but for DIYers, self-parking is just across the street from the entrance. The hotel staff, the lifeguards and restaurant staff were super helpful and so very friendly. Definitely a place to consider if you are visiting Disneyland.

Room Tip: Stayed here twice so far, each in a different location and happy with both rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MZMZKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed as part of a 3 day visit with my family. We arrived at about 12pm, so checked in early to get our park tickets and left the luggage with reception. We had booked a room on the club level. This gave us access to the lounge. On booking we did not realise how often through the day the served food and drinks, all included in the price. The room had 2 good sized double beds and like most American hotels a small fridge. The Disney Park was a good 5 minute walk through downtown Disney, but there was an entrance to the California adventure park in the hotel. We were disappointed to find the main hotel restaurant closed for a referb, but there were lots of places to eat in downtown Disney. The lounge provided a continental breakfast in the morning which was really nice. We really liked both Disney parks. I some ways found them better that Florida, but I think the weather helps with that. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. A special mention to Amy in the lounge who spoke to us on each visit asking about our days and helped give us useful information on the parks She also helped talk the children into going on Tower of terror with us. Big thanks for that. Also special mention to housekeeping, who seemed to have great fun arranging all the children’s soft toys on the bed each night.

Room Tip: Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sanaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The hotel itself was ok, but josh at check in and front desk was amazing! So polite, friendly and helpful, he really made our vacation/stay worth it. I would go to this hotel just for josh, that's how amazing he made our stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for josh
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AgentofMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I have stayed at almost every Disney resort and this one takes the prize. Nice furniture and gave you a feeling of luxury in the room. We had a nice balcony that overlooked one of the three pools. WiFi reception is poor or non-existent, so bring an alternative. Location cannot be beat. One side door of the hotel goes to Downtown Disney and the other goes to California Adventure park. The back door opens to Grizzy River Run which is also next to the World of Color Fast Pass distribution. Hotel guest get perks to get into the park early. Note only certain "lands" are open in Disneyland, not the entire park. Pull out sofa bed was comfortable. We had a squeaky bed, but it was comfortable. Very clean bathroom. Sink is separate in the studio rooms, so it make getting dressed with families a little easier. This is now my favorite "family" hotel. Lodge is even more beautiful than the pictures. Nothing beats the live piano player while you relax by the fireplace. If you traveling to LAX, you have many options for transportation, including major shuttle services like Super Shuttle stopping in in front of the hotel. If you can drag yourself away from the awesome surroundings, there is a good restaurant (Cocos) if you walk one block out of the front door to the left. Surrounded by other cheaper hotels within a block or two, but this one is so worth the extra money to be in the middle of all the fun.

Room Tip: We felt like we stayed far away from the lobby until we realized there is shortcut to the lobby from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#33 of 119 in Anaheim
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £391 - £787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing