We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect from 4-80” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
expat
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Perfect from 4-80”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

Traveled with young child and great-grandmother in wheelchair. Asked for adjoining rooms with one room needing a roll-in shower. Not only was this provided but also placed in rooms with pool and California Adventure views. Ambrose was wonderful with check-in. Balloons, buttons, signed pictures, and a big plate of cookies and milk (compliments of Mickey and gang) were delivered to our room....made the great-grandmother tear-up and our young son giggle with delight. Our thanks to Rosa in housekeeping for her attentive attention. We thank everyone for making our great-grandmother's first trip to Disneyland a wonderful memory we have to cherish.
TIPS: Blue Bayou a must (surf/turf). Halloween Fireworks cannot be missed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,939
    1,300
    627
    247
    131
See reviews for
2,805
524
28
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

My wife and I traveled with our two girls (3yr old & 14 yr old).
We stayed at the Grand Californian Hotel for 6 days. My first thought was; 6 days? That's a long time for Disneyland. We absolutely love the hotel, I didn’t want to leave.
We stayed on the west wing of the hotel (room 3454), we had a theme park view with the Grizzly Mountain view right from our balcony. Log Cabin style hotel, the room was spacious.
We have a GrandBed by Temperpedic (bed & pillows). The bed was so comfortable and the pillows; my wife kept saying “I love this pillows” I don’t know why but they feel better than my Temperpedic pillows”. Lol
Our little one love the turn down service with Chocolate.


A World of Convenience:
There was a stair way right next to our room that would take you right down to Downtown Disney in between World of Disney Store & La Brea Bakery Café. Both the Disneyland Park & California Adventure Park are steps away from there. From inside the Hotel you can step right out into California Adventure Park and get right in line for the Grizzly River Run ride. Our 3 year old would get tired, we simply walk back to our room and put her down for a nap= Priceless.

Excellent Food:
Story Telling- Delicious. You can do buffet style or A la Cart, your choice.
White Water Poolside Snack Bar- Also good food, decently priced and convenient
Napa Rose- Didn’t get a chance to dine here. =(.
Hearthstone Lounge- Cozy ambiance with a fire place lodge like feeling. Very cool.

Pool Fun for Everyone:
The pools were not really crowded, service was great, fun for everyone.

** Oh, I almost forgot they have a new arcade on the new right wing.

Our future stays will be only at Disney's Grand Californian Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmtoruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We love the Gand Californian Hotel we have stayed here on three occasions. The convenience of staying right next to the Disney parks is a big plus. The lobby and bar are great places to grab a few quiet moments away from the parks. We got to stay in a brand new room, in the new wing, over looking the new pool. You could even watch some of the Disneyland fireworks from our balcony. We would go less often or stay less days if we had to just to stay here. Great employees the front desk staff, bellmen, housekeeping and waitresses in the bar kept us very happy during our stay. After three stays no complaints here. They even have a child care center if mom and dad want to have a quiet dinner by themselves. O.K. one small complaint the pilows are over stuffed no way to get comfortable with them. I'll bring my own next time. Counting down to our next stay in December 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate95945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cali
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

beautiful arts and crafts style hotel,very comfy beds(didnt want to get up) and the best pillows ever!( i even brought my own but for the first time didnt use them!) housekeeping was very nice with a turn down service(complete with chocolates) staff was extremely polite and very helpful-always service with a smile. the in house resturants were a bit pricey but the food was very good. if you have special dietary needs(vegan etc) and you give them notice they can get tofu or whatever you like.the chef is more than willing to prepare an off menu item for you( he even comes to your table to talk to you personally). easy access to parks.in room thermastats so if your hot you can crank down the air.coffee maker and fridge in room. large flat screen tv(though i thought it could of been moved over more in front of queen bed ,it was off to the side ) great blackout curtins (with sheers) so you can auctually sleep in without getting woken up by sun comming in your room. and we never heard any neighbor noise or tv or anything. nice furnishings and did i say really really great bed and pillows? and everything was so clean, even the bottom of my socks were clean after walking around with no shoes on. the hotel is pricey but you can get good package deals if you look around and its really great if you want to treat yourself,we will be staying there again defintly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliFlowerchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

great place to stay with good accommodation and convenient location. service levels were great across the hotel except the inhouse dining was terribble with bad food.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doc037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
339 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

The hotel was very good - much better than many reviews had suggested - but it comes at a high price. We booked via DVC, had a standard room (front of hotel carpark view). It was a large room with good amenities, clean and in good condition. Access to Disney is unbeatable - very close and easy to get to. As a first timer I would have liked a bit more assistance in planning my time - we only had 2 days, had not been abot to conduct much research and wanted to maximise our time. Guest services were unavailable on a couple of occasions when I tried in the lobby.
Theme breakfast with Chip n Dale is expensive (but no more so than in a 5 star hotel anywhere in the world - I think we paid about $70 for 2 Ad, 1 Ch). My sone ate nothiing but was very excited at seeing the characters.
Staff are well-trained to look out for the birthday buttons and it has an extraordinary effect on a 5-yr-old to be wished Happy Birthday by name by so many people.
So yes it's expensive, but coming from Australia and with limited time I didn't regret a cent.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

We are a family of 4 from Ireland and spent 5 nights here at the beginning of August. It was our first stay here as Disney had a great special that made it justifiable instead of the cheaper hotels across the street.

The hotel was nothing short of fantastic! But, while I understand it is a resort, I feel it's about 20% overpriced. The extra mile the staff go kind of justifies the extra costs.

Disney class a child age 9 or older as an adult which means you have to pay adult meal prices for your children over 9. This is wrong! As such, we did not have a single meal at the hotel. We ate in Downtown Disney or across the street at IHOP and Denny's.

The rooms are nice but a bit small. The room safe has got to be the smallest sized safe in the entire world! It was too small for my laptop. The bath amenities were excellent!

The pool area was great! I really liked the poolside service for food and drinks. Due to the heat, and our being from cold/wet Ireland, we spent every afternoon at the pool.

The location is good for California Adventure but the walk to Disneyland is about the same distance as it is for the hotels across the street..

My daughter had a birthday while there and the hotel were great! On her birthday, when the house keeping were in, birthday gifts were left for her! What a lovely surprise for her. She also got a phone call from Mickey!

Bottom line: I would definitely stay here again!! But, I won't eat at a Disney restaurant until they remove their child meal age cut-off.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ireland_abcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing