We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #33 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This hotel is great - my brother and I stayed the week of 4th of July and it was wonderful. The hotel is pricey, but worth it as the ambiance is beautiful, its very clean, friendly, and super convenient. This is the closest hotel to the parks, is a short 5 minute walk through Downtown Disney to parks' entrance gates in one direction, and a short 5 minutes the other direction to the downtown Disney monorail station - an easy way to get into Disneyland itself w/out having to go through the front entrance. Hotel guests also have a special entrance to California Adventures, exclusive to hotel guests only - you are in the park within minutes of leaving your room!

We had a Downtown Disney view which was great - lots of nightlife and music. We could see the fireworks from our balcony as well. A room facing this direction might be a drawback for some who wishes to sleep earlier, as the noise truly only dies down late at night....though you can't hear it much if the slider door to the balcony is closed.

The onsite resturants are great - we frequented the Storyteller's Cafe which serves really delicious food with an early California, rustic/elegant vibe. The Character Breakfasts are also fun, for kids and adults.

The best part of this hotel was the convenience/closeness to the parks and downtown Disney. The room was clean, really comfy beds, and Guest Services was really helpful and attentive when we had questions about the area or needed something. The hotel has a ton more to offer (pool, spa, etc.) that we simply didn't have time to enjoy it all. We had a really great time here and would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desert_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,655 - 3,661 of 4,497 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Californian in May. We chose the hotel because of its proximity to Disneyland - we only had three days to spend there, it was our daughter's first visit to Disneyland (she was only 3.5yo), and we were willing to splurge a little with a strong Aussie dollar. After booking, Disney Vacations was offering a more discounted rate a month or so later. I contacted them, and they honoured the new promotional rate with our existing booking, saving us over $AUD600.
I was also keen to have a room with bunk beds - what a novelty!
We loved the pool area, and spent our first afternoon there, as we did not have entry into Disneyland on that day. By later afternoon, it was pretty cool and shady, so most people were in the spas/jacuzzis. The pillows on the lounges by the pool are wonderfully plump, very easy to sit on.
Our room overlooked DCA, and we were quite close to Soarin Over California - great views of the park. We had no noise at all from the park (not that we were in our room much while DCA was open) or from the monorail. We did need to walk a lot to/from the lifts, but that's OK, as we don't mind walking. On occasions, we actually wished there were stairs at our end of the floor, and another way to get from the Grand Californian to Disneyland, rather than from the lobby into Downtown Disney.
We loved the hotel, all Disney staff we dealt with were excellent and always happy to help us with anything. We didn't dine at Napa Rose or the other restaurant, just bought some snacks for breakfast at White Water Snacks (near the pool) on our last morning.
Our daughter loved the Disney channel with the Princess reading their story each day. We were relieved each night as 8pm arrived, bringing a new story with it. :)
I would recommend this hotel to anyone able and willing to splurge, and particularly with a short time to spend at Disneyland.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This hotel met and exceeded our expectations. When you arrive to check in the inside is beautiful, grand and cozy! We booked a standard room but when we checked in we asked if they had any free upgrades and we got an upgrade to a view of California Adventure. It was beautiful! The room was very sound proof and we were never bothered by any noise at the park. The beds were fairly comfy. The maids come in twice a day, once in the morning and once in the evening for a turndown service and they leave little chocolates on your pillow. One of the best things about staying at this hotel is your very own private entrance to California Adventure. We were just a short walk to Disneyland and with kids that is a huge perk! Makes it easy to come back, take naps and head back out. There are also 3 pools and 2 hot tubs. We only spent an hour or so at the pool but it was very nice and clean, however the water was a little chilly. I would highly recommend this hotel especially if you have kids. The convience to Disneyland, California Adventure and restaurants is excellent and worth every penny!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funlittlegetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Outstanding hotel. Service, location, staff, restaurants, room, all A+. Dinner at the Napa Rose was worth every penny!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthegoTwainHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We had the hardest time with reservations at this hotel. They were surprisingly unaccomodating regarding our requests for a high chair and baby bath in the room given this is a Disney property. Also, they were not helpful.

But once we got there, it was fine. The manager who checked us in was very knowleageable and helpful and she was able to address all of our needs that Reservations just refused.

The location is great and the property is nicely themed throughout. Housekeeping was great and so was the bell desk.

We stayed in a suite and had had a couple of other rooms for my family and nannies. Just be aware that the suites are super far away fromt he elevators. It's a long walk with small kids.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We loved our stay. The beds were comfortable, the views were great, of Downtown Disney and the monorail. The balconies were really nice. The pool was big and my five year old loved the slide. In fact, we stayed two nights when we only planned on one. We will be back, after we've saved the outrageous rate that is. Way too expensive. Service was excellent. Chip and Dale breakfast buffet was worth it and good food. No hot water at all, just tepid and worst water pressure of any shower I've ever taken in my life. Entrance into CA was wonderful- it comes out right in front of the water ride, rafting, and just great to pop in and out.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeschool_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

After checking out of the Hilton Resort and Spa, we headed to the Disneyland Grand Californian. I had bought 3 day passes at the military base, so we were going to DL after checking in. Upon check-in, my husband and son were given buttons and balloons for there first time at DL. We were given a room on the 5th floor (called premium view) facing the pool. I had requested a king bed but was given two Queens upon entering the room. I was going to change but the bellman had mentioned that King rooms are few and far between. He said most rooms are queen rooms. I decided to keep the room, so that we could get going to DL. The room was spotless, and was just a regular room to me. Nothing spectacular given the price. It did have a refrig, but I preferred the refrig at the Hilton Resort and Spa because that refrig had an area inside to freeze things like our ice packs.

Because we were guests of the hotel we were given a time in the morning (Sat) and special entrance to get tickets to get Fastpasses for the World of Color on Sat night. The show was nice and we were given Fastpasses to the blue viewing area which was right in front. We even got a little wet from the show. We enjoyed the fireworks from our balcony the next two nights. It prob wasn’t the best view but we avoided the massive crowds.

We did utilize the pool on Sat morning. There were two water slides (one for big kids and one for little kids). My son didn’t really care about that. I found the pool area just mediocre. I really did expect it to be amazing considering every detail in DL is thought out. The pool area was just plain to me. I actually liked the pools at the Hilton Resort and Spa much better.

I think that the convenience is what you are paying for at this hotel. Its right in Downtown Disney, CA adventure is right there, no shuttles to deal with, etc. For that alone it was a 5*. I definitely liked having that feature with a 2 1/2 year old. next time we might try another on-site hotel to compare given we were not in the room all that much.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauidAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#21 of 119 in Anaheim
2,955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#30 of 119 in Anaheim
2,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 119 in Anaheim
4,452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £398 - £803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing