We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location”
Review of The Anabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Anabella
Ranked #54 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The Anabella is advertised as a four stars but it is more like a 3 stars. It does not mean it is bad, but the rooms, services and amenities are more these of a standard 3 stars. They are some better rooms than others: Some rooms can be really noisy, especially on the ground floor, close to the entrance. The pool is small but good. The restaurant is good but the food is standard.
The good: great location close to Disney, clean rooms, good service, nice ambiance, good bed
The bad: No extra included (parking and internet are extra), basic amenities (tiny soap and shampoo only), not everything works in the room (2 switched were broken in hours), expensive
If you are looking to be close to Disney without staying in a Disney Hotel and you are ready to pay a little more for a 3 stars hotel, this is an excellent choice. Just don’t expect too much!

Room Tip: upper floor, end of hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosley2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    991
    554
    339
    310
See reviews for
1,616
532
67
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Took the family to Disneyland/California Adventure. Had a Livingsocial voucher for 2 night stay with continental breakfast and parking.
PROs: Great location. Short walk to parks. Maintenance responded quickly to broken deadbolt in room. Check-in was easy. Room was clean. Nice staff @ breakfast.
CONs: Room was a little too dark for us. Always needed to have the lights on. Also, there was a LOUD high pitched noise when the room above us used the shower (which unfortunately for us was @ 11:30 - midnight) and they were 'heavy' walkers.

Since I used an online deal, the hotel was a good value. If I were paying full price especially for an upgraded concierge room, I would probably feel differently.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Our actual stay was pleasent, the room was clean and the tangarine grill and patio was welcoming. On checkout we were handed a $38 bill for about 5 minutes of hotel-phone use to Canada, for which the front-desk staff had quoted us $0.40/minute, futher to this they would not (or could not?) provide us with a breakdown of these ludicrous charges. The front-desk manager seemed to understand the frustration over this, and with a sly smile waved his hand and told us he would remove these charges and all was good... That was until we got home of course, the charges were NOT removed, and that's when the trouble began. Their phone-support was attrocious at best, I've dealt with more polite telemarketers and collections support wtf? We were told no less then 4 times by 3 different employees that the fellow who checked us out was the front desk manager by the name of "Brandon", and on each occasion told he was away (important meeting, family emergency, etc) and asked to leave contact info so he could get back to us. Lo-and-behold no one called us back, not once, and calling back would net the same response (excuse why "Brandon" was not available and that he would call back later that day or the following day). After 5 days of dealing with this phone game "Brandon" was finally available, and his response was a simple "NO" that we would not be refunded, but that is just the begining of one of the most misleading and rudest phone calls I've had the mispleasure of being on. Brandon claimed that he was not told to call us back, further he claimed that he was there listening to each phone call (when we were told he was away), that the issue was resolve and that at no time we were told he would call us back.
1. frontdesk lied about phone rate to Canada we specifically asked about.
2. frontdesk lied about dropping the charges.
3. phone support lied about calling us back.
4. Brandon lied about every step of the way, possibly trying to cover for his poor service.

In closing, if you intend to stay at the Anabella you can expect a pleasant stay if you don't have to deal with their staff. This hotel could go a long way with some re-hiring or re-training of their staff. But lies are NOT acceptable and will only alienate customers, especially when the same lies have financial costs. We will NOT be staying at this hotel again, and will NOT be recommending it to anyone we know. Stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This hotel has a warm inviting feel upon arrival, nice decor. The second room had a daybed for my 4 year old and plenty of room for the pack & play for the 1 year old. We could leave their door cracked so it was quiet for them. The mini frig didn't work and the walls/floors seemed very thin. The hotel is only 2 stories but there is no elevator just so you know. No complimentary coffee (or anythng) in am/lobby. There is a restaurant on site (Tangerine) nice staff and great food! Pool looked small but nice, we didn't have time to use it. The bedding was nice quality but I slept poorly the first night, bed is a little hard for my taste but the second night I was so exhausted from being in the parks all day I slept great! We would stay here again.

Room Tip: get a suite if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaWN2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hills, CA
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I don't think you could get more for your money anywhere else near Disneyland! True, the Annabella is a motor-court hotel with a resort ambiance...but it works for me! Beautiful rooms, great pool area (with bar service yet!) and a lobby area that makes you feel like you're in a major hotel (OK, not the Ritz, but you know what I mean!) We had lunch and breakfast there and was impressed both times. The breakfast-lunch-dinner menus are only served during specified times, which can be a little inconvenient. It does however assure you that the food is done well! There is a shuttle to the parks but it is NOT run by the hotel and is NOT FREE. It's a nice 15 minute walk, but seems longer after being on your feet all day :) ...my only complaint might be the $12 a day parking fee...Not enough of an issue to keep me away though!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLT1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We prepaid for our room through Uniglobe travel. The flight was expected to arrive after midnight so we couldn't check in until at least 1 AM. I called the hotel during the day to make sure they knew we would be arriving so late. We arrived very tired just wanting to have a good sleep. We were told that we would have to stay somewhere else because they'd had a water leak and fifteen rooms were flooded. I didn't believe it - I thought they probably overbooked and I was tired and upset. They paid for a room at the Sheraton but it was annoying to have to drive to another hotel and check in there. We came back to the hotel the next day and found out that they did re-sell our room - there was no flood. I spoke to the manager and he told me it was common practice for them to do that even when the room has already been paid for!!! Ridiculous! Nevertheless they upgraded our room and paid for breakfast, (they charged it on our bill anyway). So that was nice, and the room looked quite nice but the problem was the noise. I could hear the people above and beside us as if they were staying in the room with us. And the cars parking and traffic noise was very loud. It was kind of like a motel set up which is very noisy. It was unbearable. Everything else was fine though. The room and beds were nice and comfy but the noise factor would stop me from coming back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The Anabella was just as it was pictured on the website for a suite. A large king size bed and a double bed in a spacious room. The bathroom set-up with the counter outside the bathroom is great for multi-travelers trying to get ready at the same time in the same room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The specials on food for "Happy Hour" were very, very reasonable. The appetizers and breakfast were excellent. The only improvement I would suggest is for the hotel to provide more washers and dryers for their guest to use. It is a large complex across the street from Disneyland and there are many families with children who used the 4 washers and dryers a lot.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattimc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
1,638 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Anaheim Hotel
The Anaheim Hotel
#77 of 118 in Anaheim
1,211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anabella

Property: The Anabella
Address: 1030 W Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802-3419 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Green Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anabella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and the warm decor the perfect retreat upscale interiors,Divine TM pillow top beds, a sleep experience by the Anabella Hotel, crisp white bedding and elegant granite bathrooms. Its well appointed location is just minutes away from our Awarding Winning Tangerine Grill and Patio well known for its eclectic California Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Anabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anabella Hotel Anaheim
Annabella Hotel Anaheim
The Anabella Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing