We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of The Anabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anabella
Ranked #54 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Took my girlfriend on a weekend getaway, and let me say we both loved this hotel. This hotel is within walking distance to and from Disneyland. The weather was amazing we had the opportunity to lay out in the SC sun by the resort pool. All the people that we came across at the front desk were very friendly. Bell staff, and concierges were super awesome they will do anything to make it happen. Working in this industry it's crucial that the guest services department and the entire front line cater to the guest needs, and that's what they did. We want to thank Frank, and his boss Danny for taking care of us. They truly understand the meaning of hospitality. Thanks again Anabella. Jason & Cindy from the Four Seasons Hotel.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank travel000831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 3,242 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel is so close to the parks that you can walk to them. No waiting for buses (although there is that option if you don't want to walk, with an ART bus stop right outside) Very convenient location indeed. I would definitely stay here next time. The room was nice. The only slight negative was the walk to the room at night which was a bit dark up the stairs but that was only a very slight issue.
The concierge was an absolute life saver when my transport from the hotel was mixed up by my travel agent. The doormen always gave a happy smile when they held the door open.Felt very welcome. Had a very nice breakfast in the restaurant. It is also right next to Tiffy's which is a cute little place to eat.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to reception if you don't feel comfortable walking outside at night in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Anabella for one night to attend the Disneyland Halloween Party with our small children. Many friends have stayed there and said it was cute. Hotel was very cute, clean and the front desk staff was so friendly and attentive. We had to change our room once as the first room had a day bed and a king, not two beds as requested. They glady changed it and second room was fine for one night. Although our room was in a dark corner it was probably best as it seemed the rooms with a view of DCA would be very loud (on the street side). We had a few mosquitos in our room but I think they joined us on the way in that night. Like I said it was a dark corner room. Interior of room was nice and clean. May need some more updating but perfect for one night. Great rate! Walking distance and or shuttle to the parks. We took the ART shuttle. Kind of a long wait each way but fine with small kids in very windy weather and cheap.
Now for the food. Do not eat on property unless you have the luxury of time to wait and wait and wait. Will not do that again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have patios, some rooms are upstairs with no elevators. 3111 was in a dark corner but ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Tammi T,

We are very happy to hear that you thought our hotel was "very cute.” Our staff thrives on customer service, so it’s no surprise that they reacted that fast. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our rooms on property. On your next visit please request a non-corner room or just let us know your preference and we’ll do our best to accommodate.

For our travelers on the run we do offer a “Grab & Go” option at our to go window with a variety of savory breakfast options to get your morning going.

Tammi T, thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a beautiful room with one king bed. It was very updated with a gorgeous shower, flat screen TV that was mounted on the wall, and a comfortable bed. The room was clean, spacious enough, and overall enjoyable. My biggest complaint is the restaurant. The mediocre (at best) food is overpriced. I expected some kind of complimentary breakfast for the price we paid. You're better off heading next door to Coco's Bakery if you want breakfast. Location is within walking distance, but we were a little confused, so unless you know EXACTLY where you're going, as for directions. We ended up walking the first day and paid to park the 2nd and 3rd. It's not overly expensive and your feet will thank you at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Madison B,

Thank you for sharing your kind words with us regarding your most recent stay. We are all so pleased that you found our rooms well appointed and met your needs. We do offer a breakfast included option for our Concierge Suites. Just some food for thought for your next visit.

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you during your next visit to the Anaheim resort.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I am very disappointed in this hotel. Upon our arrival, I found that the room was not as we has requested. I specifically paid for a Concierge room that was 358 square feet with a Patio. We received a smaller room, without a patio, and the configuration was not as advertised on the website. The wall mounted flat screen faced the window, away from either bed, which is completely not what was promised online. In all online pictures the bed faces the television. Our room was down a tiny, unlit hallway in the far corner of the resort - a space that looked unsafe for a single mother to walk down when returning late at night from Disneylamd.

The response from the front desk was also disappointing. They indicated that they could do nothing till checkout the next day (or possibly the day after that) and that I would need to be present for transport of my bags. IE: in the middle of my day at Disneyland. They stated liability issues which is complete ridiculousness. As a frequent (2-3 nights per week) traveller I have never had that response or that level of disconnect from a travelers needs. I will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honestthoughts2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Elysia P,
We are very disappointed to hear that your initial opinion of our hotel was unsatisfactory. Our front desk did their very best to get you in the room location you requested. Unfortunately your requested room location was not available on your day of arrival. As a standard we cannot guarantee room locations due to many variables but will always make genuine efforts to accommodate any requests.

Being such a unique hotel with 14 different room types in 9 different buildings our room descriptions are accurate but the layout can vary slightly for certain rooms. In your particular case, the Concierge Suite booked was indeed honored. We will on the other hand look into an alternate location to mount the TV in that particular room for better visibility.

Our goal is to provide an exceptional experience from start to finish. Even though your arrival was not as desired, we truly hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay, as your room move was completed after this review was posted.

We would love to hear how the remainder of your stay went. I have sent you private message to find out. Thank you for you valuable feedback and I hope you reconsider and come to see us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked the hotel through our travel agent thinking that it was a mid-range choice. However it is definitely only a 2 star at best! Check in staff haggled over included breakfast when it was clearly stated on our accommodation vouchers. We should not have worried though because the included breakfast was a pastry and fruit or one rasher of bacon, an egg and toast. No juice or cereal! And we waited at least 20 minutes for it! The dining room was noisy, and kitchen and cooking smells were really strong all the time. On the last day we gave up and went to the IHOP nearby! In 6 weeks travel in North America this was the only place that did not provide free Internet access unless you were prepared to queue for the two terminals in the lobby!
Our room was on the second floor so it should have been quiet, however while we were there there was major maintenance going on that started at 6.00am! And because it is a motel design we could hear the early leavers starting their cars! Not something the brochures showed!
Our room was clean although it was a bit worn and the bath didn't empty easily when you showered. The king size bed was really comfortable but the air conditioner was very noisy and at night we could hear our neighbours. There were shutters on the windows but they needed to be closed all the time as people could see in as they passed to their rooms along the verandah. There were no area maps or information in the room and our telephone didn't work either.
The position of the Hotel is great though. We used the ART buses to get around and were able to purchase passes in the hotel and the bus stops straight outside the main entrance.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Kristine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Kristine B,

Please accept our apologies for any miscommunications you received during your booking process. We are pleased that the front desk staff was able to remedy your breakfast vouchers quickly; however, it is disappointing that you were not satisfied with your complimentary options.
We are all very excited to announce that we now do have a complimentary Wi-Fi option for all of our guest rooms! This integration unfortunately did take affect after your visit but all of our future guests will be able to take advantage of this great amenity.

Thank you for sharing your kind remarks about the overall cleanliness, location, and comfort of your bed. These are all things that we pride ourselves on. Service is of the utmost importance and we wish we had an opportunity to address all of your concerns during your visit. Thank you for choosing the Anabella Hotel. Should you have any further comments or feedback please feel free to reach out us directly.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Anabella in Anaheim for three night in September 2013. Upon arrival the check in was very easy the lady at the desk was very nice and gave us a free upgrade, we booked a basic room and upgraded us to a king room with two bed a bathroom, dressing area and pation – very good room and very clean could not complaint.
Only issue was when we got there a plate of eaten chocolate cake (or similar) was on the table on the patio and was moved about to different places on the patio each day but never cleared away – this was funny really but a bit weird that it was not moved!
After 3 night in a motel in hollywood we did not want to leave this lovely hotel!
Oh and the bed was soooooo comfy!! Lovely and high with crisp clean white bedding!
Parking is $15 a day which is a bit expensive but standard in LA.
It is an excellent location for Disney and much cheaper than Disney hotels. Takes about 10 minutes to walk to Disney.
Also 10-15 minute walk to Anaheim gardens where there is a cheesecake factory – must go!

Room Tip: ask for a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnabellaManager, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Alice F

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our complementary upgrade, based on availability. It sounds like you were upgraded to one of our Concierge level suites. Our Concierge Suites are our most popular rooms. They come with extra amenities for our guests looking for that extra bit of comfort such as robes & slippers. I do apologize for not having that plate cleared away, your concern was noted and forwarded to our restuarant. Thank you for spending your valuable time and staying with us.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 119 in Anaheim
1,259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#33 of 119 in Anaheim
2,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anabella

Address: 1030 W Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802-3419 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £93 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anabella 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and the warm decor the perfect retreat upscale interiors, Divine TM pillow top beds, a sleep experience by the Anabella Hotel, crisp white bedding and elegant granite bathrooms. Its well appointed location is just minutes away from our Awarding Winning Tangerine Grill and Patio well known for its eclectic California Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Anabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anabella Hotel Anaheim
Annabella Hotel Anaheim
The Anabella Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing