We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for handicapped”
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not good for handicapped”
Reviewed 28 January 2008

I am writing this review late since I was shocked to see this property received an award. We made the reservation directly with the Candy Cane due to
overwhelming positive reviews. We specifically asked for a roll in shower since I use a wheelchair. We also upgraded to the “bigger” room. The room we received was so little I would hate to know what it would have been like had we not upgraded. The roll in shower was nonexistent. Evidently Candy Cane doesn’t have one (as they had promised us over the phone) or had given it to someone else and didn’t care about any hardship it caused for us. Since we were staying a number of days, I did attempt to use the “regular” shower in the room—and fell. Only a miracle from above kept me from breaking a limb. This property is old, it was clean, but very small and not handicapped friendly at all. We were very disappointed and glad to be gone from there.

  • Disliked — accessibility for handicapped
  • Stayed June 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fushiacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,743
    744
    168
    59
    47
See reviews for
1,711
326
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

excellent place to stay, we were here for 2 nights just down the road from Disney or you could take the shuttle, right out the front.

Booked this of the website, just going off reviews, so it works.

Room was great, traveling with 4 adults, so plenty of room for bags.

It was raining on and off while we where there so breakfast was a bit of a mission, as it was to wet to eat outside, however it was great that we could take food back to our rooms, so problem solved.

  • Liked — convenient to disneyland, quiet and clean
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2008

The Hotel we booked in Anaheim hadn't confirmed our booking and could not be contacted, so with one day to go before we arrived we used TripAdvisor to help us find the Candy Cane Inn.
The manager cheerfully found a room four our family of young children, and upon our arrival made sure everything was fine. The staff behind the front desk, as in other parts of the Inn, were friendly, professional and helpful. One dealt with complications that the other Hotel was making upon us ,while we were enjoyed visiting Disneyland. Another found us the most inexpensive and efficient transport to our next Hotel in Los Angeles. They achieved this with a pleasant willingness and efficiency that we have not experienced at any other Hotel before.The place is well set up for a family friendly holiday with features such as a great and generous breakfast and by having a laundromat on site.The close proximity to Disneyland is a big plus. Any negatives? Not really as when you travel with kids, you realise that you don't expect the Ritz. The kids still compare other Hotels with the good standard of this one.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank SemajBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

This is our fourth stay at the Candy Cane, and it just keeps getting better! James at the front desk epitomizes friendly, efficient service, and goes out of his way to help with any of your travel arrangements. He arranged for shuttle service to four different attractions for our party of 10, and even typed up an itinerary for us. The manager, Jeff, went above and beyond by helping us arrange for a reclining chair for one of our rooms, as my father was unable to sleep in a bed due to broken ribs. When he discovered that we were celebrating my parents' 40th wedding anniversary on this trip, he had a package of cookies and a congratulatory note waiting in their room upon arrival. And, on Christmas Day, each of our rooms had a treat of cookies and candy canes waiting for us when we returned from the parks!

The free continental breakfast is plentiful and varied enough to suit most tastes, although a protein choice other than peanut butter would be great. Their shuttle service is a lifesaver, and always prompt. We also appreciate the laundry facilities, which are always clean and well monitered by security staff in the evenings. The pool and hot tub are always well maintained, and the grounds are impeccable. Also, there is a 7-11 and ABC Mart next door, so keeping the fridge stocked with drinks and snacks was a snap. The rooms are a bit small, but always spotless and pretty. The cleaning staff are prompt and friendly.

This is a super little hotel, and using the AAA rate, quite reasonable. We highly recommend this to any family visiting the Disneyland Resort!

  • Liked — The staff - what a great group of people!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank ABMouseketeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

This hotel is amazing.. where do I begin! Very clean, staff was very accomadating, nice and greeted us (by first name) every morning at breakfast. Their continental breakfast was a perfect start to the long disney days. The rooms were very clean and really cute. The beds and pillows were soo comfortable. The walk is about 10 minutes to the park, but with a nice day it is pleasant. Plus they have a FREE shuttle that runs every 1/2 hour.. The only thing I wish the hotel had was an elevator. It was soo tiring to carry 2 kids up the stairs after a long day at Disney. I have stayed at many of the Disneyland Resort hotels, and I will now always go back to Candy Cane Inn. I highly recommend this hotel..

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
9 Thank rnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

First time visitor to Disneyland from the UK, we stayed at the Candy Cane Jan 7th - Jan 14th.

Check in was efficient, the front desk staff were excellent.

The room (s) were of a good size, probably average for the U.S, but a lot larger than we are used to in the UK. 2 double beds, shower and bath, hairdryer, Ironing board and fridge etc. One thing missing for us was a safe and we would have really liked one in room but they were near to reception which meant a bit of a pain to remove items but no big deal.

Free breakfast......... say no more !

The hotel is so close to Disney we couldnt believe the lazy people who were getting on the free shuttle !! Some people need to learn they have these things called legs... walk !!!

All in all the Candy Cane is worthy of a top ranking in our opinion. Close to Disney, clean comfortable rooms, free breakfast and friendly efficient staff not to mention great value for money. We didnt use the pool, too much other stuff to do !

Would we stay again if in town..... YES !

  • Liked — Almost everything
  • Disliked — No safe in the room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank StevenWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaConner, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

We chose the Candy Cane Inn after reading the reviews left by other travelers. We were very happy with the Candy Cane Inn. The grounds are very nice and the rooms are small but fine for crashing each night! The service was great, no complaints. The breakfast was adequate and the pool area was nice, my daughter used it every day during our afternoon break from Disneyland and after we got back at night. The shuttle to and from the park was very handy, although we walked a couple of times and it only took about 10-15 minutes to get to the parks. It's a nice, lighted walk also! There are restaurants and stores right next to the hotel, which saved us some money on food. We didn't have any problems with road noise, it was a quiet place. For the price, the Candy Cane Inn is a great choice for families. We will definitely stay here during our next trip to Disneyland.

  • Liked — Being close to the Disney Parks
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LaConnerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Property: Candy Cane Inn
Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim, California
Candy Cane Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing