We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family accommodation!”
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Wodonga, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect family accommodation!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We chose the Candy Cane Inn based on the reviews on Trip advisor, and we're not disappointed. We stayed from April 6th until April 20th, (Australian school holidays) with our 14 & 15 year old teens on our first trip to the USA. Surprisingly, despite the busy Easter & Spring Break crowds in Anaheim, the Candy Cane was a welcome retreat.
It is very quiet and private and so well cared for and maintained. The staff are very accommodating & friendly, and seem to take personal pride in the appearance and presentation of the premises.
The free continental breakfast was a great way to start the day, with everything from fresh fruit, bagels, cereals, eggs, yoghurts, donuts as well as coffee, juices and hot chocolate.
The deluxe room was great, slightly larger than the standard size, and the beds and pillows very comfortable. We also loved that the vanity was outside the shower/toilet saving time and fights over bathroom space.
The free shuttle to Disney runs every half an hour (to and from) although Disney is only a short 5 or 6 minute walk away, it's great for those with tired little ones at the end of a big Disney day.
We also loved the free WiFi!
We would stay here again without hesitation and highly recommend it for those wanting a welcoming, friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room towards the back, a good sized room with a great view of the Disney fireworks f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you so very much for staying with us and sharing your wonderful comments with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. Our team does an outstanding job in maintain our property and I sincerely appreciate the friendliness they possess and extend to our guests! Please feel free to contact me personally should you be returning as I would be delighted to assist with rates and reservations. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    742
    168
    59
    47
See reviews for
1,695
326
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time and would absolutely recommend the Candy Cane Inn. It's extremely close to DisneyLand and we walked most days as it only took 6-8 mins to get to the bag check area. At the end of the day we took the free shuttle back if anyone was a bit tired.

The room was great and facilities like the pool etc we're excellent. Also the staff were charming and very helpful. A special mention for the free continental breakfast which was wonderful - we ate it every morning sitting by the pool.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank StarWarsJez275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your kind comments regarding our property, staff and services. We continue to enhance our Expanded Continental Breakfast and thank you for the “special mention” as the ladies do a wonderful job and they deserve kudos! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Based on good reviews we booked Candy Cane Inn for our trip to Disneyland. It's an easy walk to the park tho they offer FREE shuttle. Note the free in that statement. They also have free wireless and parking. These are things the big hotels charge for. Everyone is incredibly friendly and the rooms are clean and spacious (we had premium room). Breakfast is standard continental fare but nicely laid out and you can stock snacks for Disneyland, which is spendy for food. Pool is small but very clean. Hot tub is merely warm but pretty typical for a hotel. It's pretty quiet in the room. Bathrooms are small and a bit dated but overall it's so much nicer to stay in a mellow friendly place then a soul-sucking corporate hotel. Disneyland is hugely expensive so it was nice to not get nickel and dimed at the hotel. Good place for families.

Room Tip: We had room in back away from street and shuttle. The premium room comes with breakfast service in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushiplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we too feel that being a family and budget minded property we refrain from the charging for the following items; Our Expanded Continental Breakfast, Parking, WiFi, Our Exclusive Shuttle to the theme park and we have no Resort or Convenience Fees either. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavilion, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Had a great stay. Hotel was perfect location to Disney and Angels stadium. We were able to see fireworks right from our room and the continental breakfast each day was a perfect way to start the morning. Our only complaint was the pool was small and crowded at night but it was still nice. Beds were very comfy and room clean. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for allowing us to be of service during your recent visit to Anaheim. We do appreciate your business and yes our location is most convenient to the many wonderful things to do in southern California. Please feel free to contact me when returning as it would be my pleasure to assist with rates and reservations. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Candy Cane Inn is only a five to ten minute walk from Disneyland's main gates and Downtown Disney. It is also within easy walking distance of Anaheim Garden Walk mall where there are further dining options. Visually it is one of the nicest hotels in the area.

The hotel's breakfast has a lot of good options like muffins and boiled eggs.

The staff were good and helpful in booking onward transport. Probably the only down point was our room not being cleaned one day but we raised this during our stay so no further dramas.

The gentleman who comes by the breakfast area with the Tinkerbell toy ('Just a touch of pixie dust and we'll be on our way!') makes it all a good laugh.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durianfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and I am delighted that you enjoyed Edd, our Hotel Historian as he is a kind gentleman and has been with us just shy of 30 years. Thank you for answering my email and providing me with your travel information to research the lack of service and again, I sincerely apologize for this occurrence. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

You could throw a rock and it would land in Disneyland and it's called the Candy Cane Inn. I was coming to the area on business and was worried the hotel might be too family friendly for this specific visit...I'm glad I booked it.

The property is clean and lovingly maintained. The location is central to everything. I came for a convention and traffic was a nightmare; I left my car at the hotel and walked. I had an upgraded room at the back of the property--clean and quiet and they brought me a basket of breakfast, including fresh fruit they added since I didn't order any!

The staff are warm and courteous and quick to lend a hand or provide info about the area, including shortcuts.

The Candy Cane is my new go-to hotel in Anaheim!

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade...rooms are at the rear of the property (quiet) and they bring you breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your many kind comments regarding our property, and exceptional guest service. We are glad you enjoyed the many amenities our Premium rooms have to offer including the complimentary breakfast delivery. We have a wonderful team who take pride in their jobs and taking care of our guests and they too appreciate when folks take the time to write positive comments such as yours. Please feel free to contact me personally when returning as it would be my pleasure to assist with reservations. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the candy cane for the fourth time and it has never disappointed. Every thing about this hotel is spectacular. The grounds are maintained perfectly and remind me of a tropical location. It will be a shame if this place ever sells out to the overpriced Disney land. For those who have not stayed here, you will not find a more reasonably priced, close location to Disneyland that never fails to impress. I cannot say enough positive about this property and its staff. We are from Utah an have stayed at numerous surrounding good neighbor hotels (except for Disney properties) and this is the only place we will stay and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruzin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for being a loyal, repeat guest of the Candy Cane Inn and thank you for your many kind comments about our property, services and our team. They truly do take pride in their work and providing exceptional service to all of our guests. Please feel free to contact me personally when returning as it would be my pleasure to assist with reservations. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#15 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Property: Candy Cane Inn
Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim, California
Candy Cane Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing