We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel- Premium Room over rated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel- Premium Room over rated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

Our family of three- 8 year old daughter- stayed at the Candy Cane for a spring break trip to Disneyland and were generally pleased with the hotel. The staff were always helpful, though unaware of a discount ticket agency in the nearby mall, the shuttle was always on time and well used by us, the rooms clean and the pool area well kept and landscaped.
We opted for a premium room and while it came as advertised the value was debated by my wife and I as we walked past other rooms that had open doors and realized they are all very similiar- though the microwave was a bonus- and despite calls and visits to the front desk on three separate days we never did get our room safe reset for our stay.
The late check out was a bonus as we used that to do one more visit to Disneyland for our favorite rides and we really liked the breakfast delivered to our room each morning.
I would stay at the Candy Cane Inn again

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lou_d4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2009
Thank you for staying with us and providing us this very valuable feedback. I sincerely apologize that your safe was not properly attended to as this is certainly not the customer service that we aspire to deliver. Your concerns will be shared with our team as we certainly strive to provide 5's to all our guests. Thank you again and we do appreciate your business and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,697
    735
    166
    59
    47
See reviews for
1,669
322
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

Wow................these guys have been perfecting their act and now blow the competition out of the water. My wife and I always fly from northern CA to Disneyland at least once a year. This year we decided to drive any try to reduce the usual stress of airports and rental cars. This "Motel" offers an upgrade service which costs far less than ANY of the major hotels nearby and their customer service is second to none. With evening turn down service, in room breakfasts, a free timely shuttle and a a great staff, I won't ever stay anywhere else for my Disney trips. Hilton should drop the attitude and learn a lesson from these guys. The parking lot can sometimes get tight but the positives far outweigh walking a few spaces to your romm.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Producer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2009
Thank you for staying with us and your comments regarding our Premium Guestrooms. Many guests enjoy the additional features and services provided. Upgraded toiletries, arrival amenity, grind and brew coffee, microwave oven, DVD/VCR player with complimentary movies, bath robes, evening turndown service, the morning expanded continental breakfast delivered to the room and the 2pm check-out time. Yes, parking can be a little tight with so many folks driving SUV's and families however we do issue parking permits and monitor the lot. Again, thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

We just returned from our second stay here and absolutely loved it! We always arrive a day early just to relax and enjoy the heated pool and kiddie pool (I think that the kids liked swimming almost as much as going to Disneyland!) Great for families with young children, the rooms have small refrigerators and it is directly next to a convenience store, so we were able to purchase and store milk and other snacks. The rooms are small but we were able to easily put up a portable crib and still have plenty of room. I love the fact that it is a small hotel and after walking all day you do not have to walk another mile to get to your room. The free shuttle and breakfast were a great addition, we took advantage of both of these services daily! We rented strollers in Disney so although the walk is short (only about 5 min) it would have been difficult carrying two kids so the shuttle was perfect, it was always on time and rarely full. The drivers were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a good selection of fruit, cereal, bagels, pastries, coffee, and juice something to get you out the door and I loved that my husband could go get breakfast while I dressed the kids and bring it back to our room to eat. They have a table and 2 chairs in the room which was perfect and much easier than trying to take the kids somewhere to eat. I also appreciate that they do not charge for parking. The staff was extremely accomodating to my special requests when I made my reservation. I booked 3 rooms and asked for the ground floor and that they be next to each other, which was exactly what I got when I checked in. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are very clean and well stocked. Overall a very good value and a great relaxing place to stay. I can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaMommy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2009
Thank you for staying with us for your second time, we do appreciate your business. We try and accommodate all guest requests as it pertains to room assignments. In regards to our Pool, Spa and Kiddie Pool they are heated year round for kids of all ages to enjoy. We do pride ourselves on the fact that we have no hidden fees and all you pay is room and occupancy tax. Our expanded continental breakfast, exclusive shuttle to the Disneyland theme parks and parking are all complimentary. Again, thank you for being a return guest and please feel free to contact me directly when making next years reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fresno, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

The motel is very well maintained and professionally managed.

Danilo Gonzalez, Executive Housekeeper, personally went above and beyond expectations to promptly return via overnight courier some personal items we left behind in our room safe. Outstanding service!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2009
Thank you for staying with us and posting your experience on Tripadvisor. Your comments regarding Danilo are most appreciated as he is one of a kind and a true gentleman. He manages our housekeeping department and is responsible for lost and found. He personally calls every guest that inquires about lost and found and goes the extra mile to make sure any forgotten items are returned promptly and safely. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

We were only here one night but won't be returning. The rooms were clean but the in room a/c unit is just too loud. We found it very difficult to sleep. The unit is right next to one of the beds and it makes a lot of noise. No fault of the hotel, rude customers insist on using the "Beep" on their car alarms at all hours! The rooms have outside entrances to the parking lot and some people are extremely inconsiderate of others!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeRfromAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2009
Thank you for staying with us and I apologize for the lack of sleep you received at our Inn. In regards to the guests beeping their car alarms this is something that we all should be more respectful with. With an outside entrance hotel parking lot noise can be an issue as it pertains to light sleepers. I am sorry that your A/C unit was noisy and if at any time we are notified of such the unit is immediately changed out or we offer to move our guest. If you would like to return and let us restore faith your confidence please contact me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

Great hotel. Next door to Disneyland and walking distance to the exbo centre. James on the front desk is a super star - When we arrived at 8.30am exhausted from Australia he said even if he disn't have a room ready (which he did) he would sort something out for us! He even fixed our travel adapter on another day. Great hotel in a great location. Hightly recommend and may James be replicated at all future hotels I stay at!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olivepopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2009
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience here. Our location to the Convention Center is something that many do not realize. We are about centrally located between there and Disneyland. James, what can I say about James, he epitomizes guest service and is our Candy Cane Inn ambassador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2009

We have been coming down to Disneyland for one long trip every year since 2006 and we have always stayed at the Candy Cane. So here is a brief summary of the experience of a family of four (with young children).

As others have pointed out: the grounds are beautiful; staff friendly and helpful; continental breakfast is good; the dedicated shuttle is excellent; and, it is close enough to walk to the parks. One bonus often overlooked is the 7-11 and mini-mart right next door. We have been able to get all kinds of useful things there (snacks and blankets for in the park and scotch & cold beer for after the park).

We have not had any problems to date but from the general behaviour of the staff expect that if we did it would be dealt with satisfactorily.

Yes the rooms are small but they are clean and as long as you keep the clutter down and your kids can share a bed you will be fine.

If you need an easy place to stay for long days in the park (with a swim/ sleep/ laundry break) midday and you are not looking for luxury or fawning staff this place is ideal.

We will be there in less than a week and the comfort and familiarity of the Candy Cane is one of the things we look forward to about our annual trip.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2009
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your upcoming return visit. You are so very correct regarding the bonus of our location in regards to shopping and dining. The 7-11 and mini market next door are an added value to say the least. The arrival of the Anaheim Gardenwalk with their vast dining, entertainment and shopping selections is directly across the corner. Again, we thank you for your comments and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Property: Candy Cane Inn
Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim, California
Candy Cane Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing