We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money.”
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
WALES UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well worth the money.”
Reviewed 2 November 2005

Stayed here this summer with my wife and two teenage sons. It was our first time in LA. Booked the room as a result of Trip Adivsors positive comments. Checked in by friendly staff who allocated our rooms. The rooms were large, clean, and connecting, as per our request. Although the property is more like a Motel in design rather than a Hotel, it is very difficult to find fault as regards the value for money.
My only criticism of the stay would be that our room was situated at the top of the staircase. At the bottom of the staircase there was a drinks machine. At the top was a seated area with a table. On some nights, this would attract other guests to congregate outside our room. This did not affect the rest of my family but did wake me on one occasion. The first floor rooms are in a desirable location (ie watching the Disney friework display) just make sure that you dont get one of the two rooms situated at the top of any of the the staircases.
There is a small pool (quite deep) which the kids loved. The breakfast was fresh, free and adequate (do arrive early for best selection and dont be afraid to ask staff if they seem to have run out of something). The Laundry machines were a bonus and there was a garage/gas station next door selling everything you need. A number of fast food take aways are within easy walking distance. Oh, and I nearly forgot, Disney is literally NEXT DOOR. The walk to Disney is about 10 to 15 mins (due to the size of the place) but a regular shuttle bus takes you to and from the parks. The bus is run by the Candy Cane and is free of charge (the drivers are very helpful and knowledgable of the best places to eat in the area).
The Disney Parks are fun. Our teenage sons preferred Disneys California Adventure to Disneyland Park. If you are going with teenagers, make sure to visit Universal (as we all thought it was a better day out than Disney).
I gave the Candy Cane a 4 out of 5. I would have given it a five if the seats were removed form outside the rooms. Overall, this place is pretty near perfect.
If you're travelling to Disney with your family, dont waste your money at the branded hotels. Stay here and with the money you've saved, treat your family to a city tour with 'Tony The Limo King' - we did and we loved it. Thumbs up to the Candy Cane!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank KVC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    742
    168
    59
    47
See reviews for
1,695
326
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2005

My bestfriend and I stayed at the Candy Cane Inn Oct. 24-27, 2005. We have both stayed at the Disneyland Hotel in the past and we both agree that the Candy Cane Inn has a much friendlier & helpful staff, cleaner rooms and the best all-around value for your money. The location is just as good if not better than the Disneyland Hotel. We enjoyed the terrific expanded continental breakfast in the mornings. Our room was tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The staff were all extremely nice, polite and helpful. The shuttle to and from the park is free (we usually walked) and the parking is free as well. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank anamacbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 October 2005

I saw them cleaning the carpets in the rooms. I've never seen that at any hotel ever. Rooms were very clean. We upgraded to the Premium room and it was big. We liked having the continental breakfast delivered to the room in the mornings. I am already going back in November. You can see the fire works from the park perfectly. The walk to Disney is 5 minutes. For the money I say this GREAT! Pool is small, but you've got Disneyland down the street. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2005

We chose the Candy Cane Inn after researching on Tripadvisor.com and we were not disppointed. The proximity to Disneyland was fantastic and we utilized the shuttle service as well. The free parking and continental breakfast were wonderful perks as well. We would definitley stay here the next time we travel to Disneyland.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank bambam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2005

Our family stayed 5 nights in September and couldn't fault the Candy Cane Inn. Check in mid afternoon was quick and easy, staff pleasant and same when we checked out. We had upgraded to a deluxe room, and had requested a room near the back of the property so as not to be bothered by street noise. We were pleased we did this as South Harbour Blvd is a very busy road. Our room was lovely, tastefully decorated, clean, very comfy beds and with the peaceful location we slept extremely well every night.
Breakfast was fantastic, the largest selection of foods we found anywhere on our month long trip. Yes, the breakfast room is small, but we enjoyed sitting around the pool to eat, and you could also take your food back to your room if you wished. We found sitting around the pool area a good way to meet other visitors and then we seemed to often catch up with them again sitting in the spa pool in the evening.
The pool area was always clean, and there was no shortage of towels. The whole property is kept immaculate, there were always staff to be seen cleaning, gardening etc, and they were, without exception friendly and polite.
In our opinion the location can't be beat. Same side of road as DL, only a five minute walk at most, and if you can't face that short distance the Candy Cane Inn have their own shuttle, which runs frequently. We initially didn't think we'd use it, but we did several times, and found it perfect after a long day out and especially after our girls had been shopping at Downtown Disney!
Our youngest daughter fell very sick on our last night there and staff were instantly familiar with a service where we could ring a Dr to come to the hotel to see her, which was great as we didn't have our rental car until the next day.
Wouldn't look anywhere else for accommodation if lucky enough to visit Anaheim again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank kiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 October 2005

My husband and I stayed there for 5 days and celebrated our 9th anniversary. The hotel grounds were beautiful. The rooms were immaculate and beautifully furnished. The staff could not have been more caring. Anything we needed; they were right there for us. Their continental breakfast had fresh rolls, coffee, juice, milk, and a microwave if you wished to warm the rolls. Not only were the rooms clean; but they cleaned the upstairs banisters and walkways every day. They made sure you did not miss your shuttles. They had a nice pool and jacuzzi. We did not use them; but they were nice. Thank you staff for making our anniversary so special. I have told all our friends to stay there. You may use our first names which are Dave and Elaine

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2005

I've stayed at several Disney area hotels, and this is my favorite. It's a great value for the money. The rooms are as comfortable as anything at the Marriott, the Hilton, or even the Disneyland Hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms plush.

The breakfast by the pool is good and plentiful. One morning we didn't get to breakfast until 15 minutes before it was set to end, and it didn't even look picked over. There was still plenty of everything.


The Candy Cane is one of the few motels in the area with its own shuttle to the parks, and it arrives in a timely manner. The shuttle is included in the price of the room. Other hotels have no shuttle but are on the route of the Anaheim Resort buses which will cost you extra and stop at several hotels along the way.

We found the staff friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cmeents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#15 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Property: Candy Cane Inn
Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim, California
Candy Cane Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing