We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why You Should Stay at the CCI”
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Why You Should Stay at the CCI”
Reviewed 5 November 2006

Wondering why people seem to love the Candy Cane? On the surface, it seems to have what all the other hotels have - rooms, shuttle, pool. It costs a little more than many of the other properties. It's clearly not in the Disney properties class, so why do people consistently rate it so high on TravelAdvisor?

Some highlights:

- Great staff, who go out of their way, time and again, to solve problems and make your stay better.

- A REAL, STAFFED front desk (increasingly rare in Anaheim).

- A DEDICATED shuttle service to the parks - other hotels share a shuttle, so it stops all over and if you miss the window at your hotel, you're out of luck. The CCI bus waits for most of the half hour at the hotel, then makes a run over and back. Perfect if, like us, you consistently get to the bus only to remember you forgot your tickets, water bottles, sunblock, hat, autograph book...

- True walking distance to the parks (if you don't want to shuttle).

- Nice rooms for the cost. Definitely value for money. Again, you won't find top-of-the-line amenities and linens, but very nice compared to comparably-priced hotels in Anaheim. Each room has plantation shutters to block out light, and double-paned windows to block out sound.

- That breakfast! Perfect for families on their way to the park. To buy breakfast along Harbor or Katella you will, I promise, have to stand in line for 30 minutes and then pay through the nose for bad food. At CCI, we eat our bagels and cream cheese or cereal at poolside and stow our apples for mid-morning, and we're happy and $30 richer. We always meet interesting people at breakfast, too.

- The clientele. We have never been awakened by a frat party, a truck rally in the parking lot, or a shouting match down the hall. And yes, all these things have happened to us at other Anaheim properties.

We discovered CCI by being lucky enough to win a stay there several years ago, and it's now our regular Disney lodging. We've stayed at 4 other Disney hotels, and none of them even come close. We happily pay the extra $20 or $30 a night for our room over other Anaheim hotels because we know we will sleep and eat well and that our memories will be of the park visits, and not of the (bad) hotel stay!

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Tips/Secrets — Go!
  • Stayed November 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank SuzeePee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,738
    744
    168
    59
    48
See reviews for
1,706
326
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2006

The rooms and decor were nice but in general, we were extremely unsatisfied with our stay and felt that the management mishandled the following issue: We booked the hotel under the AAA rate and when arrived, the management refused to honor that rate because we didn't have the AAA card with us and we didn't know our AAA number. We are AAA members but simply forgot our card. Instead, they insisted that we pay an additional $40.00 per night. It was a Sun-Wed booking so there was plenty of aviailability. Pretty much every other hotel nearby were willing to offer us the lower rate, even without the AAA card. When I inquired about this with management, the manager was extremely rude. Needless to say, after one night, we checked out and stayed at another similarly nice hotel on the same block for the lower rate.

I travel often and never have I experienced a hotel that was willing to lose business when there are many vacancies. It seems to me that it would have been better to honor their quoted rate than lose the business altogether.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank CoCoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2006

We stayed at the Candy Cane Inn for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The premium room was great as breakfast was delived to your room each morning and that was a time saver. Our room was very clean and nice. The grounds were immaculate and very quiet. We found the pool area to be great and never crowed. Our overall experience was great. The shuttles run every half hour which sometimes was a pain. I wouldn't recommend walking it if you have small children. We carried our daughter (3) home one night and it nearly killed us, but for those without small children the walk is easy. The staff was always friendly and prompt. I will definately stay here again!

  • Liked — Premium room with breakfast delivery
  • Disliked — Shuttle schedule
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank ashenrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2006

Very, very nice place to stay. Close to Disneyland. You can walk or they have a shuttle. The room was very well kept and clean and nice size. The people were very nice and the continental breakfast was good. Grounds are very well kept and beautiful and the pool is nice, especially nice to have breakfast around it. I definitely will stay there again when I go to Disneyland

  • Liked — Rooms very clean and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank auburn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2006

My wife, son, and I recently vacationed in southern California and were looking for a place to stay in Anaheim while visiting Disneyland. After reading all of the great reviews in TripAdvisor, we decided to book a room for a few days.

The Candy Cane Inn wasn't available for our first night in the area, so we stayed at the Fairfield Inn that night.

The Fairfield was okay -- but it was a big multi-story hotel, the elevators were very slow (and some weren't working) and it was impossible to find parking at night!

When we moved to the Candy Cane Inn the second night, we were pleasantly surprised. The place is like a secluded oasis with beautiful landscaping and has a nice courtyard area, pool, kiddie pool, and spa. There was sufficient parking, the continental breakfast by the pool was really nice, and they had a free shuttle to and from Disneyland. And, the place is close enough that you can actually walk to Disneyland if you want.

If you are expecting a five-star Hilton experience like one of the recent negative reviews, then you may be disappointed. But we loved the place and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends and family!

  • Liked — Ambience (landscaping, paving, garden/pool/oasis)
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TheScalises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2006

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a three week fly drive in Southern California .. our first stop was the Candy Cane Inn.

We absolutely loved this hotel, we arrived tired and jet lagged, and the front desk staff we helpful, accomodating and friendly. We reserved a premium room, and I would recommend this to anyone who books here, as the extra touches provided by the turn down service, complimentary goodies on arrival and the huge pleasure of having breakfast in bed, helped us get over the exhaustion of several full days at Disney.

The Candy Cane provides a free shuttle to Disney, but we didn't use the bus, as Disney is literally a short, safe five minute walk away, even late at night/early in the monring when returning from Downtown Disney.

Our room was right at the back of the U shaped courtyard, and so we were not disturbed by any noise as previous reviewers appear to have been.

We loved the Candy Cane ..and will definately recommend it to anyone visitng Disney in California

  • Liked — Proximity to Disney, Extras provided with premium room
  • Disliked — All Good
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a premium room, and walk to Disney instead of waiting for the bus
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank justpastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2006

If you want to stay in a low end motel with annoying people. Stay here. If you want a place you can tolerate go across the street to the hilton..

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank digcon442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Property: Candy Cane Inn
Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim, California
Candy Cane Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing