We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay while enjoying Disneyland”
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Ranked #5 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2007

Our family loves Disneyland, and to us, a visit to Disneyland also means staying at the Candy Cane. The people are so friendly, you feel like you are staying with family. The rooms are clean and extremely comfortable - the breakfast great. Be sure and book early as they are very busy. We look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank loveitUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,384 - 2,390 of 2,826 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2007

We stayed at the Candy Cane Inn at the recommendation of a friend and read the reviews online from TripAdvisor. I have stayed at the Hilton, across the street from Disney, the Sheraton across the street
from Disney, but I saw the #1 rating for the Candy Cane Inn.

The price is OK, but again, this is a MOtel not a Hotel. It is very noisy at night and yes you can hear all the noise from your room. The grounds are nice, but this is a MOtel so we are not going to walk
around the parking lot admiring the landscape. There is NOTHING to do at this hotel, other than sleep when possible. You cannot expect anything else. The rooms are small, but clean. The shuttle to the park was great, but common.

What you are paying for here is proximity, and again that is no different than the Sheraton or the Hilton. Don't let the #1 rating fool you. This is NOT the best hotel in Anaheim by a long shot

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank San_Diego2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2007

I have stayed at the Candy Cane Inn numerous times in the past five years and am loathe telling people how great it is, but I am a loyal TripAdvisor reader now therefore feel compelled to share. My number one rule of travel is: ALWAYS stay at a hotel/motel/inn that offers complimentary continental breakfast. You save a lot of money not buying fancy breakfasts! Well, I think Candy Cane Inn has one of my favorite continental breakfasts of all time! Assorted cold cereals, variety of hot instant, oatmeal, wheat & white breads, assorted muffins, croissants, bagels and tea cakes, fresh whole fruit, coffee, tea, hot cocoa, orange juice and apple juice all served in a cute breakfast room next to the pool! The staff is always friendly and helpful when you check-in/out or have questions and the CCI has its own shuttle not connected to the ART (Anaheim Resort Transportation) that runs on the half hour picking up at the Inn and taking to the park, visa versa. Its soooo nice getting on a shuttle that goes directly to the hotel instead of having to stop at many hotels like on the ART before getting to your own, especially when your feet hurt!

True, the Candy Cane Inn is family friendly so there are always families with little ones running around so the noise, especially at night when weary souls are coming back from a long day in the park are trying to get to their rooms might be a little bit distracting. But, it calms down very quickly after that. If noise bothers you at all to any degree, get some earplugs! I have never seen any shady characters hanging out in the parking lot (sometimes at hotels you get the drunks or party-set raising hell) and the rooms are lovely and comforterable with the coffee maker a must, at least for me. I really like how big the bathtubs are when I need to nice bubble bath after walking all day. My fiancée is a reporter and cannot be without his computer/internet access for long and CCI’s free WiFi is a god send! Oh yeah, did I mention the Inn is only a half-block away from the front gate in case you want to walk instead of take the free shuttle?

For the price, you cannot beat the Candy Cane Inn. No other Good Neighbor Hotel in the Disneyland Resort Network can compare on price, service, value and amenities. I do not know why people spend so much money on the Resort Hotels when all they are doing is sleeping in that expensive room!! Also, PLAN EARLY AND MONTHS IN ADVANCE, especially if you want to book the Candy Cane Inn. Also, if you find there is no availability in the CCI when booking through AAA or Disneyland.com and you don’t care about the whole package deal, you can call CCI direct and they usually have rooms available (there are only so many rooms given to AAA or Disneyland.com and they book fast). You can then just walk up and buy your tickets in the park the morning of your first visit. Takes more time but saves a little more money!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Shelbystarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2007

Our family of three, mom, dad, and a 15-yr.old son, spent 4 wonderful nights at the CCI. The grounds are beautiful. One afternoon we returned early and found a crew dedicated to trimming the vines and flowers that envelope the hotel. The parking lot is brick tiled, not paved concrete. It's like an extension of Main Street USA.

One night we decided to stay in the room to watch the NCAA championship game. Reception was great except the station we needed was unwatchable. We called the front desk and were already making plans to go to a sports bar or ESPN Zone. A technician arrived within 5 minutes and adjusted the cable and we could see the game. He came back two minutes later and replaced the problem cable. I tried to tip him but he refused. That is First Class Service in a motel that averages about $120/night.

The rooms are not huge but big enough. That they are able to fit in 2 queen size beds into rooms originally built for doubles is a miracle. The furnishings are way beyond ordinary motel beds and tables. The TV was a nice 35". Not a flat screen but at these prices who's complaining?

The only noise we heard was at the pool. It closes at 10:00p.m. There are no noisy hallways for kids to scream. We found getting a nights sleep no problem at all. Especially on those beautiful queen beds. Thank you CCI. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank epmntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2007

Our family booked directly with the Candy Cane Inn after reading all the accolades from Trip Advisor, which is usually spot on!
Oddly enough, this time we regretted following the popular vote, and next time will spend the same money and book a quieter, and more private place to stay. This is a MOTEL: (a motor-hotel.)

The rooms are in a 2 story U-shape building layout, facing the parking lot in the middle. Everyone in the parking lot can see in to your room, especially at night when the cars bright headlights shine right in as well. You will need to close your curtains if you stay on the ground floor.

Although the complimentary shuttle, and sugary muffins & yogurt breakfast are appealing to many, it didn't outweigh the dark, noisy rooms, thin walls, late night chatter in the parking lot, and loud window-mounted air conditioning units, many which you hear humming on and off all night long. If you need rest for your busy day at the theme parks, don't count on it here!

We booked the ground floor "deluxe 2 dbl bed" room since we didn't like the idea of hand carrying up all our suitcases on the outside staircase as you do with a 2nd floor room. When we glanced into other 1st floor rooms being cleaned on our way out of the complex, they all looked the same size! Makes you wonder what the extra $20 extra for "Deluxe" per night gave us?
You might want to look into this if you are booking here. The beds were very soft and saggy, which some may like, but we sure didn't. One bed was literally only 1" from being right up against the entry window wall, with no standing room at all, and the other only 8" inches away from the inner wall. With 2 adults and 2 little kids, the room was very cramped. Just very average in size, so expect no more.

Oddly, the bathroom sink area is actually in the room, with a large dressing counter, and a small closet. Only the shower and toilet are in their own little room with a door. We found that brushing teeth, or washing at night will wake anyone lucky enough to have even fallen asleep, since there is no door for the sink area. There is a useful in-room mini fridge, but even that couldn'tt outweigh the non-stop car doors banging, people shouting out to each other at all hours, kids screaming and crying, voices echoing down the concrete halls till after 12AM, and noisy, but free, shuttle that comes every 30 minutes.

The price and "un-hotel-ness" may attract you, but light sleepers are in for a rough time at the Inn! (Tip: You might try requesting rooms closer to the front, near the small pool and front office area, since the shuttle doesn't stop and unload the loud and inconsiderate people late at night right in front of your room there. The shuttle parks and loads towards the end of the parking lot.)

Just remember, you get what you pay for, and for $20 more per night with a AAA rate, there are some very nice, quiet, and larger- roomed alternatives at the nearby Marriott, Sheraton, Embassy Suites, Doubletree, Hilton, & Hyatt Hotels, where cars are not feet from your doorstep, as they are with a motel situation like the Candy Cane Inn.

Be forewarned here if you want any privacy, quiet, or just a much needed good night's rest after a full day with The Mouse!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
24  Thank avidtraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2007

Candy Cane Inn was a great hotel for visiting Disneyland. Grounds were beautiful, rooms were comfortable, breakfast was plentiful. The coutesy shuttle to and from the hotel was always on time and dependable. With tired kids and pregnant wife the shuttle was welcomed by all after a long day. Hotel is also close enough if you just want to make a quick walk. Staff was very helpful in suggesting resaturants. Will stay again for future trips.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank stschaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

Our recent experience at the Candy Cane Inn confirmed the reviews that have been posted before. It's a well kept property, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the staff are very helpful. Housekeeping was great-- and we always returned to a clean room in the afternoon. The shuttle was dependable and it was really just a 10 minute walk to Disneyland.

One thing we found very handy were simplified maps the front desk staff have on hand for various attractions in the area. We used them for a shopping trip in Orange County as well as to the John Wayne airport-- they were really easy to follow even if you're not used to busy California traffic and the myriad of highways!

Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#6 of 119 in Anaheim
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 119 in Anaheim
1,713 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £139 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim, California
Candy Cane Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing