We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place, depending on what you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good place, depending on what you pay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I paid $75 a nite through Priceline (bidding). For this price I was satisfied.

The Pros:
The hotel is inviting from the outside with a great pool and spa. Definitely not what you think of when you think of "Holiday Inn". The hotel provides several luggage carts to ferry your stuff to your room. Upon arrival the staff was friendly and we got our room on the 9th floor (the top floor). I went back to the front desk to ask for another suitcase rack and within two minutes there was a knock on the door and an employee had the extra rack.

The hotel provides some toiletries if needed. They don't offer to let you reuse your towels to "be green", which to me I like because i want new towels each night. The A/C unit was top notch and had a digital thermostat on the wall. The room provided a fridge, coffee maker, iron, and a safe. You have your choice of firm or soft pillows, each are provided and labeled on the bed.

We ate at the restaurant for breakfast on our last morning there and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was friendly, the food was prompt and good, and kids eat free keeping the cost down. It was a welcome change from the previous days of McDonalds for breakfast on the way to Disneyland.

The elevators are fast and there are three of them. We never had to wait more than 20 seconds for an elevator. The public areas of the hotel were very nice. They have a workout room as well. They have an arcade I heard, but I never ventured to see it.

The Cons
The hotel room was showing some signs of wear, especially in the bathroom. There was a dime size piece of the tub missing (black spot on the tub). Some of the trim needed repainting, esp near the floor. The TV is an old tube TV...not that were were there to watch TV. The hotel had a lot of channels but no Disney Channel, which would be nice for the kids since we are at Disneyland and all.

Our room was facing the parking lot and there is construction work being done next door. I think they are expanding an overpass over the freeway or something. One of the nights they were out there doing work late. The other nights they were not (likely due to rain). This isnt the hotel's fault of course.

There is no free breakfast, but kids get to eat free at the restaurant downstairs.

One of the nights after Disneyland both of our room keys no longer worked. I went to the front desk and they reswiped the cards which worked. They tried to tell me, however, that it was our fault and that we needed to keep the keys away from credit cards and cell phones. Im not sure what they expect you to do with the card keys then.

Parking is limited in the late hours. I was always able to find a spot however. The location of the hotel is odd as it is off of a one way street. If coming from Disneyland on I-5 take the Disney Way exit (NOT Katella Ave) and follow signs for Manchester Ave.

Overall:
For me it is about what I got for what I paid. I paid $75 a nite and I was satisfied. But I got this price from priceline by bidding and you aren't guaranteed any particular hotel when you go that route. The normal rate looks to be $110 and for that price I would consider Embassy Suites (which had a deal for $115 at the time) or Aryes Inn near the Honda Center. Both are very nice and have a great hot breakfast for free.

For $75 a nite though, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I bid $75 on priceline and I got this hotel. The room rate to book directly is much higher (around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ieatskunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    443
    177
    83
    77
See reviews for
496
162
57
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

While our initial greeting was not as welcoming & warm as I would have expected (Ie: a rather gruff, unfriendly employee), subsequent interactions with the staff were pleasant & professional.

The room was comfortable & clean, though the interior design was a little 'tired'. The halls could have benefitted from a bit more attention from housekeeping, as plates & empty bottles often sat outside rooms for some time.

The hotel should also adjust the room doors so they don't slam, as the noise was sometimes quite irritating.

The restaurant was fine, standard fare & fairly priced, with good service.

All in all the hotel was good & comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear htravelbug,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your room accommodations as well as the service at our restaurant. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry the experience at check in was less than satisfactory. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27568609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here in September for a week long trip to Disneyland and LOVED IT!!

Front desk staff super healpful. Had a 5th floor room facing the pool so it was nice. Rooms were clean as were corridors and entryways. Carpets had just been cleaned so they were "moist".

Room itself had comfortable beds and adequate towels and also shampoos, soaps and the like. Made use of the inroom safe and the seperate enclosed closet as well as dresser were much appreciated for the length of our stay.

While this is a little further from Disney we didn't mind it as we didn't want to be super close to all the "commotion". The ART pickup was right infront of the hotel, well off to the side a little, but on premises and we never had to wait longer then 20 minutes for a bus to the Park. Plus for 20 bucks unlimited use for four people....can't be beat! I enjoyed not having to plunk over $15 a day for parking and dealing with headaches and lines. Had enough of that in there!

Breakfast at the hotel was great. We received free vouchers for breakfast each night of our stay and while the choice was limited the pancakes were large, the potatoes were seasoned perfectly, bacon was never greasy or overcooked and with choice of coffee or juice it was more then enough to get us and the kids moving for the day. There was only one morning where service was a little slow but it was a Saturday and we did come down a little later than what we should have.

The pool area is amazing! Large pool was more than roomy to hold bunches of kids and keep us adults who just wanted to lounge from getting splashed. The jacuzzi while a bit removed from the pool was a nice little secluded escape and was super nice. Table around the pool area were always clean and tidy. Plenty of towels always available and if there were none the convienent phone outside by the pool bathroom area made it super easy to request more or simply order drinks by the pool.

The game room was decent. Nothing special but then again I am not a video game junkie. My 6 and 7 year old seemed to like it though.

All in all this was a wonderful stay. I am sure I am leaving other things out but we had a blast and can't wait until 2013 when we go back again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuixotikalOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I booked an executive suite for my honeymoon and when my wife and I came in the entry way carpet floor was soaking wet, there was no bathtub, there were flies in the room and vacuum lent left on the lamp shade. On top of this when I came back to the hotel later on I checked for parking and there was none in the parking lot nor the shared lot with the neighboring hotel, even though one customer is allowed to take up 4 parking spots with one vehicle. When I confronted the front desk about the issues they said they had nothing to take care of flies and they told me to simply wait my turn at the lobby until a parking spot opened up! I waited 20 minutes to park in my own lot and I had to deal with flies in my face all not on my honeymoon. I didn't pay for this kind of treatment. Never staying at another Holiday Inn again because of this crap!

Room Tip: I picked the most expensive room on the top floor and it was supposed to be the biggest. Ended up be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ace r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
ace r,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

It would be unfair to give a lower mark to this hotel as I was the one who chose it for us to go to Disneyland, and, I really did not do enough research. The hotel was nice. Clean and quiet. If I was going to a convention at the Convention Centre I might give it a look.

The restaurant did not provide quality food on either time we visited it. Our dinner one night was very poor and if we had not been meeting some others at the hotel on our last day at breakfast time, we would not have chosen to try it again. Breakfast is pretty simple, but again, not worth the price. In previous stays at Holiday Inn there had been breakfast provided in the price, but not here.

The shuttle to Disneyland was supposed to be on a 20 minute schedule, but it was more like 30 on average and the longest we waited was closer to 40 minutes. The walk would have been about 2 miles through some construction and skirting the highway, so despite our ability to walk that far, we didn't try it.

The room cost was over $200 per night, tax and fees in, so much too expensive. Our next visit to Disneyland will not be at this hotel.

On a positive note... I did correspond with Caroline Bice at the hotel before coming down about some things and she was not only prompt with her replies, but extremely helpful. 5 stars to her.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top and away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GibsonsGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear GibsonsGolfer,

Thank you for staying with us. I am deeply sorry that the shuttle bus was running a little slow when you stayed. Normal running time is approximately every 20-25 minutes. You comments on the food service will be shared with the appropriate departments. Thank you for your kind words about Caroline, Its always nice for one of our staff to know they are doing a great job.I would love to see you again and restore you faith in our hotel.

Thanks again,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked this place on Hotwire and were very happy with what we got. The service was very friendly both at the front desk and on-site restaurant.

The location is close enough to the Disney gates that you can walk if you feel like some exercise (around 30 min) or you can catch an inexpensive shuttle bus from outside the front door to the park gates, which runs most of the time.

Very nice pool area outside; great for families. Rooms had a mini-fridge. The place was very clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmstudentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I am a Holiday Inn Priority club member and had asked when I booked online for a room that faces away from the Interstate as I'm a light sleeper and the noise would make it difficult to sleep. I was annoyed on check in to find my room faced the Intersate ! The staff were unable to swap rooms. A pair of my ear plugs helped block out some of the traffic noise but not all of it.

The shower tray in our room didn't drain properly meaning after a shower there was always a pool of stagnant water at one end. (The maid did clean and dry this every day.)

Enough of the moans. I have stayed here several times in rooms facing away from the Interstate. On those occasions I had no complaint and would have rated my stay as a perfectly acceptable average (clean, quiet rooms).

I would have really liked to have rated this hotel as below average, poor is a little bit harsh.

Room Tip: Obviously rooms that don't face the Interstate are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimHistoryBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
TimHistoryBuff,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Anaheim.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
0.2 mi away
The Comfort Inn & Suites Anaheim, Disneyland Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Pepper Tree
Hotel Pepper Tree
#27 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
0.9 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area

Property: Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
Address: 1915 S Manchester Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Anaheim Resort is located in the heart of Anaheim, just minutes from Disneyland, is a full service hotel with 264 guestrooms, including upgraded executive king rooms. The Holiday Inn Anaheim Resort also offers free wireless high-speed Internet throughout the hotel, including the Pacifica Ballroom, ideal for meetings and social functions. The Holiday Inn Anaheim Resort sells Disneyland Tickets in the Disneyland Resort. Located just 1 mile from the Anaheim Convention Center. Other entertainment venues within one mile include: Anaheim Stadium/Honda Center, the Home of the Anaheim Angels, Downtown Disney and Disney's California Adventure. The perfect hotel for a Disneyland vacation. Enjoy breakfast and dinner in our American Brasserie Restaurant and Bar, featuring pool and watch sporting events. Pool side drinks and dining from the Cabana Bar (seasonal), are available. Located just 4 blocks from the hotel is the Block & Garden Walk, offering movie theaters, several restaurants and shopping options. The newest Holiday Inn in Anaheim, built in 2001. A full service hotel with friendly amenities of a resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing