We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Southern California experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pepper Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pepper Tree
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful Southern California experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2008

The Hotel Pepper Tree can be described in one sentence. "The best kept secret in Anaheim!" We will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Neighborhood
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BerBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    1,051
    366
    141
    59
See reviews for
1,459
661
88
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

We would absolutely stay at this place again; we really enjoyed our stay of 5 nights. We had two rooms and a total of seven in our party. The kitchenettes were great although we did not utilize them the way we had wanted to, but that was because we just didn’t have time to cook. We did use the full sized coffee pots daily. We also used the nice BBQ grill at poolside and enjoyed a nice steak dinner one day. The pool and grounds were nice and clean. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and it was so nice to come back from a day at Disneyland to a clean room everyday. The maids do a wonderful job cleaning, even around a messy bunch like us! The staff were friendly and professional and the Aztec restaurant was also nice.
Disneyland was terribly crowded during this time and driving by all the other hotels/motels near Disneyland that were jam packed, we quickly appreciated the short 10 minute drive from The Pepper Tree where it was much less congested! The only complaints I have are that the walls are quite thin and it sounded as if there were a herd of elephants living upstairs from us. Also the one morning that we had allocated to sleeping in was ruined by all the other hotel guests who were up early and talking in the hallways, again, very thin walls! The other complaint I have is about the “free wireless internet” that we should have had was not free! When I inquired about it, I was told that there would be a $5 charge to use it ($5 for the whole 5 days). While this was a nominal fee, it still was not what had been advertised. For the principal of it, we opted to use the non-wireless PC in the lobby when we needed it, and most the time it was available.

  • Liked — cleanliness and comfortable feel
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali99801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

A good example of why this site is useful. I never would have found such good value for money so close to Disney. A far cry above the Harbor Blvd. properties for less money. The lobby area is really warm and welcoming and Rick on the front desk, who lives on property, is a great guy.

I had only one complaint - housekeeping needs to be more diligent. I found a couple stains and a hair that was definitely not mine on the bed spread on my second night.

Next time I will check before accepting the room - others in my party reported perfectly acceptable cleanliness level, linen-wise, so it may have just been a slip up.

The neighborhood is typical Anaheim - many people don't realize just how down market the city is. Most of northwestern Orange County is about the same. (The first night there, we saw a bunch of guys in gang colors handcuffed and sitting on the curb, being interrogated by cops just a couple blocks east of the property.)

Staying near the Disney gates does offer the illusion that you are in a nicer area, they do work hard to keep it looking good, but drive two or three blocks in either direction from the corner of Harbor and Katella (the main intersection in front of the park) and it looks just as crummy. Katella west of the park is particularly ugly, so is Euclid, which runs N/S west of the park as well.

So, I wouldn't think it fair to characterize the neighborhood around the Pepper Tree (W Lincoln at Gilbert) as any worse, it just isn't in the immediate "Anaheim Resort" area that most people are used to.

As far as getting in and out of Disney goes from here, it is easy - weekends, just hop on I-5 at Euclid and its a couple minutes into the garage. Weekday rush, take Lincoln to Euclid to Ball and you're there with no freeway traffic.

When necessary to stay cheaply, I probably wouldn't be bothered to look elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank heycollegeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2007

Not a 4-star hotel but absolutely perfect for a quick trip to Disneyland, which is only about 10 minutes away. The hotel was nicely decorated and the staff couldn't be nicer. We had 2 adults and a teenager in a double queen room and there was plenty of space. It was also nice to have a frig and kitchenette available as well. The rooms do come with a continental breakfast but you have to go outside to the restaurant next door. If you're looking for a hotel close to Disney without paying the Disney prices, this is the hotel for you. A perfect family hotel, clean and fairly inexpensive.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Needs some renovations
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JudgeNJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2007

After reading the reviews, we decided to give this place a try, but we won't be back. First ,the good: We were able to check in early, the room was clean, and the bed was super comfy. Now, the bad: Very noisy, no tissues, burnt out light bulbs that weren't replaced, a mediocre continental breakfast in a freezing restaurant, awful coffee in the room, kitchen cabinets and drawers that were in need of repair, and a tub that no longer had any non-skid and was lacking a safety bar. The first day we were there, workmen were outside our room with saws. The manager actually called and asked if we would mind if a worker came through our room to work on the balcony. No, we were having our Thanksgiving dinner at the time, but they did put up a ladder and we had to close the drapes or have workmen staring in at us. The last morning we were there they were spreading steer manure on the grounds. The smell was overwhelming. We spoke with the manager and he apologized, blaming the "home office" for most of the problems. For the price, we have stayed in better places in Anaheim and will not be back.

  • Liked — The comfy bed
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zephyr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
small town, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

Our purpose for staying at Pepper Tree was our planned trip to Disneyland with our young sons. While the neighborhood was not the greatest, the hotel itself was very clean and I liked the overall Spanish decor. Plenty of room for the four of us. The hotel felt safe and secure to me. We noticed how incredibly quiet the hotel was! While we didn't spend a lot of time in the room other than to sleep, we really did enjoy our stay there. Very convenient to Disneyland, it only took us about fifteen minutes to get there. We thought the restaurant was nice enough, and even though the breakfast was "light", all of us still appreciated that we could fill our bellies with fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastry, bagels, juice, and coffee! It was enough to see us through a morning on the rides at Disneyland. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again, given the opportunity!

  • Liked — size of room
  • Disliked — neighborhood
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A-OMomofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2007

We were evacuated from our home in San Diego county during the recent fire storms. As we joined the exodus of vehicles heading north, our son in NY was trying to find us a pet-friendly hotel. Most of the ones near us were full. We arrived at the Hotel Peppertree expecting the worst, but were very pleasantly surprised. The room was large and clean with a kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator, with plates, pans and utensils. Every room is a non-smoking room with an outside patio. The swimming pool was kept clean, even with ash in the air from the fires. Even though the hotel is in a busy, working-class part of Anaheim, and we had a large family next door to us, the rooms are quiet at night. The staff, Manny, Karen and Rick, were friendly and went out of their way to assist in every instance. The restaurant provides great food, from breakfast to dinner - try their nachos! Laundromats are right across the street, along with other nearby shopping. We felt blessed to have found Hotel Peppertree; even our dog was content. We will be back.

  • Liked — Allowed pets
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kwmthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
5.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
4.0 mi away
Stanford Inn & Suites
Stanford Inn & Suites
#11 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
3.8 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pepper Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pepper Tree

Property: Hotel Pepper Tree
Address: 2375 W Lincoln Ave, Anaheim, CA 92801-5105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pepper Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover old fashioned hospitality at Hotel Pepper Tree, a unique extended stay hotel with kitchens in Southern California style and rustic Spanish influence. With warm earthy decor, hand–crafted wood furniture, and Hollywood memorabilia, our home–style boutique hotel is the perfect place to work or unwind in Orange County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pepper Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Anaheim
Pepper Tree Hotel
Hotel Pepper Tree Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing