We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel ... sort of.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pepper Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pepper Tree
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel ... sort of.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Hotel Pepper Tree was a somewhat mature hotel centraly located in Anaheim California. It's location is ideal for visits to Disneyland and Knott"s Berry Farm.

Positives:
Very affordable and good value for money
Friendly helpful desk staff
Older but clean (almost, see below) and comfortable rooms
Full size kitchen with all utensils
10 minute drive to Disneyland
Charming Mexican decor with several ponds and nice landscaping
Small pool
Convenient grocery market across the street

Negatives:
Decorative fountain in ground floor room not working
Limited hot water during peak periods
Cheap breakfast offered at attached restaurant barely edible.
Urine smell in fold out couch in room

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have little walled courts. I guess this is for security . This may bother some bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,030
    1,054
    367
    141
    59
See reviews for
1,464
666
88
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

we enjoyed our stay, the room was nicely decorated, and the kitchen was such a blessing. the hotel is right across the street from a supermarket and it has its own restaurant. a bit old-ish, the fixtures are old, and you need to request a hair dryer, but all-in-all it was a good deal, and we were happy with what we got. oh- and clean, too! I wish the quiet hours were enforced, as our room was right above the pool, and people went in it at around 4 am, loud and all... other than that, we recommend it to anyone that doesn't want to pay a fortune but still wants to enjoy being away from home, and still feel comfortable

Room Tip: stay away from the pool side, to avoid possible noise during sleeping hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Pro's- the room was big, clean and had all the in room amenities u could ask for. The kitchen and the balcony were impressive. The breakfast was a great inclusion to the room. The fee was small. Hot and cold breakfast. Key needed to enter hotel after 10 pm. Vallarta supermarket across the street. Granted an 11 am check out w/o any problem.
Rustic type setting. Full.bar at restaurant. Free parking. Away from the disneyland area crowds and resort fees.

Cons- no jacuzzi and pool was cold (second weel of April). Had to get towels from front desk. Checked in @ 155 pm and waited 10 min for room key. The hallways: difficult to pull luggage cause of the slab of carpet in the center and on the sides cause of the cobblestone like tiles. The small ponds looked dirty. I could see how little kids could stick there hands in the water to try to get the small fish. Difficult exit onto lincoln blvd. if turning left out of hotel.

Neutral - Saw sign if karaoke every night at the restaurant.

Overall-- if u go w kids, i say do it in the summer, so they can enjoy the pool. I would stay here again if i wasnt looking at swimming.
Value cant complain. The room itself was the highlight for me!!!!! And second was the value of the breakfast ($2.50 a person i think- purchased at front desk. Buy on morning of eating, cause if u buy in advance, and u dont use it, its non refundable).
Outside of that, i DID like this place, I think the only options of rooms at the peppertree are one or 2 beds (good thing).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneeddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Returned to this place after a couple of years, still maintained well - great place to stay if you want to be near Disneyland and have a studio suite. Almost same price as other motels which are 3 mins closer to Disneyland but totally a different experience than a motel stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We found this hotel by accident and felt like we discovered a hidden gem. Our room had a balcony with a fountain, a full kitchen, and a huge bathroom. We loved the Mexican themes Decor as well.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrzyQbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We choose this Hotel because my mom lives 2 blocks away. We live in Pennsyvaina & came out for a death in the family. We searched by computer for all the hotels closeby. The pictures looked very charming & the price was right. Also the site had good reviews. My daughter & I were in the Studio, with the kitchen. We had cute Patio, a sitting area inside & comfortable beds. We couldn't afford an expensive hotel, so for the price it was safe, clean & comfortable. Not at all "motel" like. We used the wi-fi also. We will look forward to going there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineM226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Where to start. First of all, it's less than 10 minutes to Disneyland which was our destination for the weekend. Totally reasonable prices. That said the rooms were really cute. I love the old California feel to them. The fountain at the entrance, the pavers throughout the hotel and rooms. It was nice having the fridge, microwave, etc even tho we didn't really use them other than the fridge for our bottled water. The rooms are large with plenty of drawer and closet space.

However, this place is NOISY! I mean really NOISY! There is no insulation anywhere. Between the rooms or between the floors. We were on the first floor with a patio room (which I loved). But late the first night the people in the room above us started dragging furniture. The next night a family next door came home, turned on the tv and with their kids, we could hear absolutly everything they said and did. Everything! We let the front desk know, but they wouldn't do anything. Both nights this was after 11:30pm, which I think is a reasonable time to expect a little quiet.

We ate dinner at the restaurant and really enoyed it. Made a great Margarita! In all there were 7 of us and we booked 3 rooms and all of us had the same complaints noise wise.
Bottom line, the price was great, but I don't think I'd come back. I'd rather pay a little more to make sure I'd actually get a night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank collz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
5.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 117 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
4.0 mi away
Stanford Inn & Suites
Stanford Inn & Suites
#11 of 117 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
3.8 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pepper Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pepper Tree

Property: Hotel Pepper Tree
Address: 2375 W Lincoln Ave, Anaheim, CA 92801-5105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pepper Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover old fashioned hospitality at Hotel Pepper Tree, a unique extended stay hotel with kitchens in Southern California style and rustic Spanish influence. With warm earthy decor, hand–crafted wood furniture, and Hollywood memorabilia, our home–style boutique hotel is the perfect place to work or unwind in Orange County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pepper Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Anaheim
Pepper Tree Hotel
Hotel Pepper Tree Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing