We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with a nice price.”
Review of Hotel Pepper Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pepper Tree
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Havasu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a nice price.”
Reviewed 22 July 2007

We needed a hotel for our trip to Disneyland. I wanted to have some spending money for souvenirs, ect.
We decided to stay at Hotel Pepper Tree because of the room price and not too bad reviews. My husband and I were impressed with the ample room and nice decor. The rooms were clean and the service we recieved was above average. The free continental breakfast served at the Azteca restaurant was very good. Fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins, toast, donuts, danishes, coffee, tea, milk, apple and orange juice. (A nice variety of free foods) My husband and I had the breakfast special which was offered for $3.99. (pancakes, 2eggs, 2sausage and 2 bacon strips). The Ralphs supermarket across the street is very convienent to stock the fridge.
Finding our way to Disneyland was very easy and quick. Good luck in finding a better deal! We will stay at Hotel Pepper Tree again.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Applebit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    1,079
    377
    145
    61
See reviews for
1,497
681
90
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We stayed here 2 nights while visiting Disney. We really wished we had arrived a night sooner ! I think the website shows the hotel very fairly.....infact, I expected a smaller space for the 2 room suite. We were thrilled with the size !!! The kids could have the room with the kitchen....we just took the coffee pot to our side for the morning ! Lovely balcony with flowering vines. Very short, easy drive to Disneyland. We were in Californina for 10 days, our last 2 nights were spent here, The PepperTree was our best value and most comfortable stay !
Thank you !

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vindemure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2007

This is a great place to stay for families with children. It's not the fanciest, nor the most luxurious, but it is clean and it sure has a lot of room.

I have a family of 5, and my wife demanded that we stay in a suite where the children could have their own room for our CA vacation. That cuts down dramatically on selection and good deals available. That said, I really felt like this one was worth the effort of my searching.

When we first arrived, we were so amazed at how much room there was that we thought they had made a mistake by giving us two rooms. Actually, the suite is made up of two adjoining hotel rooms, each with their own bathroom, kitchen, tv, etc. Our room had a comfortable king bed, and the kid's room had a twin with a futon (kid's room sleeps 3 total if you fold out the futon).

The hotel has a Mexican theme, as do many in this area. The neighborhood is nice enough (we hate staying in scary neighborhoods) with a Ralph's grocery story across the road. It is located within 10 minutes of Disney, and we were able to get there pretty efficiently even during rush hour (use the carpool lane!!!).

The rooms were clean, though not fancy, and as I mentioned earlier, very large. You almost feel like you are staying in an apartment.

The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast at the property restaurant, and it is a nice one. We ate there each morning. They offer a nice variety of fruit, cereal, yogurt, big muffins, donuts, toast, and the like. It's nice because you can actually go sit down in the restaurant to eat it as opposed to most complimentary breakfasts being held in a lobby area. If you want, you can order a discounted breakfast from the complimentary breakfast side as well. We also ate at the restaurant the first night of our arrival, and we had good service and food (Mexican theme).

There were a few cons to the hotel, so I thought to list them:
1. Quirky Stuff. Showers go hot and cold (I hate that).
2. No clocks, but who needs them with our modern age of cell phones, laptops, etc.
3. Futon was quirky and difficult to unfold. I had to ask the front desk for help. He and I worked on it together, and after a call to his manager, we were able to figure it out.
4. There are two showers (one for each room), and the kid's shower was spitting water out the side. We arrived late, so we just couldn't use it the first night. Maintenance came up and fixed it the next day.
5. Internet WiFi is consistent (you have to get a username and password from the front desk), but often slow because of poor reception. Sometimes I got great reception, then sometimes very low, and I never did figure out why.
6. Housekeeping did a great job each day, but they don't do your dishes for you. It took us a few days to figure out there was dish washing soap under the kid's kitchen sink, but no sponge or other obvious washing rag. What's with that?

The good news about all the cons was that the hotel staff were great, friendly, and always went to bat for me with any problems. They even printed out my Southwest Airline boarding passes for me using their front desk computer (they have a public computer in the lobby, but you can't print from it.)

All in all, would we stay here again if we came to Anaheim??? The wife says yes.

  • Liked — Space, space, space and lots of it. 2 full kitchens in 2 full rooms with 2 tvs. Good service.
  • Disliked — Quirkiness of some stuff.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bcdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2007

Our main reason for staying in Anaheim was Disneyland. We stayed in this hotel as it was a fair bit cheaper then hotels closer to the park. We used the public buses to get to the park which tended to take about 30 minutes each way. This worked out ok but it would have been easier with a car. The room was a nice size and the kitchen area was very convienient. The people cleaning the rooms did a good job and one day they even did some dishes for me I left in the sink. The free continental breakfast was pretty good with a nice selection of food (unlike some other hotels). The shop and laudromat across the road were very handy and there is a fair bit of shopping close by or easily accessable by bus. The free internet was a nice bonus as well. If you get the Greyline bus to go to Seaworld/Universal/San Diego, as we did, expect to be the last ones dropped off as they do the hotels closer to Disneyland first. This got a bit annoying by the end of our stay as it adds .5 - 1 hour onto the trip.

My main problem with this hotel was the noise. People in the corridors could be heard very clearly. They have cobbled tiles in the corridors and there is an aweful racket as people wheel their suitcases around. Carpeted corridors would go along way to resolving this, as the way it is now sounds just echo around. We were pretty close to the lift and this was also pretty noisy. The night we left (3 am to catch a flight) someone had locked there girlfriend/wife out of their room and she could be heard begging to be let back in for around 30 mins before we left to get our taxi.

  • Liked — The kitchen
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aus23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie on World Trip
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the excellent service from desk staff (thanks Rick!!). The rooms were huge!! Self-contained with everything you could possibly want - including a wide variety of shops and supermarket just across the street! Great pool view with our balcony overlooking the pool. The restaurant was fantastic for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Internet service was fantastic also. Had
a great time here and fantastic hotel for young families.

  • Liked — Great self-contained rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing I didnt like.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

Before you read this consider that I went here for part of my honeymoon with my wife, thinking it was a very nice hotel with Spanish style theming as is implied by the picture of the hotel online. To our disappointment this is not the case. The decor was Spanish themed, but aside from some nice fountains, there really wasn't anything special about it. Overall the architecture was looking run down and old. Perhaps they have improved it in the last year.

According to the web page for this hotel they had a restaurant on site. This is misleading. First the said restaurant was still under construction and not open when we were there. Second, when you hear "on site" you think it is in the hotel, this is not the case. The restaurant is located in the hotel's parking lot.

The hotel rooms attempted to make some kind of theme, I'm not sure what, with wicker furniture. They do have kitchenettes, one of their primary amenities. Kitchen features stove top, oven, and nice big fridge and freezer. The wicker bed, while very soft was surprisingly comfortable. We were there during that big heat wave in July 2006 and the A/C didn't work very well. Since we were on the ground floor we had a fountain in our patio (yes, looked like all rooms had patios or decks) but it was not working. A safety issue was the gas stove top. The layout of the kitchen puts the stove top directly across from the fridge with little space between. It was very easy to turn one of the gas knobs and not realize it when putting stuff into the fridge. Bathroom was small but the room had a large changing area next to the bathroom. Be careful if you have kids!

The hotel provides free wireless internet, a plus. The downside was that the connection was not very reliable, dropping frequently.

Since it was our honeymoon we stayed one night then canceled our reservation and went to Embassy Suites in Garden Grove. A phenomenal improvement.

If you can get a good price and its not a special occasion, then this is a decent place to stay. If you're on a honeymoon go somewhere better.

  • Liked — Lower price, free internet Wi Fi, comfy bed.
  • Disliked — Nothing like the pictures. On site restaurant not open (probably is now). Wicker furniture. Old.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ieatskunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark4464, General Manager at Hotel Pepper Tree, responded to this review, 15 June 2007
Thank you for your comments. Since your stay with us a year ago, there have been many updates to the property and the restaurant has been opened. During your stay with us in July 2006, we were still finishing the remodel and renovation of our Hotel and apologize for your inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2007

The hotel staff was not very helpful. They don't even have an ice machine. Their continental breakfast was through a restaurant across the way. The rooms appeared shabby and very unattractive. Their check-out time is 10:00AM. That is unheard of. My boyfriend and I stayed for just one night. I would think twice before using this hotel again.

  • Liked — room came with kitchenette
  • Disliked — hotel staff, rooms appeared shabby
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RAK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
5.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
4.0 mi away
Stanford Inn & Suites
Stanford Inn & Suites
#12 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
3.8 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pepper Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pepper Tree

Property: Hotel Pepper Tree
Address: 2375 W Lincoln Ave, Anaheim, CA 92801-5105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pepper Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover old fashioned hospitality at Hotel Pepper Tree, a unique extended stay hotel with kitchens in Southern California style and rustic Spanish influence. With warm earthy decor, hand–crafted wood furniture, and Hollywood memorabilia, our home–style boutique hotel is the perfect place to work or unwind in Orange County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pepper Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Anaheim
Pepper Tree Hotel
Hotel Pepper Tree Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing