We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a small walk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Inn and Suites
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a small walk”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We have stayed at the Castle Inn when we do a two day trip to Disneyland. Wonderful place, free parking for one car when the others charge $9 or more, and spacious rooms. The sofa in the mini parlor had a thin mattress, but the separation wall was great. The kids could believe they were in a different room. This is my first choice for a hotel. Only suggestions are to get thicker mattresses on the sofas, and new carpet in the rooms.

Room Tip: Room 214 was away from things and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you so much for the nice comments you posted regarding your recent stay at the Castle Inn & Suites! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and that your kids were excited about the room you were in.

We understand that additional costs while traveling are frustrating and we are glad that we are able to provide complimentary parking for our guests.

Thank you again for your time! We look forward to your return visit in the future!

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    627
    221
    81
    70
See reviews for
1,058
190
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed here the first time with a friend in March 2010 and it was great. Big and clean rooms, comfy beds, very quiet. Good water pressure in the showers. So when my family and I knew we were going to Disneyland this month (Dec 2011), I booked a room without looking at other places. What a mistake. This time, while the rooms were still very clean, there was nothing much else good about it. The beds were rock hard, I had to keep turning over because my shoulders would start aching. The bathroom door squeaked so loud that if you got up in the middle of the night, opening the door would wake the whole room. There were rips and tears in the sheets on both beds. I realize this is an old hotel, but that doesn't mean the bedding has to be old too. The shower temperature would adjust itself and there was no pressure, just a trickle. The towels were thin and had the consistency of sandpaper. The refrigerator would run off and on all night long so loud that we finally had to unplug it for the remainder of our stay. Unfortunately, even after a great experience the first time, I highly doubt I will be returning after such a disappointing second visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. Its obvious some rooms are of better quality than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PunkyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post comments regarding your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay but are taking your comments very seriously and are looking into them.

We are proud of our Customer Service and our Staff is always happy to help guests when the guest feels that something might be wrong or there is a problem, especially when they have been notified while the guests are still on property.

Thank you again for your time! We hope you will reconsider and stay with us again on a future visit.

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

It is a couple of minutes walk to the main entrance of Disney and parking is free for one car. No breakfast, the room was ok, bathroom was clean. Front desk was friendly . The facade did look like a castle, tough I think the rooms could do an update since the carpet was a little worn out.

A good value since the other nearby hotels and motels are more pricey.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
We wanted to take a minute to say thank you for recent comments. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your nice words about our staff!

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Thank you again for your time!

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This was our second time staying here. The walk to Disneyland is easy. The rooms are large and have refrigerators and microwaves. We didn't use the fridge though because it was SO loud when it was on. Didn't need it anyway, but if you are planning to use one, you might check to see if there are more quiet ones in some rooms. I did find the bed and pillows to be fairly uncomfortable and the room fairly worn out. The water pressure in the shower was nearly non-existent. My son kept waiting for the water to come on after it was already on. The tv picture was mostly static on most of the channels. We didn't complain because it didn't matter. Only used it briefly in the morning for my daughter. The staff was nice and honored my request for a certain room location, which was great. The cleaning person left swan-shaped towels that delighted the kids. There was a lot of noise coming from the pool area at night but ended by 10. Oh, a problem for my husband was that the wifi didn't reach our room. He had to go sit in the lobby to use his computer. Anyway, it was a good value overall for the size of the room. We had two double beds in one room and a queen (though hotels call this size king) in the other.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you for choosing the Castle Inn & Suites, again, for your recent trip to Anaheim. We are thrilled that you continue to stay with us!

We appreciate your comments about your visit and have definitely looked into the items you mentioned. We are certainly happy that our staff was able to accommodate your request to stay in a room in the location you prefer and that overall you had an enjoyable visit. It looks like you were in one of our Family Suites and we wanted to clarify that those suites have a king size bed and two queen size beds in them.

Thank you so much for your comments! We appreciate them very much and look forward to your third stay with us.

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The Castle Inn and Suites is close enough to walk to Disneyland but for those long days or cold nights, the Anaheim Resort Transit has a stop very close. Also very close is a 24 hour Subway, a pizza place, Chinese food, and Mexican food. All cheaper alternatives to the regular Disney fare. The rooms are clean, housekeeping makes up room before lunchtime (in our experience), the front desk is friendly and helpful, and they have a decent pool and spa. Going through getawaytoday.com usually nets you the 3rd night free at The Castle. Great deal!! We have stayed before and will come back again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us earlier this month! We are so happy to hear that you continue to return and always enjoy your visit.

We are lucky to be located in such a good location, which showcases the local restaurants in the area. There are several choices, as you mentioned and it is very easy to walk to any of them.

Thank you again for your time! We look forward to your next visit!

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This place has bed bugs and the staff doesn't seem to care. When we brought the one bug we found down to them the man at the front shrugged and said, "yes that does happen. We have many international guests". We were given a refund but no type of compensation let alone apology for the fact that we had to find a new hotel at 12:30am the night before Thanksgiving. Don't stay here unless you want bed bugs!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lmcpetsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Please be assured that the Castle Inn & Suites is proactive in all pest control issues and we use a national pest control company who regularly inspects and services our rooms. While we understand your concern with the bug you found in your room, bugs can get into rooms through an open door, open window or on luggage. Our staff, which is trained to look for such things, and the pest control service thoroughly inspected the room after you checked out and found no evidence of bugs.

We pride ourselves in our customer service and cleanliness of rooms. We did offer a complimentary suite, along with the refund and are sorry that you did not feel that the offer was adequate.

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Castle Inn and Suites is within walking distance to Disneyland. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are a bit dated but came with a mini refrigerator and coffee maker. Our room was cleaned daily. For the number of proper staying at the suites, it was very quiet. Wifi connection was sketchy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Castle Inn & Suites! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff lived up to all expectations!

Thank you for bringing up the issues with the WiFi! Rest assured, we are definitely looking into it.

Thank you again for your review! We look forward to having you stay with us on a future visit.

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn and Suites

Property: Castle Inn and Suites
Address: 1734 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#12 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#13 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Inn & Suites is a 200 room hotel located directly across from the Disneyland Resort and just a 7 minute walk to the Disneyland main entrance. We feature all rooms with at least 2 Queen beds and also offer many 2 bedroom family suites with a king size bed and 2 queen beds, with a television in each room, complete with a refrigerator and microwave. We have a heated pool, year around, with a jacuzzi and a children's wading pool. We have coin operated washers and dryers in our on site laundry room, or if you prefer, we offer valet laundry service. Free parking, a gift shop and free WiFi services also await you. Come and enjoy this Castle themed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Anaheim
Castle Inn And Suites Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing