We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #23 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 May 2011

It was fantastic. I made an error when I booked the room and it was not big enough for our family. They gladly changed rooms to one that would fit better the first night.

When we had to change rooms ( because of late reservations) for the rest of the trip so they had us leave our stuff packed on the beds. We went to Disneyland and when we came home late all of our suitcases were waiting in our new room. I was thinking we would have to put them in the car all day and then come back in the afternoon and check into our new room. This saved the walk back to the hotel and the hauling of luggage in and out.

Facilities were clean, staff bent over backwards for us.

Room Tip: Yuha Kids suite great for teens and adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howes801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,639 - 1,645 of 2,023 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed at the Desert Palms with our two children 6 and 10 years for 6 nights, the rooms were very keen and so well maintained and beds comfortable, however our window only opened 2 inches and the air conditioning smelt terrible so we felt hot and stuffy while in the rooms. The breakfast was not great lacked in healthy breakfast cereals and fresh fruit. On the plus side there was free internet access and the pool and hot tub were good, and location was within great walking distance to Disneyland.
We did think the pool was open too long in the evening 10pm is very late when there were many families with small children staying at the hotel, the noise from the pool could often be heard up until 10pm.

Room Tip: check opening windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We had booked a trip throw Get away today. We asked for the desert palm but they were full we had stayed there befor about 3 years ago and loved it. But they ended up boking us with the Ramada inn. We new the min we walked in it wasn't going to be good. I called the next day and there still was no openings to move us. But on the 3rd day Desert Palm had an opening. The staff there are so nice and the rooms so clean they make your stay worth every penny I will only book throw them. It is awsume and close to disney.
Thanks to all of the staff at Desert Palms:D Want to expecially thank Nevine you were the best..
Pam Post
West Valley City, Ut

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pampost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and found the staff very friendly, helpful and we even got an upgrade which was a very pleasant surprise. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
Our room was very spacious and had everything we needed. Everything was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Nice and quiet our room was on level 3 on the back wall.
Located very close to Disneyland (only 10 min easy stroll).
The breakfast was great we loved it. The waffle makers were a highlight for our kids (and us). All in all a great start to our holiday. We were so busy with Disneyland etc we didn't have time to use the other amenities eg pool but was nice to know they were there. They appeared very popular.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozheares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

You can't beat the Desert Palms suite variety for room arrangements. We decided to stop by Disneyland on our way taking back our son and his girlfriend to USC. Obviously we wanted to keep the sleeping arrangements separate without the expense of an extra room. The two bed suite plus separate living area with a foldout bed worked perfectly for us. We were close enough to Disneyland to walk, but isolated enough to not have the constant noise and traffic of families coming and going. We have stayed here on a number of family trips over the years and we keep on coming back. We are planing another visit right now.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jckamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

As Randy from American Idol would say, it was "just a'ight." We arrived very late in the evening, and the only kid suite that was available had a gas leak and smelled awful. They ended up putting us in another room which was not what we had booked, and it as just ok - a little on the tacky side, but livable.

The next day, we were moved to a kid suite right next to the elevator. That meant that we got to listen to the elevator all night long (our room shared a common wall!) and also listen to people waiting for the elevator right outsite our door and talking all night long. Needless to say, we were not happy, but there were no other rooms available. We were absolutely exhausted between spending the day at Disneyland, and not being able to sleep at night. Based on this experience, I won't stay here again. I'm sure others may have had better experiences if their room was not uninhabitable and they didn't have a room adjacent to the elevator.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redhotroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

-Exceeded my expectation, very clean and quiet, great service, great location. Actually the rooms are much bigger and of better quality than the 'tour' pictures on the hotel website suggests.
-I booked one of the cheaper rooms, but it still had 2 tvs, large sitting area, fridge, microwave, safe, etc.
Pointers:
-Curiously, a note on the safe says you will be billed an additional $1/day 'convenience fee' for it, but apparently they don't do it behind your back. My bill was credited $1 daily without my requesting.
-Breakfast area can get crowded with a lot of young families getting ready for Disneyland, but food is always plenty; coffee was good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsafiriTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,694 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £121 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites Anaheim, California
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing