We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both bad and good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
calgary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Both bad and good”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting disneyland. We stayed in the yuha suite that has the bunk beds for the kids. This is not luxury but adequate lodging. The design of this suite is very poor as there is a giant frosted window between the kids bunkbed room and the adult room so that if you put the kids to bed early (the whole point of this room) they cant get to sleep because of the light from the adult room. We found ourselves having to watch tv in the dark so the kids could sleep. However this was nothing compared to when a noisy family moved into the suite above us. It literally sounded like a bowling ball was being tossed around above us. Im sure the kids were jumping around on the bunkbeds and slamming the door. This is when you get an idea how THIN the walls are. When we called to complain the front desk told us both nights that there was nothing they could do until 10pm (quiet time) since my kids are little and go to bed at 8 this was not helpful at all. She was very rude and even told me that I couldn't expect children who were coming back from disneyland "all wired to be quiet" her words exactly. I thought that strange because my children had come back from disneyland and could still behave in an appropriate manner and since when did slamming doors and jumping off bunkbeds become expected behavior? My daughter was scared and kept coming out of her bed to ask what the "bombs" were. After 2 nights of complaining we were moved to the top floor and it was so much better. However it took 2 sleepless nights to get there so i'm not sure it was worth it. When you pay all the money to fly and go to disneyland, i would suggest paying a little more and staying somewhere quiet. It was no fun when we were in the park and the kids were tired and cranky because of the noise the night before.

The included breakfast was plentiful but totally what you'd expect from a free breakfast. Lots of processed food very little fresh food.

Room Tip: get a room on the 5th floor if you stay here. But still expect noise the walls are thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avidtravelercalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    653
    273
    104
    99
See reviews for
1,346
152
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

If like us, you would rather staff off-site Disney to reduce your accommodation costs, but still want somewhere close enough to take a break during the day, this is a great hotel. We booked a family suite, and while initially a little disappointed because the room was a bit tired and due a renovation; however it was clean and tidy and great for putting our weary heads down each night. The breakfasts were included in a great rooftop buffet area. The quality was good, and provided fuel for all that Disney walking. Would consider staying here again, but would request a recently renovated room.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jscindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location, handy walking distance to the Disney Parks and Resturants in the Area.
The Hotel itself was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had booked a kids suite, but found it a little cramped for a family of 5 once the sofa bed was folded out. The 16 year old found the sofa bed uncomfortable, and when we told the staff they bought up a fold out bed for her.
Breakfast included was a bonus but did get a little boring after a couple of days and we ended up eating out a few times.
All in all a good place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzfamily52014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel room was very nice and clean. We had booked the deluxe room for a girls vacation to Disneyland. We had 4 girls in one room and it was plenty big enough. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would defiantly stay here again. s. sepe

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yippiekiyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I ran away for our 24th wedding anniversary to the Desert Palms inn .It was incredible! The room was big and so charming! The Staff was so helpful!! Shirley at the front desk had the most beautiful smile to greet us after our long drive. And Dylan got us checked-in in a matter of seconds . Then Olivia gave us a list of things to do and times to get to he festivities in the area. We could even get tickets to Disneyland at the front desk! We have stayed here before with the family but this time it was just the parents and boy did I feel like a spoiled kid!! If you want a great place for the Best price for sure It will be Desert Palm Inn & Suits

Room Tip: The kids room give the parents a room without kids!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkflight19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is our second stay here, and again we were very happy. We had a two-room setup with bunk beds and a sofa in one and a king in the other. The room was clean and comfortable. It was located at the end of the hall and was very quiet. As I reviewed before, the staff at the front desk was amazing! Always so helpful. You can't beat the free hot breakfast with scrambled eggs with ham or sausage, plus loads of other choices. We meant to try out the pool but just didn't get around to it although it looked very inviting. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Our family had a great stay. Very handy to the Disney Parks. Great value for money and the house keeping team very good. Had a twin room with four queen size beds. Very comfortable beds especially after a long day at the parks.

Room Tip: Hotel offers free wi fi and car parking.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great idea for towel recycle. The rooms did not use over lighting. Rooms very clean and fresh.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panda5014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.5 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites Anaheim, California
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing