We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert palms hotel, located with easy walking distance to Disneyland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jimboomba QLD
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Desert palms hotel, located with easy walking distance to Disneyland”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My family and I stayed at the Desert palms in April. We have two boys aged 12 & 13 and booked the Yuha suite to give us more room.
The room however was not as big as we had thought, it is long and skinny, the main bedroom had very little room around the bed with one bedside table not sitting beside the bed as the wall jutted out. Perhaps if a queen size bed was in the room you would have more space.. A dresser was provided for clothes and the tv stood on top. The space between the King bed and the dresser was limited. The bed was very comfortable. This part of the room was also quite dark as all the light came in the far end room , because of the doorway between the childrens room and the main room the natural light did not make it all the way through. The bunk beds in the childrens room were fantastic and they also had a lounge chair to sit on. Both rooms had Tv sets. The decor could probably use a spruce up but really that is a very minor thing.
The bathroom and rooms were clean and tidy. The service from all the staff at the hotel was wonderful and they were very helpful. Breakfast was fine with plenty of seating and a good choice of food.
The hotel pool was heated and my boys made good use of this.
The location of the hotel is great, and within easy walking distance of resturants,takeaways and about a 10-15 minute walk to disneyland. A seven11 is located right next door which was excellent. Our tour busess had stops close to the hotel. This caught us out as we expected them to pick up at the hotel but this was not the case they all go to a designated bus stop close by, so you may want to double check with your tour operator.

A very pleasant stay and we would definately reccommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aneyefordetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    649
    273
    104
    99
See reviews for
1,341
149
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel is good. It is within an easy 10 minutes walk of the front gate to both Disney and California Adventure park. The ART (Anaheim Rapid Transport (Buses)) runs past the hotel frequently If you can't be bothered walking.

The hotel itself is large over four levels. Our room had two double beds and a sunken living room. The size was great and the separate living area is a must. Two TV (one bed area other living room) separated by a curtain which is great. At night, stops the light from the living room but of a day can be drawn back to let the natural light in. Window also opened.

The bed was comfortable and pillow fine. Room was clean but you could tell it was well used. Bathroom was nothing great but fine for what we needed and clean. On the lower floor you can hear running kids, and doors opening and closing and some talk from other rooms, but overall its fine.

The pool was very small for the size of the hotel and for kids is fine but if you just want to relax this is not for you. The pool is located in the middle of the hotel so most the time is in the shade. There are a few chair but again not a place to tan. It also had a spa which I think was average and always crowded.

The gym was a decent on with treadmills, steppers, bike a good weight gym and free weights. It never got busy which was good.

Breakfast was provided free of charge and was more then ample to get you started for the day. Waffles, eggs, meat patties, cereal etc. The breakfast room was large but at times did get crowded but you never had to wait long for a seat. There is also outdoor dining space if you wished.

Parked was free and uncover and easily accessed. Wi-Fi was also free and worked well. The hotel had an ABC and 7-11 next door for any incidentals. Check in and check out where both quick and easy. Our room had a view of the back of Disney and you could see some of the firework.

Would I stay again yes, Is it good your families yes.

Room Tip: Some over look a plain concrete court yard which may no appeal to some. I prefer a street of Disney...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DazzaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirau, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We spent 6 night here in April 2014. A comfortable room for 2 adults and an 8 year old. We found the room was well maintained and spacious enough for our needs and friendly staff throughout. The reception staff were most helpful as we had a personal mishap with medical needs which they promptly sorted for us. We would definitely stay again when we next visit Disney.

Green Features: Satisfactory service throughout our stay. House keepers were extremely friendly and only too pleased to assist us when we required extra towels etc. Hotel was always clean and tidy.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My family of 6 stayed at the Desert Palms in Sept 2012 and loved the location, breakfast and friendly staff so I didn't hesitate to book this hotel for 48 high school orchestra students. Breakfast room was huge and extends outdoors and the variety of foods offered was appreciated. The rooms were large enough to accomodate 4 teenagers and the lobby (where we would hold our brief meetings) was enormous. It's a 10 minute walk to the Disney park entrance. Two convenience stores are right next door and a variety of fast food restaurants are across the street. Garden Walk Mall is also very close. This hotel is ideal for large groups. It's a little noisy at night. I will stay at the Desert Palms Hotel every time I visit Disneyland. Julie G. was our coordinator and had everything prepared in advance for us. She was most accommodating and was happy to answer all my questions before we arrived.

Room Tip: Don't stay on first floor by pool. The hallway floor to your room is quite often wet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rksgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The worst customer service I ever experienced. We made our reservations 5 months in advanced over the phone because their online reservation system sucks. We had to upgrade when we added people to our party. We had to ask for an email confirmation because it's not a regular practice for a lowly hotel like this. We got the confirmation via email and where it listed "Room Rate: 1178.00". Assumingly, we thought "great deal" on a Yuha Suite (up to 8). When we checked in they gave us a higher rate and told us to bring our confirmation letter at a later time. When we brought our confirmation down, we spoke to Jennifer, supposedly a manager on the night shift. She was very nice and said she was confused by the rate on our email and said she would have an answer for us the next day when a real manager was on duty.

The next day, I called down to the front and spoke with Jennifer who said it was a mistake on their part and would honor the original rate of $107/night=$1178.00. Wow! What a great hotel right?! NO! We get a voicemail from another "manager" who didn't leave her name saying she wanted to speak to us about our reservation before we check out. So I go down the day before our last night and speak to Jennifer. She said Shirley, who left a message, did some research of the recorded conversations and said we had agreed to $178/night rate. Apparently, the email they sent us was in error and was supposed to read "$178.00" not 1178.00. I say, no where on here does it indicate the "Room Rate" as daily. She tells me, "Well it doesn't say Total either does it?" I asked her to explain our phone conversation the other night when she confirmed the $107 rate and asked her if she lied to me. She denied and told me that she was told to just give me that information. So basically she was going back on her word because she has no customer service skills.

I asked to speak to her this Shirley and she said she wouldn't be in until 30 minutes later. I see another "manager" Amina, who said Shirley was here and she would get her. She closed the back door and we wait. 15 minutes later I ask Jennifer to get Shirley because Amina said she went to get her. She comes back and tells me, "Amina told you she wasn't here. She just got here." I am infuriated at this point as Jennifer snickers with a dude at the front desk. I tell him to get Shirley.

Finally, Shirley comes out telling me she had listened to the recording that reflects our agreement to $178/night. She looks at the confirmation letter we had and again explains their mistake. She tells us if we were to go by that written confirmation we would pay $1178/night. Obviously, anyone seeing that would know that's not the nightly rate for a lame hotel like this. She gets mad at me, the customer, for swearing because in no way should I be upset for the way they are treating a paying customer. She tells us we can talk to their General Manager Fred Brown, who is never there because "they have other properties". I ask to hear the recording she's basing this conversation, she said she didn't have it. I remind her about the conversation I have with Jennifer, she answers, "C'mon you know in your heart that this can't be the rate. I cannot give you this rate. In your heart you know." Really?! We're basing this room rate on phantom recordings and what she thinks our heart should say?! This issue is yet to be resolved.

It is really unfortunate this place had to treat us they way they did. They messed up, not once but twice! NO customer service AT ALL! From any of their "managers" of all people.

That was just room rate. The actual room? For up to 8 people, the Yuha is really tight. No space for baggage. The carpet is old and dusty, and the glass door to the balcony can barely open. The room keys needed to be reset EVERY NIGHT of our stay. There are other hotels that are closer to the park that would probably be well worth your money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LeslieDCabingabang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had a 7 day stay and it is one of the better hotels i have stayed at,,,,service was great from the front desk, always kind and helpful. The room was always cleaned promptly, the towels are always replaced.The location can't be beat, it is only a 10 - 15 minute walk to Disneyland. The breakfast was free, and when there is four of you then yo manage to save at least 5o bucks a day alone on breakfast, thats $350.00. They have lots to chose from,yes, its repetitive but at least they have choices. The room is always busy but never had a problem finding a seat as we could sit outside too. The parking was free, always found a spot and the WIFI was free also ( hard to find a combo of free parking, wifi and breakfast ). The pool was small but i didn't come there to swim, or soak in the hot tub. We stayed in a 2 room room, literally two rooms right beside each other with two bathrooms which was handy when getting ready in the morning.
THE ONE BAD THING ,,,BE PREPARED……noise, you can literally hear everything that goes on above you, beside you and in the hallways. It didn't bother me so much as we were gone all days and at night i wore ear plugs. Expect that, its Disneyland,there are gonna be excited children throughout the day, i don't think any other hotel doesn't have that problem. Overall, a great stay but just don't expect no kids and no noise. Also bring your own hangers as they have only about 4 or 5 in the closet, bring your own soap detergent and bounce ( they usually don't come out of the machine).

Overall, a great choice for a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators, laundry room and stairs. Unless your on the 5th floor then you really wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My daughter, two grandsons, ages 2 and 4, and I spent 3 nights and 4 days here and found this hotel a perfect place for us. We had a 2 queen bed room, which was large enough for us. The hotel is in walking distance to Disneyland and close to stores and restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have an excellent self service breakfast buffet, swimming pool and hot tub. I recommend this hotel to families going to Disneyland. The hotel keeps fresh fruit flavored iced water in the lobby which is a refreshing treat upon your return from the park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#15 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites Anaheim, California
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing