We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed at the Desert Palms during our 5 day vacation to Disneyland. It's only a 10 minute walk to the main entrance of Disneyland. (Candy Cane Inn is right next door, but more expensive.) The breakfast was abundant and hot, but not much variety. However, it fills you enough to start the day. As soon as a food item was gone, the servers were right there filling it up again. The pool is a bit small and unheated, but we didn't come all the way to Southern California to swim in a pool. I was a bit confused why they didn't provide wash clothes in the bathroom, but didn't bother to call the front desk to ask. Overall, we were quite satified with the location, service, and value of Desert Palms.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2Travel6778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,818 - 1,824 of 2,068 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

Desert Palms is hard to beat if you're going to Disney. We have 3 kids and they had no problem walking to and from the hotel, even at 11pm - it's a slow 15-minute stroll or 10-minute walk. It saves loads of time on car park/shuttle queues. The room we had, Borrego suite, was very comfortable and spacious even for five of us, exactly as described. It's slightly faded, but very clean and well looked after. Make use of free breakfast, it's decent food but gets busy after 9am, and also the grocery stores next door - save on Disney prices. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, though don't expect overfriendly staff!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omega0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

This is a great spot for Disneyland. Not right at the door step but a short 5-10 min walk.

Comp breakfast wasnt spectacular but it was nice enough to kick start the day.
Pool was nice but busy with kids.
Room was clean with free internet
Staff very friendly and helpful
Rooms always serviced.
Would stay here again when we return next year

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cycobomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. the room was well laid out allowing the kids to have there own area while mum and dad could put there feet up. We have been traveling for 2 weeks now and this has been the best room for the family. The hotel is in walking distance to Disney Land which is the whole reason for staying here. Enjoy as we did

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Familyof5Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Pros: Above Average Continental Breakfast, Location to Disneyland a short walk

Cons: The Desert Palms is a dirty hotel in desperate need of updating. Pictures on the website are deceiving. Not a great value. In Anaheim you can do better.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theryguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Spent 8 days there at start of July. We had two rooms; ours was a sahara kitchenette suite, (room 435) to the front of the hotel, with a nice view out to the street and all the gorgeously lit trees. Other couple with us had a standard room (426) along the hall, which looked out to a brick wall and developed a damp smell during the holiday. So... I'd probably recommend one of the suites if you visit!

Location is ideal, 10 mins to Disney, 10 mins to the Gardenwalk, where you'll find lots of eating places, nice shops and a cinema complex.

Check in staff were very friendly, lobby is spacious and spotless. Parking was in a underground area, which I found a little off-putting, but it was free, which many others are not. My abiding memory of this hotel is how clean it was, the staff were ALWAYS cleaning, from the floors of the elevator to the tops of the corridor pictures, it was great!

Kitchen area had dishes and cutlery, a fridge, microwave and cooker. We didn't cook there, but it was a handy facility. Personally I found the way the cups, coffee maker and dishes had been cleaned left a strong after taste of bleach-like dishwasher tablets, so used the polystyrene for cups for tea!

Breakfast was similar every morning, but there was lots of it, and being able to have cornflakes, toast, fruit juice and tea each morning was a healthy start which saved us a lots of bucks in eating out! They also did eggs, oatmeal, sausages, oranges, etc.

The pool was the only slight disappointment - quite small, didn't catch much sunlight, was cold and the chlorine was very strong. We elected after our first dip to walk the 200 yards to a hotel we'd stayed at last trip... bit cheeky, I know, but we did give it lots of money in drinks and snacks!

For the money, the Desert Palms was good value and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I 'd definitely stay again if I get back to Anaheim.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hootsmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Visit Disneyland every year, but this was the first time at the Desert Palms. Myself, Daughter, and Granddaughter stayed the first week of May. It was great! The people at the front desk were very helpful. The room was everything we needed and wanted. Breakfast was great. We could eat until filled - inside or out on the roof terrace. The walk to the park was a snap, and given that 7-11 is right there - you pick up water, soda, etc. before going anywhere which saves money. I was awed by the custodial staff as they took great care in polishing the floors of the elevators. They shown like glass. Very nice place to stay - as a matter of fact - trying to work out some time to go back in the fall. Will definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy-5297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#26 of 118 in Anaheim
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £118 - £1,043 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites Anaheim, California
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing