We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights. Enjoyed the breakfast of eggs,toast, doughnuts, oranges and cold cereal. Also had biscuits and gravy 2 days. We had a 4 year old and walked to Disney. in 10 min. Restaurants nearby. I would stay here again. The pool area isn't anything to brag about but we spent most of our time at the parks. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    649
    273
    104
    99
See reviews for
1,341
149
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2009

My family and I booked Five Days/Six Nights at The Desert Palms in Anaheim, we made our decision mostly on location. It is relatively close to Disneyland (probably about a 5-10 minute walk to the turnstiles), and very central to a lot of restaurants.

When we arrived and checked in, One of the staff at the desk (Sam!) asked us if we wanted to upgrade to larger room with a better view of the fireworks, and we did want that, so he upgraded us to the better room at no cost. Throughout our entire stay the entire staff was great, especially Sam, who was amazing. (Say Hi to him if you stay there, you can't miss him!)

The breakfast buffet was different every other day ( First day was Biscuits & Gravy, Eggs with ham. Second day was Eggs, Sausage and diced potatoes.) It switched every day, but only those two options. In addition to this there were fresh oranges, doughnuts and toast, as well as Orange Juice and Grapefruit juice.

The exercise room was adequate and clean, and had an amazing view. The only real downsides were the pool (which was a little smaller than I would have liked, although it was clean) and the internet, which while free was very sluggish.

The cleaning staff was very good, almost too good, as they put away the pull out couch beds every morning. Was slightly annoying, but it was clean :). Always 6 clean towels, three towelettes and two face towels.

The parking was very reasonable, although I suspect this was because we were at the end of the vacation season.

All in all, Good Hotel, Absolutely Incredible staff. (Especially Sam).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antihex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed at the Desert Palms during our 5 day vacation to Disneyland. It's only a 10 minute walk to the main entrance of Disneyland. (Candy Cane Inn is right next door, but more expensive.) The breakfast was abundant and hot, but not much variety. However, it fills you enough to start the day. As soon as a food item was gone, the servers were right there filling it up again. The pool is a bit small and unheated, but we didn't come all the way to Southern California to swim in a pool. I was a bit confused why they didn't provide wash clothes in the bathroom, but didn't bother to call the front desk to ask. Overall, we were quite satified with the location, service, and value of Desert Palms.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel6778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Desert Palms is hard to beat if you're going to Disney. We have 3 kids and they had no problem walking to and from the hotel, even at 11pm - it's a slow 15-minute stroll or 10-minute walk. It saves loads of time on car park/shuttle queues. The room we had, Borrego suite, was very comfortable and spacious even for five of us, exactly as described. It's slightly faded, but very clean and well looked after. Make use of free breakfast, it's decent food but gets busy after 9am, and also the grocery stores next door - save on Disney prices. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, though don't expect overfriendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omega0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth western australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

This is a great spot for Disneyland. Not right at the door step but a short 5-10 min walk.

Comp breakfast wasnt spectacular but it was nice enough to kick start the day.
Pool was nice but busy with kids.
Room was clean with free internet
Staff very friendly and helpful
Rooms always serviced.
Would stay here again when we return next year

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cycobomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. the room was well laid out allowing the kids to have there own area while mum and dad could put there feet up. We have been traveling for 2 weeks now and this has been the best room for the family. The hotel is in walking distance to Disney Land which is the whole reason for staying here. Enjoy as we did

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familyof5Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Pros: Above Average Continental Breakfast, Location to Disneyland a short walk

Cons: The Desert Palms is a dirty hotel in desperate need of updating. Pictures on the website are deceiving. Not a great value. In Anaheim you can do better.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theryguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites Anaheim, California
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing