We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SERVICE FROM ALL THE EMPLOYEES”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lake Paris, CA
1 review
“GREAT SERVICE FROM ALL THE EMPLOYEES”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I stayed at the hotel for one night as me and my wife wanted to spend the day at Disney. When we called to book our reservation the staff was very polite. We wanted to book a regular room with one bed but instead were offered a King Spa for only a couple dollars more. I figured it would be nice to have a spa to relax after a long day at Disneyland. On check in time the staff was great they quickly checked us in to our room. Our suite was very nice, with a great view, and very clean. The breakfast is excellent plenty of items to get you started for the day. I loved this hotel the Service is great and the hotel is nice. I am planning to visit soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nike_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    653
    273
    104
    99
See reviews for
1,346
152
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Their website gave us medium expectations. It's walking distance from Disneyland (1/2 mile) and medium priced. We were still disappointed. The room we had was outdated and in bad repair. Broken window blinds, cramped room. Shower drain was backed-up. Internet very slow (but free). Breakfast was so-so. Nowhere near an Embassy Suites, but better than a plain continental. We would have been fine with these things.

The tipping point for me was the construction they had going on (surprise). Hammering and drilling on the floor above us during the day. Not helpful when trying to get a 3 year old down for a nap. Also, the water was turned off from 11am till 5pm on the two days we were there. The staff worked to be helpful.

Hopefully, the construction is something that will make future visitors pleased. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend unless until knowing the status, and results, of the construction.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liiizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Pool is in a strange spot, not much sun. The elevator was a little scary, it didn't open all the way so we had to take the stairs but we were on the 2nd floor so we didn't mind.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This was the WORST place I've ever stayed. Let me tell you a little about my family/vacation plans -
Military Family
Wanted a fun vacation with a decent hotel to shower/sleep/close to Disneyland
2 year old and 7 year old child
Wanted to spend a decent amount of money (not as much as the Resort hotels charge, because last year we stayed at Disneyland and found we only slept and showered there, so we didn't need an expensive hotel. Boy was I wrong.)

To be fair, below is listed the good items.
The good:
The lobby
The staff
Parking
7-11 next door

So, our story begins with us being to late to score a $75 military voucher for the deluxe rooms, or a voucher to get a suite for $139.00. The hotel had "already given away all of the voucher rooms." We were getting the deluxe room for $132.00 a night. When we arrived, my husband asked for a free upgrade - big mistake! The lady "upgraded us" we ended up in a room next to an exit door that was being slammed all night long. It was also located next to the smoke pit, which could be smelled inside the room. Finally, it was so small, we had to stand single file in order to get out of the room.
After two nights, I was fed up, so my husband complained and they upgraded us to a suite for the same price.
So, we walk into the suite - refreshing, until we go to the bathroom and turn on the light. It sounds like an airplane taking off - the whole time its on!
The first night in the suite my 2 year old screamed out in his sleep, "what is that noise." It felt like the hotel was vibrating. I searched around and guess what it was? There was a delivery truck at the 7-11 next door unloading goods. (Think a loud semi) On the last night we were there (the night we would get to sleep in because we didn't have to go to Disneyland) there was a sign on the elevator saying there would be an elevator test between 7 and 9 a.m. that might cause the fire alarm to go off and not to be alarmed.
What????
Around 6 a.m. I didn't hear a fire alarm, but I did hear a sound that sounded like "dong" over and over for around 5 minutes. Talk about fired up!

The hotels breakfast is a joke - nasty!
Pool is located in the middle of the building, no sunlight except for an hour or two and is Freezing! No heater for the pool!
Even the coffee is disguisting - save your time and go to the 7-11 next door.
Finally, the location is NOT close to Disney. It is at least 1/2 mile away. This is a long walk when you want to come home for lunch/at night when you are tired. Do yourself a favor and get one of the cheap hotels closer to the gate. This hotel was a nightmare!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyFamily0845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel was given 4 stars and it is not even close to what I would consider 4 star. The furniture was very outdated and worn in our "suite." When we walked into the room there was a very strong scent of some sort of cleaner . We had to open up the balcony window to air out the room. I would never reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jec727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We (two adults and young two children) staid there three times in 2009 and 2010 on our trips to Disneyland. We were looking for something larger than a hotel room with a kitchen, reasonably priced, and walking distance from Disneyland. This hotel was pretty much the only choice. Their Sahara suite has a "full" (but small) kitchen - a small stove, a smallish fridge, a microwave and a kitchen sink with a tiny bit of counter space, plus all the basic (cheap and not not very well maintained) cooking utensils. It worked well for us to prepare basic meals/snacks for the kids, reheat a slice of pizza, and kept fruit and drinks cool.
Sahara suite offers a separate bedroom with two queen sized beds, and a living room (area) with a pull-out sofa. We did not use the sofa, so can't comment. Beds are ok - nothing fancy, but the pillows are the worst I've ever slept on. Sofa and an armchair in the living are are not particularly comfortable either.
Room has AC, but it's rather loud and blows right over one of the beds.
Bathrooms are fine, but somewhat dated. I saw some re-caulking to seal apparent leaks. Rooms offer free wires/wireless internet for basic use - slowish and limits amount of data you can transfer for free, but enough to check e-mail, etc.
Hotel has free breakfast on the 5th floor. Breakfast is above average, but nothing special. Menu is slightly different each day; expect to find coffee/juices/milk, eggs, beacon/sausages, cottage cheese, biscuits and gravy, cereal, pastries, and fruit. You can make your own waffles, which we all liked. Hotel was about half full on days of our trips, but breakfast area was always crowded, and by 9am they were out of many things, although they do re-supply during the hours that they are open. If you are there when hotel is full, and you don't like waiting in line, get your breakfast early... 7am early.
Hotel has a smallish pool and a hot tub - a good place to relax after a long day in a park. Especially if you like company, sitting shoulder to shoulder with someone else in the hot tub, or getting splashed from multiple directions in a pool. If pool is important, adjust your schedule. We went there around 5pm one day, and it was almost empty. By 6pm it started to get crowded.
Hotel is walking distance from Disneyland. It takes about 20-25 minutes to walk to the entrance. Our 3 year old had no problem with it, although she didn't mind being carried half the way back after having spent 6 hours in the park.
Overall, hotel is nothing special in terms of amenities and room quality, but it offers convenience of having a suite (kids go to bed, mom and dad can watch TV in another room), a kitchen (to keep your drinks, ice cream and fruit, cook/reheat) and being close to Disneyland. If you book through hotel's web site, click on "special offers" and get 20% if you book 3 nights or more. FOR THE PRICE - it's a very good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFamilyOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Following is a letter that I emailed to the General Manager of the Desert Palms Hotel.

Hello John P.

I must say that you certainly have an "over the top" staff at your hotel. Starting from my first call and conversation with Maria to our final check out with Albina and Jessica nothing could have been handled in a more courteous, professional and helpful way. Putting my group of 27 up in the requested room configuration could not have been handled any better than it was by the young ladies in reservations. We ended up with eight rooms. I called so many times in the beginning of my project that Maria recognized my voice and I'm sure she was saying to herself, "oh no, not him again. When she wasn't on duty Jessica handled all of my needs superbly. I also spoke with Jennifer and Wendy on occasion and they also were very courteous and professional. And Albina was most helpful when I needed to get the final cost totaled and set up for payment. Jessica was over the top when she sent me the final copies of the reservations along with several brochures of other local venues that we might visit other than Disneyland, which was the whole reason for the trip. Unfortunately, I didn't get to visit the Massage Spa the she sent along. I sure needed it after all day at Disneyland Saturday.

From our original check in and all the little episodes that came up, to the checkout, your staff handled us in a very professional way. Even to the point of getting us a special chair for my disabled sister so that taking a shower would be possible.

You can be very proud of your very well trained staff. From the first call with Maria to the final check out, they made me feel as if we were the most important people there. I know that they do this with every person they come in contact with. It was a great stay made very pleasant by your people.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Douglas
rooms 342, 346, 403, 405, 406, 438, 440, 466

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathewsgnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
1,638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Property: Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites Anaheim, California
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing