We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, reasonable price, and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Ranked #23 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This was our first trip to Disneyland, so we had to depend on online reviews and internet pictures to find a hotel. We got a great deal at Desert Palms, and I'm very glad we did.

- Beautiful hotel. The lobby is luxurious, and as we walked in, the man cleaning the doors opened them for us. Quite a welcome.
- Nice rooms. Our reserved Kalahari suite was being renovated, so we got two Borrego suites instead at no extra cost. Roomy and beautiful.
- Breakfast. The complimentary hot breakfast buffet was nice. We've had better, and for a week-long stay, the selection wasn't great. However, it was very good, and a great money-saver for a Disneyland vacation. The rooms have microwave and fridge, so we always took a few things with us for snacking later.
- Mario. I think the guy works 24-7. He was behind the desk night and day. He had the answers to everything, and was very professional.
- Close to Disneyland. OK, it's a little longer walk than the places farther north on Harbor, but you don't have to cross Harbor. Also, the 7-11 and corner market are right next door, and it's a short stroll to the Garden Walk and the restaurants on E. Katella.

Everything in the rooms worked nicely. The internet service went crazy one day, but the tech support # took care of it quickly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duanegrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,010)
There are newer reviews for Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,702 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my three teenage sons. The room was very nice and tidy and cleaned every day. The beds were very comfy.

There was a small amount of noise in hallways which may have woke us early some mornings.

The breakfast of cereal, yoghurt and quartered oranges or eggs, sausage patties and potato was exactly the same for thewhole 9 mornings we were there however it was free.

As far as location goes this hotel is excellent. A 10minute walk to Disneyland and California theme park and maybe 15mins in bus to Knotts Berry Farm.

There is a 7 11 Shop right out the door of the hotel which was great for buying bottled water at $6.00 for 20 bottles compared to $3.00 per bottle at Disneyland.

There are plenty of close by restaurants within easy walking distance including Bubba Gumps Shrimp Restaurant and the Cheesecake Factory with very extensive menu, like a book!!!! Had an evening meal there and a lovely brunch.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We booked this hotel for 11 nights as they advertised a family suite large enough for our family (2 adults & 4 children) and fully paid for the accommodation before leaving Australia.
We arrived before checkin time and were advised our room was NOT READY, which is fine, checkin is 2pm. However we returned later in the day and was told that not only was the room not ready, but it was not available at all! They gave us 2 rooms side by side instead - the rooms were not even interconnecting and they expected us to leave kids in the second room or the 2 adults had to sleep one in each.
We advised them this was not suitable, then were give two interconnecting rooms which were half the size.
We eventually found out that the Kalahari suite we had booked was being refurbished, however the hotel had accepted our booking and final payment was made 2 weeks before we arrived, they must have known at that stage it was due to be refurbished.
The workmen were extremely diligent and made sure they started their work at 7.30am most mornings, we know this as the hammering started at that time!
The staff were not helpful and not in the least interested in helping us any further.
I would strongly recommend you do your homework before staying at this hotel.
The proximity to Disneyland is the only saving grace!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie_Traveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Activities we were in Anaheim for were at Marriott. We chose this hotel that was within walking distance for its free parking, free internet and free breakfast. Location on Katella is walking distance to great restaurants, Disney, Convention Centre. Rooms are large and our free upgrade to our suite had full size fridge and stove, and separate bedroom. Plenty of room for our family of 4 to wind down after a long day. Hotel staff was friendly. Breakfast was very good and had good variety. Two thumbs up. Pay less here, get more and walk to great meals out!! Also quick mart on the corner to grab anything we needed on our walk home from dinner along the beautifully lit palm tree lined street.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsALot005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I loved this place! The room was huge, with the bath and bedroom complete with a TV in a media cabinet on one level, and then a step down into a full living room with a kitchen table and chairs, sofa, and another TV. Felt very luxurious. It was also meticulously clean and the housekeeper insisted on giving me a huge stack of fresh towels without me even asking when I declined to have her clean the room. The pool and hot tub were located in a courtyard in the center of the building and were great. The breakfast too exceeded my expectations with make your own waffles, and real eggs (not the kind you pour from a box) along with lots of other good eats.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcp9n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The one thing that really let me down about this hotel is the fact that they use plastic, and foam (worst of all) cups, plates and cutlery in their breakfast dining room. Apart from the fact it is impossible to eat with these bendable knives and forks, what about the environment? Very disappointing.
On the plus side, the desk staff were extremely courteous and helpful and our rooms were great and pretty much what we expected.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Rooms are clean and spacious, service personnel are kind, pleasant and helpful. Great late check out! Although I am in easy driving distance of Disneyland I always stay here for convince. I recommend to all my friends and family as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vszikszoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,680 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £112 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites Anaheim, California
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing